We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oskaloosa Super 8 Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oskaloosa Super 8 Motel to your Saves list
Oskaloosa Super 8 Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   306 S. 17th St., Oskaloosa, IA 52577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oskaloosa
Wauconda, IL
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

While the price of staying here is certainly economical, this hotel is in need of some upgrades and repairs. The place is clean, but the fixtures in the bathroom need to be replaced, and for heaven's sake, get new blankets... these are paper thin and gross.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    8
    5
    9
See reviews for
21
6
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Don't expect anything fancy, but this hotel was a good value. Staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. On our arrival on a cold night the heat was already on for us....nice touch!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, IA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Got this hotel for probably the best price I ahve ever paid for a hotel. Was worried it wouldn't be clean. Clean is my biggest issue. Arrived late. Lobby was small and had a small eatting area. It was clean. I got to my room. No frills. Bedding was a bit worn, furnature wasn't fancy, but it was clean. Sheets were NOT 600 thread count Egyptian Cotton, but they were clean. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Nothing exciting. Bathroom was clean. No deluxe towels or bath products, but the towels were clean and did their job. They only offered bar soap and shampoo. I didn't care for either. I would recommend bringing your own. I didn't have any issue with smell. Room was cold when I got there, but I turned on the heater, and it was toasty in no time. Shower had good water pressure and temprature. In review, this was NOT a fancy hotel, and I didn't pay a fancy price either. I think it was an extremely good value. AND it was clean. (thats the most important thing for me when I book a budget hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Room smelled funny and was very dirty. Rude staff, including manager. I have stayed in this hotel annually for almost 20 years and after this, never again. Better places are down the road and closer to town and any activities. The Super 8 company should be embarrased to have their name associated with this place now.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oskaloosa hotels

southern california
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

You generally don't expect much from a budget hotel in a rural location, however the Oskaloosa Super 8 proved to be everything that we needed during a multi-day business stay in southern Iowa. Rooms were spacious and clean, the staff professional and helpful and the location convenient to town where there are multiple options for restaurants. Despite a heat wave that sent outside temperatures and humidity into the 90's, the air conditioning had no problem keeping the room comfortable. The complementary breakfast included a waffle machine, fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, coffee and juices. There are no frills, but guests are treated well. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: Discount coupons available at highway welcome centers or through the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

this was the nastiest stinkiest most disgusting place our room smelled so strongly of dog urineit was unbearable and they refused to move us to another rook sowe r stuck here because the company is paying for it do not book a room here go somewhere else staff is also rude as well as the owner

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham, Ut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Stayed the night in this hotel while picking our granddaughter up from William Penn. We walked to the front desk and our reservation was there and we were in our room after 5 minutes. The rooms were spotless and adequate for our needs. Has TV, Microwave, Fridge. The hotel staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. My husband loved the waffle machine. Overall this was a very pleasant stay. The hotel is easy access and quiet. Like most hotels, the pillows were not the best quality, but we were so tired that we slept like babies. Bathroom was large and spotlessly clean. Would recommend.

Room Tip: We booked on line and got a very good price $47
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oskaloosa Super 8 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oskaloosa Super 8 Motel

Address: 306 S. 17th St., Oskaloosa, IA 52577
Location: United States > Iowa > Oskaloosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oskaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oskaloosa Super 8 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oskaloosa Super 8 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oskaloosa Super 8 Motel Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oskaloosa Super 8 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.