We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1005 Brooks Park Drive, Okoboji, IA 51355   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Okoboji
Spirit Lake, Iowa
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Moving from Oregon to Iowa found us lodgeing for an extended stay of 3 months at this AmericInn. From the kind and helpful front desk staff, Cyndi, Renee and Bethani, our thorough housekeeper, Beth and even the General Manager, Heather made sure our stay was as comfortable as home! Even Lyle, a friend we always met at their continental breakfast in the mornings was helpful to ensure our needs were met. We feel very fortunate to have had the opportunity to stay here and as we leave we take with us fond memories and new friends! Thank you, staff! We will stay in touch!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    19
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
32
9
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Berlin, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was the first time I stayed at an AmericInn. What a great surprise. I was pleasantly greeted by the General Manager Heather. She fixed me up with a perfect room for an extended stay.
I was there for business but happened to be there through "Winter Games" to see some of the fun. Cyndi and Shelby were exceptional with the busyness about the town.
The housekeeping , front desk and breakfast staff were the tops!
...I will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnOkoboji, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to share your experience here with others. I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. Our team works hard to make sure every single guest enjoys their stay with us, and I am very happy to see we exceeded your expectations! Thank you again, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during a recent business trip. Staff was exceptional! Given that I travel every week that's quite a statement. Hats off to their manager and the training they receive. My room was very clean and everything worked well. I had an upgraded King room with a balcony which caused the room to be cold and the heat to run often. Breakfast was as expected.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnOkoboji, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the AmericInn of Okoboji. We are pleased that you took the time to write a review of our property and recognize the staff for the service you experienced. I would like to offer my apologies regarding the heating unit in your room. I will bring this to the attention of our maintenance staff so we can work to resolve this issue in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our experience was wonderful from start to finish. The front desk staff was very pleasant. When asked for dining suggestions she even offered to call a local restuarant to make sure they were open as we were there in the off-season. By the way, try Minerva's next door for dinner.

Our room was very clean as were all the public spaces.

The breakfast selection was good and Lyle made sure everything was well stocked and clean.

We did not use the pool area as we had a whirlpool in out room.

Room Tip: Some of the first floor rooms have a little patio outside. There is no elevator which is noted on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnOkoboji, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your overall experience with us at the AmericInn of Okoboji. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to extending our hospitality to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here while visiting friends and golfing at Brooks. Can't be the location for the golf course that you can walk to from the hotel. Room was exceptional this time - clean king with jacuzzi - perfect. Breakfast was typical fare but no complaints from me. The coffee was excellent, too. Used the pool in past when traveling with family and it was good. Didn't use it this time, but still looked fine. I was not disappointed and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Perfect place to stay if you are planning on golf at Brooks National.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnOkoboji, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the AmericInn of Okoboji. We agree that our location on Brooks Golf Course if very convenient and are happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. We look forward to being your preferred hotel the next time your travels bring you back to Okoboji!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I travel to the area weekly for work and have stayed in other area hotels. I can say it is the best stay for the money, decent breakfast, and very good pool area. The staff really makes it a great place. They are very helpful and do what they can to make your stay the best. Highly recommended for the business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnOkoboji, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with others. We strive to provide a welcome retreat for all of our guests and are pleased to see that you have enjoyed staying with us. We agree that our free amenities such as our hot home-style breakfast, indoor pool & wireless internet provide our guests with a good value. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the AmericInn during your future trips to Okoboji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you are in the area, stay here. It is the cleanest hotel ever - and I am a Hilton Diamond Member so stay in a lot of hotels! Staff is really nice - gave a great dinner suggestion (Minerva's next door). And property has a nice pool and is right next to the golf course. I look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but there are some rooms that have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnOkoboji, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your glowing review regarding your experience with us. Our staff takes great pride in our hotel, from the cleanliness of our guest rooms to the service we provide our guests. I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji

Address: 1005 Brooks Park Drive, Okoboji, IA 51355
Location: United States > Iowa > Okoboji
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Okoboji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn is located centrally in Okoboji on Brooks National Golf Course only minutes from all Lake Okoboji attractions. Offering 61 beautifully appointed guestrooms featuring plush top beds and new 32" flat panel LCD televisions. Our 100% non-smoking facility offers a variety of room types including suites that feature a whirlpool, fireplace, microwave and refrigerator. Some rooms also feature a personal patio or balcony. Start your day off right with our free hot home-style breakfast and stay connected with our free wireless internet. Guests of all ages enjoy the indoor heated swimming pool, large whirlpool and sauna. Cozy up next to the fireplace in the lobby, or relax and soak up the sun on one of the three public patio areas. The AmericInn offers spacious accommodations perfect for relaxing after a long day of enjoying all that Okoboji has to offer. Special Attraction packages are available. Canine Friendly-accepted with a $25 non refundable fee and deposit paid. Must register pet with guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AmericInn Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.