We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely magic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lily Dutch Windmill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amelup
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lily Dutch Windmill
Save
You added The Lily Dutch Windmill to your Saves list
9793 Chester Pass Road, Amelup, Western Australia 6338 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
WA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Absolutely magic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We are just back from spending a night at The Lily, for our wedding anniversary, at the recommendation of friends. We'd heard it was good but we weren't prepared for how good. The Lily has its own airstrip, an added attraction for my keen aviator husband, and Pleun met us and directed us to a good spot to tie down. After checking in at the restaurant reception, in the beautifully converted Gnowangerup railway station, we were shown to the Dutch House. It was a gloomy, cool and windy day, so it was lovely to enter the cottage with a fire blazing, table lamps on and music playing (Pleun's own CD - he is a wonderful sax player too!).
We walked and played with Ned the Border Collie and his tennis ball and enjoyed the views, then had some drinks before dinner. The Lily's own wines are very drinkable; As the restaurant wasn't open that night, Hennie cooked us a superb dinner which was delivered to our table. We felt very spoilt. Next morning we made breakfast from Hennie's home made spelt bread, fresh eggs and a range of preserves. AND, real coffee. What a treat. We then clambered around inside the windmill and were in awe of the skill it must have taken to build it.
Others have described the decor and ambience of the cottage and it truly was very special, comfortable and relaxing. The pig theme (they're everywhere!) was a lot of fun.too.
Hennie and Pleun have created a little bit of magic in south-west WA. The Lily and their hospitality are just incredible. Thank you both, especially with the incredible help when we had difficulties getting back home due to bad weather.
People, do yourselves a favour and stay at The Lily. You won't regret it and you'll experience something really unique and unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Part of a great holiday for me is not just where you go but also where you stay. To me there is no point staying somewhere (being a family of 4) if all you've got in your accommodation is a cane chair, a 2 seater couch and a dining table - sitting at a dining table isn't relaxing....
So treat yourself and stay at The Lily Dutch Windmill which feels like your very own country cottage the perfect location after a hard day's walking when all you want to do is kick off your shoes, get a glass of wine and "chillax" as my kids would say... We went as a family of 4 (boys 11 & 14), we did a few hikes - Bluff Knoll was a must and Castle Rock in the Porongorups which I had seen photos of but had never done, which was really excellent. We stayed 3 nights which is essential after driving for nearly 4-5 hours from Perth as it's a long way to go for just one full day if you only stay 2 nights.
We took the bikes for the boys which was a good move as there is heaps of space for them to ride around - a whole airstrip if they want to.
The location and views are awesome and the Dutch House which we stayed in was extremely well equipped and somewhere where we could absolutely "chillax".

Room Tip: I wouldn't bring toddlers or small children as there are so many nicknacks - I would be too stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

As regular trippers, Australia and world wide, for the last forty or so years, the Lily is perhaps the most welcoming, best equipped, and ideally located accommodation that we have come across. We will be back. Our hosts were most welcoming and the dog took me for a walk to the vineyard to see the wonderful views of the Stirling Ranges - what more could one ask for?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

After spending time hiking or looking at the majestic scenery and native vegetation of this region of WA, why rough it when you can feel warm and cosy in a homely environment. Myself and my two friends enjoyed ourselves, loved the food. We need more people in this country who are prepared to provide this level of attention to detail as well as not in your face hospitality in remote and pristine environments which is where the heart of this country is.
David

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect, depends on number of people.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We found out about Lily Dutch Cottage through reviews and decided to cancel a night stay in Albany just to stay there for a night.

We arrived at Lily before sunset driving down from Perth, Pleun came to show us the house and offer to prepare dinner if we need any. We Learnt that it was Hennie's birthday that night and turn down the offer as we didn't want to interrupt the special occasion.

The windmill and the farm was breath taking. We walked out of the home in the evening where it was complete darkness outside the house, and admire the sky full of stars which we have never experience before.

The Cottage is a HOME that has everything we could ask for. The kids enjoy browsing through the books and the decoration full of piggies. We also spent our night watching movies from the many DVDs and video tape selection. The fireplace was something new as we can only see them in movie (pardon us as we are from singapore!). Climbing up and down the stairs to the bedroom was a challenge as it is steep and narrow, but the room was cozy and warmth. The kids found a book beside the bed called "Politically Correct Bedtime Stories" which they took turn to read each of the stories.... and laughing our heart out.

