We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday inn express northwood iowa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4712 Wheelerwood Road, Northwood, IA 50459   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northwood
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“holiday inn express northwood iowa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Thanks Bob,Laura and,the whole staff !!! the check inn (get it !) was wonderful !!night clerk was just as great !! the breakfast was so,so good!! the young lady help me get my breakfast as,i am in a wheelchair !! thank you housekeeping for a perfect room !! i will be BACK !! Thanks Guys !!!

Room Tip: they are all GREAT !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback regarding your visit to Northwood,IA and our Holiday Inn Express. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all the staff treated you like family. I will most definitely let all staff know your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sherri Stencel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
10
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owatonna, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Began staying at this hotel because of security and location reasons. Completely enjoyed my stay and decided it was the perfect place to stay each time I visit IA. Getting to know the staff on a first name basis makes it feel more like coming home then staying away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback regarding your visits to Northwood,IA and our Holiday Inn Express. I am happy that we are able to accomdate your needs and that staff have the opportunity to get to know you. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback,
Sherri Stencel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel appeared to be fairly new, but the entry smelled like a dog. This is a dog-friendly hotel, and the dog in the room above ours whined for about 2 hours after the owners left it alone in the room. The front desk did not have a way to contact the owners, which was aggravating. Late at night, the dog was barking for about 20 minutes and at about 6:00am, the owners were playing noisily with the dog, waking us up. We were also disappointed that the hot tub was out of service, and appeared to have been out of service for a long time, judging from the algae growing in the bottom. The pancake maker was broken, they were out of orange juice, and there was no fruit in the breakfast area. This Holiday Inn Express was not worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I apologize sincerely for the circumstances of your recent stay in our hotel. What you described is not typical of our hotel and is completely unacceptable. We will research your stay and take appropriate action. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback and be assured we take all guest comments very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Brand new hotel, great rooms, decent workout facility. Flat screens and typical and very comfortable brand bedding. Right next to a decent casino with a wonderful restaurant. I stay here on business when needed. A pleasant night that seems like the middle of nowhere but the casino provides enough activity and food choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about yoru stay on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had an opportunity to utilize many of the services and amenities that we and the surrounding busninesses have to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is obviously not very old and so everything is in very good condition. Staff was very friendly.The cost was not cheap, but was reasonable for a hotel as nice as this one. This hotel was nice and quiet,plus it had a good free breakfast. They do allow pets, but I didn't notice any problems from that. Would definetly stay here again, and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback regarding your recent visit to Northwood,IA and our Holiday Inn Express. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel facilities, and our convenient breakfast.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback,
Sherri Stencel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Loved It! From the very beginning the front desk gal made our stay even better as she was so helpful. From the free use of the modern washer and dryer with free fabric softner to the amazing breakfast and great conversation with the staff who like to ride motorcycles. We loved our stay! BEWARE - Do not go to Diamond Jo and lose all your money lol!
The room was awesom
The pool was small but Awesome
Clean and modern
Lots of corn to look at :)

Room Tip: Just tell them what you need and they will take care of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster City, Iowa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel is very nice and the staff is wonderful. Everyone is always kind, helpful, and friendly.

Room Tip: The suites have a nice amount of room in them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood

Address: 4712 Wheelerwood Road, Northwood, IA 50459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Northwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood Hotel Northwood
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Northwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.