We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and a Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 W. Joseph Ave, Ottumwa, IA 52501 (Formerly Heartland Inn Ottumwa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ottumwa
Altoona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Stay and a Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We had stayed at the Quality Inn when it was a Heartland Inn. We were a little scared when the company told us we were staying there because the hotel was dated and in need of cleaning and updating. WELL they have really put the money in the hotel. The room was newly decorated with flat screen, mircowave and mini fridge. The room was clean (the bathroom was the cleanest we have seen and we have stayed in about 50 hotel rooms since April) and bed was comfortable, plently of towels. The hotel has a pool and hot-tub it was ok nothing fancy but fun for the kids. It was clean but too much chlorine. The have a computer and printer in the lobby and internet (free wifi). The staff was friendly and helpful for most part. They offer a nice free breakfast and in the early evening popcorn and cookies. For a small town hotel, this is a nice surprise--overlook the "have-not" and "didn't-have" and enjoy your stay You can tell this hotel is working hard in a town that is hit with hard-times. We did and enjoyed our visit We went on business but would return on hoilday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
7
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Very good place to stay, very clean, and staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Join the Choice Privelages program and get free us
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfild, IL
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

To start out, reservations for my husband and I by a company with which we were interviewing. We were traveling with our dogs and it was the only place that took animals. When we arrived late at night/early in the morning we were unable to locate the Inn. Our GPS dumped us out in a location full of hotels but the "Heartland Inn" was missing. When I called the number, the receptionist answered Heartland Inn, when I asked for directions and listed some of the hotels surrounding us, she says "Oh yeah, we're the Quality Inn now." Information that would have been nice when looking for the place. When we arrived minutes later they were unable to pull up the reservations for that day. We were assigned a room and we arrived to find the door open and all the light bulbs stolen. When the receptionist couldn't find any light bulbs we were assigned to a 2nd room only to find it occupied by someone else. Our 3rd room though, was a dream. The beds were comfortable and showers were very hot. When we got back to our room the next afternoon for a nap after a long day/night and before dinner we were welcomed by a crew laying carpeting on the other side of our wall. If our room keys worked on our room door they didn't on the exterior door and vise verse regardless of how many times they worked on our keys. To top it all off we just realized that we'd left a folder with extremely important information there. When we called they said yes, that we had left it during our check in. We were there for two days, it is at the front desk with our names and room numbers on it. We must have visited that desk at least 4 times and they never once mentioned that it was sitting there on the keyboard of the computer for someone to give us. All I can say is, while the renovation of the hotel will be wonderful when all is said and done, the service was really crappy. I'd suggest that you stay any where else but here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We stayed in a ground floor room in the same wing as the jacuzzi. The smell of chlorine from the jacuzzi was very strong in the hallway. The room was clean enough (but not sparkling), but the sheets were limp and the room felt clammy, as if it had poor air circulation. Wireless worked most of the time but quit on the last night of our stay. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I visit Ottumwa 3-4 times a year and after my last stay, Heartland Inn is the #1 place.
Good rooms, comfortable bed and huge breakfast, they also had a swimming pool & spa which I didnt use. The service was exceptional. I highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

We were displaced from the Fairfield Inn by a visiting dignitary and the only accommadations available were the Heartland Inn. This is your standard third rate hotel frequented by railroad maintanence crews and the such. BBQ's a blaze in the parking lot all the hominess of a housing project. The staff had problems checking us in and were not even sure if they had rooms for us all. The rooms themselves were adequate, internet service was poor, carpets seemed dirty and sticky, a/c unit was loud. Although I slept on the sheets I gave all a close inspection. The only redeeming part of the room was the shower which provided plenty of hot strong water in the morning. Based on the room I avoided the "free breakfast" and got on the road.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.cloud,mn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. We stay in hotels 9 or 10 months out of the year for work and this one was by far the best ,We stayed at this hotel for three months. The rooms were clean . The staff was super we got along great with all the of them, We will be staying there again when we start the next phase of the job. we checked out other hotels in the area and found this one the nicest of all. the crew was disapointed when we had to leave.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 125 W. Joseph Ave, Ottumwa, IA 52501 (Formerly Heartland Inn Ottumwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ottumwa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ottumwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Ottumwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.