We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smokey casino but friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Jo Casino

Diamond Jo Casino
777 Diamond Jo Lane, Northwood, IA 50459
(641) 323-7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Northwood
Attraction details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“smokey casino but friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I do not like the smoke in any casino and the small non-smoking area is not only protected from the rest of the smoke but has a poor assortment of machines.

My luck was bad and I suppose I can't hold the casino responsible for that. I do not like that there is just a Subway, Burger King, expensive steakhouse and buffet but no longer a casual sit down restaurant (or Starbucks who used to be in the Subway location). I wish they had a more isolated non-smoking section with a better assortment of machines.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the smoking in the casino and assortment of machines in the non-smoking section. We have a state of the art air handling system that continually brings 100% fresh air into the casino gaming floor. At the same time we are exhausting 100% of the existing air. This system changes the air in the casino every 11 minutes which allows us to provide the cleanest air possible to our guests. Based on guest feedback we have changed gaming options in our non-smoking section and hope you stop in to see the new gaming options! We appreciate all reviews from our patrons, and we try our best to accommodate your requests.

In response to your concern about no longer having a casual sit down restaurant, we do provide a casual dining experience at The Kitchen Buffet which offers a wide variety of food from around the world. Other dining options include the Woodfire Grille featuring steak, seafood and pasta and for convenience we offer Subway & Burger King. Again, thank you for your review and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    12
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun TIme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Plenty of different slots, no problem finding a machine and we won!! Attached Subway and Burger King made it easy to get a quick bite to eat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Always fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have yet to win there, but it is always fun to visit Diamond Jo's. It is a clean, friendly casino and they have a wide selection of games and machines to play.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas, Usa
2 reviews
“Great Fun and Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great place to visit and play...good food and great service...the hotel there that is connected to the casino is a great clean hotel and fairly priced....awesome place and great night stay...Thanks

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Long play on a penny machine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I could not find a seat at 3 card poker table so played the penny goldfish machine for 1 and 1/2 hours on 20.00 dollars and broke even. Fun! Don't like the smoke in the air though.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Jo Casino also viewed

Been to Diamond Jo Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Jo Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.