We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Diamond Jo Lane, at Diamond Jo Casino, Northwood, IA 50459   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Northwood
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, SD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nice property. Well maintained. Room came with mini fridge and microwave. Lobby was inviting with cookies and coffee there to greet weary travelers. Breakfast had nice selection with a nice variety of hot and cold items. Dining room was large and everything was well stocked and kept clean. Hotel is attached to casino making a trip over there very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and wonderful review of our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be comfortable, clean, and cozy. We hope to see you again in the near future when your travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    46
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
32
47
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here one night in October 2012. Hotel is right off the freeway, and connected to Diamond Jo casino. Don't need to go outside to get to casino. Checked in late evening on a Friday, and the cookie jar was empty, was looking forward to a cookie. Do have a lending library in lobby. Stayed in room 407, had a view of the parking lot. Room had one bed, flat screen tv, microwave and fridge, chair with foot rest, and desk. Room was very large. Bathroom was kind of small, had pantene brand shampoo and conditioner, and vaseline brand lotion in addition to 2 bars of soap, tub and shower combo. Turned on the air as room was rather warm and was so noisy turned it off and was warm instead as there was no way we could sleep with that on, way too noisy. Breakfast was good, despite being in a small crowded room. There was waffles, sausage, hard boiled eggs, breads/muffins, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal and fruit etc. There was to be french toast, but was empty, and never refilled. In fact didn't see any food being refilled, and was not there right before closing, and spent about 1/2 hour eating. Would have liked to try the french toast, oh well maybe next time. Did have cookies out in the am, were very good. Would probably stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that our cookie jar was empty upon your arrival but pleased to knwo it was restocked in the morning. I have also shared your comments with our maintenance staff regarding the noise level of the a/c unit in an effort to correct this for our future guests. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oshkosh, wis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stopped here on the way to Farm Progress Days in Boone,Iowa. Loved everything except the evening front desk clerk. Seemed like we were inconveniencing him. The breakfast and the staff attending it were very good. Would recommend a stay here. There really isn't a lot of choices in the area on Hwy. 35. Good nights sleep and clean.

Room Tip: There is a casino attached to hotel. They offer a buffet, there is a burger king and subway inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. However I am sorry to hear that our front desk staff member did not make you feel as welcome as they should have. Please know that I share all comments with our staff in an effort to correct an issues that have occured and make it better for all future guests.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have stayed here many many times on our way to visit family. It's work perfectly because it's half way to where our family lives. We were going to Newton, IA on August 4th, 2012 and decided to go down early on Friday so we didn't have a long drive on the 4th so we called the hotel, it was about 7 p.m. on Friday night and they said they had smoking rooms only and that was fine because we have stayed in the non-smoking rooms and they are really nice and clean. We were first of all quoted a price of $180 a night and when we told them we had a Carlson card it went to $97. I feel bad for the people that didn't have a card. When we got there we checked in, very nice front desk people always, we went up to the room and the second we opened the door the smoke was so overwhelming we turned the air on so it got some movement and left to go to the casino. When I went back up about 2 hours later it was still so awful I opened the window the little bit that you can and had to put the curtain behind the chair and put a pillow in the window to hold the curtain back to try and get some air in there. I can handle a smell but this was so awful even my husband that smokes said it was so bad he woke up several times during the night to the horrible smell. In the middle of the night it stormed so I had to close the window and the smell got worse. We were so glad to check out the next morning. When we got to our hotel room the next night in Ankeny (it was another Country Inn and Suites) we pulled out our clothes and they smelled so bad I had to take lotion and rub on them to make them smell a little better. I will never stay in a smoking room there again even if I have to drive into Clear Lake. I love the hotel, the staff is always great, the casino is very nice but they need to do something about the smoking room. Maybe have the windows open further or get a better air vent in there.

Room Tip: Do not stay in their smoking rooms. Keep driving 25 minutes south to Clear Lake. Well worth the dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites Northwood we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the strong smoke odor in our smoking guestrooms with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly to further discuss your recent stay with our hotel.


Sincerely,

Tara McLaughlin
General Manager
Country Inn and Suites
641-323-7000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Pros: great location right next door to the Casino with dinner options, welcoming staff, room very clean, nicely appointed bathroom, excellent breakfast with actual crockery and cutlery - no plastic/waste here. Great value at $69 plus tax.

Cons: none that I can think of.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your August 2012 stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and many of our amenities we offer. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to our area!

Sincerely,
Tara McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Union, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Went with a group of friends and visited the casino next door. The room was very clean. Bathroom was clean and updated. Bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows and blankets. Would definitely stay again. Continental breakfast was delicious. Lots of choices and nice breakfast area. Lobby is nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We are thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable time and that you were pleased with the service you received from our staff and enjoyed our breakfast as wells as our facilites and your guestroom. We look forward to you returning very soon to The Country Inn & Suites Northwood, IA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brainerd, mn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here twice within eight days. Drove to Kansas to pick up my 93 year old mother to bring to Minnesota for a short visit. Stayed one night after picking her up. Needed handicap accessible. Very clean room and service was great. Only complaint was the bedding. Way to heavy. THe comforter had a blanket inserted. I had not seen before. Had to remove the comforter from my bed. Light blanket & sheet was fine. Continental breakfast was a good variety. Biscuits & gravy, Hot oatmeal, donuts, bagels, fruit. Good start to the morning. Price going online included a buffet dinner for 2. Buffet was very good. Stopped taking her home halfway. Did not get a room with the buffet special. Was not available. Price was very reasonable for this time of year. Forgot to say it was attached to Diamond Jo Casino. GReat halfway stop for a trip of 700 miles. Rooms were very quiet, Faced the parking lot to casino & hotel never heard any noise at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your June 2012 stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and many of our amenities we offer. I am sorry to hear that you found our bedding to be too heavy for your taste. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to our area!

Sincerely,
Tara McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA

Address: 711 Diamond Jo Lane, at Diamond Jo Casino, Northwood, IA 50459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Northwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Northwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Northwood Hotel Northwood
Country Inn And Suites Northwood
Country Inn Northwood
Northwood Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, IA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.