We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vintage Block Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vintage Block Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Vintage Block Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1107 Sanborn Avenue, Okoboji, IA 51355 (Formerly Abe's of Okoboji)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Okoboji
Spirit Lake, Iowa
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Can't begin! This place is Very laid back.. Uber clean, FUN! Pool, fire pit, BBQ etc... Super close to everything... eclectic/rustic kinda feel ... I luv It!! ;)
Highly recommend it for a casual stay, You can bring Your boat.. ramp is right across the street....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE! DO I LOVE READING THIS AWESOME REVIEW OR WHAT! You guys are beyond fun and I SOOOOO appreciate you hopping on line and loving us up.

We have thoroughly enjoyed having you as guests of Abe's and I hope this is a annual reunion for your family! We would love to ROCK your stay each and every year!!! YAY!!

U GUYS ROCK!!

Happy, Happy

Misty and the Entire RockStar Crew at Abe's of Okoboji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    15
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
14
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We just got back from a great weekend in the Okoboji area. We were there for the Victory Motorcycle Rally and Abe's was an excellent place to stay (this was our first time staying at Abe's). We could pull the motorcycles right up to our room and not have to deal with parking spots and elevators etc. and it's very close to everything. I thought the breakfast was very good. I loved all the cut up fruit- though the coffee cups could be bigger for us diehard coffee lovers. The décor is very quaint- I think using the combination of barn wood and upper scale splashes of items was a brilliant way to decorate. There were four of us and we were in the Super-sized 2 Queen Family Room and there was plenty of space and the beds were very comfortable. It was a little pricey, but that's just the area and a very busy weekend. The owners are super accommodating and have an excellent attitude. We try to make the Rally every year and God willing if we make it next year we'll be staying at Abe's again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
OHHH! We SOOOO enjoyed you and your beautiful family and are excited to see you again next year! We need more Abe's ambassador's and you are so kind to take the time to write such a wonderful review. I can't tell you how much we appreciate it!

I know we will see you next year at the Victory Rally and we will look forward to surpassing your expectations again!

Until then...have a beautiful year and know you are appreciated!

Kindly, with massive amount of gratitude!

Misty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a great time at Abe's Motel. Customer service was amazing. I would recommend staying there to everyone. The updates are great. Love the lake wood and colors. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will go back again and recommend it to our friends. Great experience. Great weekend can wait to go back !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Whoo-Hoo! Oh, do we love our happy guest's! YAY! Thank you for taking the time to pop on line and love us up!! We think you and your family ROCK!

Looking forward to seeing you again over the Labor Day weekend! We will make sure we top your last stay!!

Have a great week!

Kindly, with a big, fat smile!

Misty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A boutique motel? Who knew. We just returned to Minneapolis from a four day/four night stay in Okoboji. Gramma, Gramps, 2 parents + 3 kids (7, 4, and 1.5). Good mid-priced option for a family. It's clear the ownership/management cares about the place, and has done a great job with the design. The location is great. It's within walking distance (under 2 miles) of downtown Arnold's Park, the Central Emporium and amusement park, etc. - but far enough away that it's quiet at night. Not right on the water, but close enough to see it. The kids (and their grampa) loved the surrey bikes; we were even able to take them offsite for about an hour to a playground nearby. Hubby and I found great biking/running trails. The small pool is a nice touch. Beds are super comfortable, and having the kitchenette, the firepits, and the grills outside allowed us to prepare most of our meals onsite - great when you're traveling with little ones not to have to spend time and money at restaurants. The breakfast was generous, albeit carb-heavy. But wonderful to be able to just roll out of bed and eat. We had one day of sort of sloppy housekeeping; otherwise, the team did an efficient job. I do wish the in-room garbage cans were a bit bigger. FYI, we read somewhere that there are family movies every night. Not true. But there's a sweet drive-in movie theater about 15 minutes' drive away that the kids loved! We'll be back!

Room Tip: If you have a family, it's great to get one of the mini-suites as it comes with a daybed/couch a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
AWWWW! If I had a dollar for every time I have imagined your precious child saying, "a billion thumbs up!" I could retire!! What a delightful family you have and we can't thank you enough for taking the time to pop on line and give us a billion thumbs up! WHEEEEEEE!

