We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Northwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Northwood to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Northwood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Diamond Jo Lane, at Diamond Jo Casino, Northwood, IA 50459   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Northwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Owatonna
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had stayed here at this place to celebrate a friends birthday. It's very convenient for being connected to the casino. Check-in was a breeze, nice and fast. I believe Nicole (I think that was her name) was the one who had helped me, and she was very accomodating. The room itself was nice. Very clean bathroom, beds were great. The only complaint I had was that the beds only had 3 pillows, and they weren't very firm. Most hotels have 4? Breakfast was good, pretty basic. No eggs or anything just the busciuts and gravy. Price paid was just perfect. If I'm in the area I will definitely be staying again. Thanks!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your Awesome review of our hotel. I am very pleased to see that you truly enjoyed your stay with your friends and many of the amenities we offer. Please know that we do offer 4 pillows on our king beds and 3 on our queen beds. We look forward to having you and your friends as our guests the next time your travels bring you to Northwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
31
42
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

stopped here for just one night. liked that there was a casino next door to hang out at. room was clean and met my standards. breakfast was decent, better than some hotels i have stayed at. i would most likely stay here again if i travel in the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay as well as the convenience to the Diamond Jo Casino. It's also good to hear that you enjoyed our continental breakfast as well. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you down our road again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and two sisters stayed here on a trip to Iowa. When I made the reservation, I was offered the Wine Special. The room rate was $119.00 plus a free bottle of wine. Three beds, a bottle of wine all for the low price of $119.00. The room was also nice. Unfortunately, they lost money at the casino next door.

Room Tip: Ask for specials, they vary per different days of the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Wine Special and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I was out here for a few days with work and stayed here. Although its next to the casino its run by Carlson Hotels(folks that run Radisson).

Overall, it wasn't bad. Seems like they get a lot of one nighters which wears down the hotel. Its in need of an update but its kept clean. Beds were comfy though and that's what really matters after a long day working.

Most of the employees are nice. There were a few that were a bit grumpy but in the middle of nowhere pickers can't be choosers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for the nice review of our hotel. Please know that we have started some upgrades to our property and several of our amenities we offer. We look forward to your next visit so that we can share our "New" amenities with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the "country inn & suites " last night. Used the week day special, which included a buffett dinner or lunch for $ 99.
What a great buffet ! The staff were all friendly, the room "spotless " (thankyou housekeeping! ) The bed and pillows very comfortable. My work takes me throygh that area often and this hotel will continue to be my resting spot. Highly recommended:-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I am very pleased to here that you enjoyed our buffet package with the casino and found our rooms to be spotless, as well as the beds and pillows comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Northwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Given that this is part of a casino complex, the room charge is too high. The rooms are average to above average. Front desk clerks are not particularly friendly, and frankly, very unattractive (just sayin' you know?). Breakfast room was crowded and the prepared food (eggs) were wretched. It is so easy to scramble eggs, there just is no excuse for this slop!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy our breakfast and that some of our staff members were not as friendly as they could have been. We are always looking for new breakfast ideas and to improve our level of service to our guests. We will take your comments into account and try to improve int hose areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel twice in the past few months and had a nice stay each time. Obviously nothing to do in the area other than the casino, but that was enough for us. Burger King and Subway located in the casino provide late night eats. Avoid the buffet, something on it made me a bit queasy.

The hotel itself is a no frills Country Inn. Nice pool and really large hot tub. The hot tub could have been a bit warmer. Staff was nice enough. Breakfast in the morning is what you'd expect from a continental type breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us not once but a few time. We love repeat guests! We truly hope to have you as our guest again whenever you are in our area. Happy Travels!

Sincerely,
Tara McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Northwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Northwood

Address: 711 Diamond Jo Lane, at Diamond Jo Casino, Northwood, IA 50459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Northwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Northwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites Northwood 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Northwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Northwood Hotel Northwood
Country Inn And Suites Northwood
Country Inn Northwood
Northwood Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Northwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.