We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doable. Not passable.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch Colony Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orange City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dutch Colony Inn
Save
You added Dutch Colony Inn to your Saves list
706 8th St. SE, Orange City, IA 51041   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Orange City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Doable. Not passable.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

For starters, hotels that show FoxNews in public areas are automatically disqualified from five-star reviews. This was one such hotel.

My wife and I chose Dutch Colony over the Super 8 because they were the same price as the Super 8 nearby and would rather support local businesses. We were in town for a wedding and made our reservations well in advance, but over the phone were greeted with a non-courteous and impatient receptionist. When I asked if I could have a confirmation number, s/he acted as though it was the most offensive thing to ask. I called the week of the stay to confirm my reservation and was treated similarly.

The service during the actual stay was not quite so bad and the rooms were okay.

The breakfast was simply bad.

All in all it was an okay, though quite lackluster, hotel. Not worth the price. I've stayed in smaller hotels, in smaller towns, for much smaller prices, and received much more.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
2
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

in town for wedding, stayed 2 nites-- shower did not work,fan in bathroom also did not work.breakfast was slim. put key on desk 6:00am with note, left for home. got charged for extra day,cleaning staff said we smoked in bathroom!!! We DO NOT SMOKE!! Called Joy to get charges removed from our bill--got hung up on twice. Friends said their bathroom smelled like smoke every time they turned the fan on. Joy was not joyful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orange City hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Right from the start, the front desk lady was very rude and shirt with us, despite only friendly questions being asked. A few days after our stay, our bank statement reflected an unexplained extra charge. We called, and they stated that we were charged an extra fee because the cleaning lady "found ashes in the sink". We do not smoke! No amount of explaining helped us, the front desk lady was extremely rude and not willing to work with us. We are very unhappy with this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
187 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I travel a lot for business and pleasure. This motel is average and average is not bad. To me the most important is being clean and the room was clean.

There was no coffee pot in the room and they still have old box TV.

For breakfast the offerings were quite slim.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed for a weekend for a family event. staff was polite and rooms were large and clean! New tv was in room. In our king sized bed there were 3 pillows and one in the dresser drawer. We requested one more due to a bad back but was told they did not have extras. A very very basic breakfast is available. We would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel during Orange City's Tulip Festival. We are an older couple so we appreciate the family business aspect of the Dutch Colony Inn. It was a VERY busy week in this town and we couldn't have asked for a more pleasureable experience. Room was cleaned everyday, we were helped with directions when asked, and the place has a home away from home feel. We plan to stay here again next year and would recommend this hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I have never experienced less accommodating lodging. Not only was there absolutely no soap in the motel room (no hand soap or bath soap) but the owner (Joy) was incredibly rude when I brought it to her attention. Breakfast was also a half an hour late and they are the only hotel or motel I have ever had flat out deny a request for extended check out, with only a few cars in the parking lot. Very poor experience, over all!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange City
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Orange City
Hampton Inn Orange City
#1 of 3 in Orange City
5.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sioux Center
16.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Le Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Amber Inn Motel Le Mars
Amber Inn Motel Le Mars
#3 of 4 in Le Mars
3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
18.4 mi away
Knights Inn Rock Valley
Knights Inn Rock Valley
#1 of 1 in Rock Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Colony Inn

Address: 706 8th St. SE, Orange City, IA 51041
Location: United States > Iowa > Orange City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Orange City
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Dutch Colony Hotel Orange City
Dutch Colony Inn Orange City, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dutch Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.