Please come back with your family anytime!! We will work on adding those movies into our line-up here at Abe's! We really do want to add some activities for the kids! It is an excellent idea!

Thank you for spending your time in Okoboji with us! PLEASE come back and see us again!! Real soon!

Kindly, with a billion watt smile!!

Misty & the Entire Crew at Abe's of Okoboji

whoo-hooooooo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel has been renovated with cute modern decor. Some of it looks a bit "rushed", like the painting, but overall very cute!! They gave great service and the bicycle carts are cute. A little tough to ride, but we rode them around quite a bit. Although it is not right on the water, I would stay there again. It's still within walking distance to some restaurants (but they also have free parking for vechicles). Wifi in room was nice too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
WHOO-HOO Carmenstorer..I LOVE your picture! It looks like it was taken on the shores of Okoboiji! Thank you so much for the kind comments! And yes, I agree those bikes do take a little push power! I cannot believe how popular they are! The kids love them and we love having them out doing a little bit of advertising for us!!

BUT!! What we really love is happy guests! And those happy guests thinking enough of us to hop on line and fluff our feathers. It is BEYOND appreciated! Do come back and see us again real soon. Thank you so much and enjoy the rest of summer!!

Kindly, with some fluffy feathers!

Misty & the Entire RockStar Crew at Abe's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jengirl000
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked a room at Abe's for a girls weekend. It was a great weekend and really nothing to complain about. They have a nice pool and a few spots for campfires at night. Location is nice too! It was a little spendy for the room but it seemed pretty average for around there..

Free breakfast was nice but make sure you get there early if you stay on a weekend. It was very busy and no where to sit the first morning we went. Customer service was good and motel was clean. Motels is decorated very chic and trendy.. Very cute.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Aw Jen Girl!!

We LOVE all the "girl weekends" we are booking here! whoo-hoo! Cause our guest's are the best! We also LOVE that you went home and thought enough of us to sit down and write a review because trust me, people read them!! SOOOO we appreciate you, your business and your time!

I am going to work on a solution for the dining area!! PLEASE come back and visit us real soon!
Thanks so much and I hope you find yourself at Abe's of Okoboji real soon!

Kindly, with a really big smile!

Misty and the Entire ROCKSTAR Team at Abe's of Okoboji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

First of all, hands off to Misty and team for what appears to be a great turnaround and cleanup from the previous ownership. Also, great location and walking distance to many great restaurants and bars.

Now for the best part, the service. In advance of our trip, accommodations were made to have our two groups have adjoining rooms, very appreciated. Also, a sober driver was provided by the owner of Abe's who did a bang up job boating us around on a pontoon all day. Misty stopped by our room and said hello and was getting her hands dirty with the rest of her staff completing daily cleanups.

Thanks Abe's motel, great weekend and great service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
WHOOP WHOOP!! OH, did we enjoy your group!!! And major, major thank you's
for taking the time to love us up on-line! THAT...just makes us feel OH, SOOO MAJOR GROOVY Jason! YAY!

Please come back and see us anytime and we will treat you like the SUPERSTARS you are!

KINDLY....Sitting in IA on a Beautiful Day in Okoboji with a MASSIVE smile!

Misty & the Entire RockStar Team of Abe's of Okoboji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vintage Block Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Block Inn & Suites

Address: 1107 Sanborn Avenue, Okoboji, IA 51355 (Formerly Abe's of Okoboji)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Okoboji
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Okoboji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vintage Block Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would be delighted to welcome you to Vintage Block Inn & Suites (formerly Abe's) We are located a half block from the East Lake boat access and 3 blocks from the bridge that separates our beautiful lakes! We can offer you a unique stay with a warm breakfast, great customer service, outdoor swimming pool, firepits, grills and rooms that sleep up to 9 people! 34 rooms with kitchenettes and all rooms have a refriderator and microwave! Book at the hippest place to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vintage Block Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintage Block Inn & Suites Okoboji, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintage Block Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.