It was a great and memorable stay for us and we wish to visit Lily again in the future. This time, we will hunt for more piggies to add to the collection that Hennie and Pleun had.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Western Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We recently stayed at the Lily for the second time, this time in the Millers' Quarters, which has two bedrooms. Again it was extremely comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. When I booked, I had asked if dinner was available and was told that it was, but I didn't realise that it wasn't in the restaurant, but delivered to our room. It was very nice but we preferred the restaurant atmosphere (and the possibility of buying drinks) we had enjoyed on our previous visit. The view from the front verandah in the morning was stunning. We have now climbed both Toolbrunup and Talyuberlup in too much misty rain to see the view, so will have to return again and hope for clearer weather!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

The most amazing place I've ever stayed at. We arrived at night and were shown to our accomodation (the Winery Quarters) by our warm and welcoming hosts, Pleun and Hennie, and discovered a cosy quarters glowing with lamps, a wood fire and romantic music playing in the CD player.

The self-contained quarters had everything you could ever wish for. The paintings, pictures, and family photographs, books, DVDs, CDs, games, little knick knacks everywhere, the supply of tea light and stick candles, the kitchen stocked with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, spices, tea bags and leaf teas, instant and real coffee, made us feel at home. We asked for dinner on one of the three nights we stayed, plus a breakfast basket and both were delivered early that night. Dinner was a very filling and delicious meal of local beef, mashed potato, beans, and peppercorn sauce. The breakfast basket of a loaf of spelt bread (from spelt grown, milled and baked on site), little servings of butter, jam, honey, marmalade and vegemite, plus eggs, muesli, yoghurt, and orange juice kept us going for two days. The red wine from their own vineyard was full of flavour and great to drink. The quarters also had a great view of the Stirling Range, and it was amazing to wake up in the morning and look out the kitchen window and see it, especially knowing that we would be climbing Bluff Knoll later. The Winery Quarters was very quiet, right at the back, so no one ever came our way, and Pleun and Hennie left us in peace, after telling us to let them know if we needed anything. The only visitors we had were their two dogs who were extremely well behaved and would turn up at our glass doors with a tennis ball hoping to play with us, which we did on several occasions.

The windmill is well worth taking a tour. Pleun built the windmill himself over a period of about eight years. Words simply cannot do this place justice. I want to return here every year and hope that everyone who stays appreciates and takes care of it just as much as we did.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lily Dutch Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lily Dutch Windmill

Address: 9793 Chester Pass Road, Amelup, Western Australia 6338 , Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Amelup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Amelup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Lily you will find unique self-contained accommodation next to an authentic five story 16th-century replica Dutch windmill. With its 22-ton cap and sails, this is one of the largest windmills ever built in Australia. The mill is a fully operational windmill producing wholemeal stone-ground Spelt flour for our own restaurant, commercial bakers and home users around Australia. Adjacent to the windmill you will find our restaurant, situated in the original re-located and re-constructed 1924 Federation style railway station from Gnowangerup, our Shire. PRIVATE AIRFIELD. Our airstrip is adjacent to the windmill and you are able to park you plane close to the accommodation. For our fly-in accommodation visitors hangar-space and a car may be available, please check. ACCOMMODATION AT THE LILY - Four star AAA rating. All our accommodation is unique and private. Each has its own outside seating area and is fully self-contained; high quality linen, towels, Scandinavian wood heater, bathroom, iron and board, Digital TV, DVD, Radio/CD player, selection of DVDs and CDs, fridge, stove, microwave and food essentials like (real) coffee, tea, sugar, milk, spices etc. Additional facilities available are fax, gas barbecue, washing machine and dryer. Good next-G (Telstra) mobile phone and wireless Internet reception. A Breakfast Basket and Dinner are available for our accommodation guests, 7-days. The Lily has been selected as one of the 10 best self-contained accommodations in FOOTPRINT WEST COAST AUSTRALIA HANDBOOK. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lily Dutch Windmill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.