We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly - just like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin Sur Mer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Moulin Sur Mer to your Saves list
Moulin Sur Mer
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Route Nationale No. 1 | Km 77, Côte des Arcadins, Montrouis, Montrouis, Haiti   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Montrouis
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So friendly - just like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I staid at the hotel last October and was very pleased. Nice and friendly host- comfortable rooms-with safe in room- great food and drinks - great service.
Love the beach - - sandy and calm - ocean perfect to relax .
I would go back anytime
Best sunset I have seen in a while
Mare sure you bring insect repellent.

Room Tip: Isecond floor are good and the grounds are secure
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Owner at Moulin Sur Mer, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We thank your for your friendly review. Please come back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
22
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

$ 250 U.S for 5 pers/ night: a family with 3 children, only a single bedroom as rent!,, This hotel does not have a fitness center, no WiFi access from bedrooms, no T.V too!!! ( Meanwhile my husband was paying our bedroom a rude security guard did not greet me or did not introduce himself on the beach, and ask me to leave: I told him that as a customer paying this price I could only take a look at it!!!! The breakfast buffet was just fine. They sell Target swim-suit at $70 U.S!!! For the price they ask, please be smart stay away from this 1950's 60's overpriced hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Owner at Moulin Sur Mer, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Would it be fare to ask: "Did you stay or did you not stay at Moulin Sur Mer?":

- We do a have WiFI, ALL OVER the property and within our rooms. It is coded however, and you are granted this code at the reception as a registered guest.

- We do have a good part of our rooms with TV. Maybe you should have asked for one, if needed. Commercial TV in suburb hotels of Haiti is a luxury at the moment, yet available in our Hibicus category rooms. We invite you to ask for one next time.

- If you are a registered guest, we do have a courtesy resort wristband which identifies you as such. This measure is for your own protection and for meal access control which is common in most renown resorts. We also have very courteous security guards who prevent that non-registered guests wonder around our facilities and disturb the peace and serenity of our registered guests. Our registered guests are priceless to us and subject to the best service by our receptionists, waiters, security guards, managers and staff members in general.

- Our rooms come standard with breakfast. Breakfast buffet for 5 persons is already $75.00 which leaves $175 for a room of 5, including taxes and service charge!! We do have huge generators that run electricity 24/7 and a huge property of 75 acres to maintain with luxurious gardens and a pristine kept property. Is it really that overpriced?

We thank you for having visited us and hope that next time you'll stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Nice place but poor service overall staff talk about the customer whom assume doest understand the native tongue and went to talk manger Lucas about service replay this is not american it Haiti and acted like i was a wrong for say anything never brother to check my service again really for 250 buck u need better customer service and it was not busy arrive on December 23 very slow took 20 min for mix drink 30 min for towel and the bathtub was black need deep cleaning overall beautiful place in Haiti but poor service

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Owner at Moulin Sur Mer, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We thank you for coming to our place and for posting your review. The rate is indeed $250.00 but it includes three meals for two persons (breakfast, lunch and dinner) which makes it a total of 6 meals in 24 hrs, including as well taxes and service. You can opt to a $132.00 rate which includes breakfast only for two persons and all taxes. Our beach front property is quite large (15 acres) and the sleeping quarters are far apart, which makes it quite attractive for customers who like it for the most part because of the lush gardens they wonder in and their sleeping comfort in large comfortable rooms. There is with this a trade-off of speed of service which we hope to improve soon by installing inter phones in all of our rooms. We'll be the very first to offer this in all of the beach hotels in Haiti. We welcome you again and hope that by then, we'll have resolved most of the issues which made your stay uncomfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Out of this, Kaliko and Wahoo - I would say Moulin Sur Mer is the classiest. It doesn't have music blaring at all times, and the property itself looks a little more upscale.

This is a large sprawling property that apparently was a plantation back in the day, it still has a museum of that area on site that you can visit.

Food was delicious - perhaps a slight bit pricier than the $15-20USD for main course that the others charge, or you could have the lunch+dinner buffet option for $45+tax per person.

The rooms were adequate, and are cleaned everyday. Note, the beach bungalows don't actually face the beach - they are right next to it, but perpendicular so you don't see out into the ocean. Also, the toilet/bathroom is open to the living room - so be forewarned - you'll need your roommate to step out while you use the facilities (or not, if you're comfortable with that).

Sunsets are awesome, the sand is nice, the water is less "blue" than Kaliko/Wahoo but is still nonetheless clear.

I would come here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Owner at Moulin Sur Mer, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
It was nice to have you visit our place and we're glad that you enjoyed our property environment. We take pride in making of it a typical haitian place to visit which is reminiscent of Haiti's history and culture. We do hope to see you again and continue a trend of making it more enjoyable and pristine every other time during your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and loved this place. The food was good. The beach is large. We rented Kayaks for a couple hours and rode all up and down the coast. The sunsets are gorgeous. The service was the only thing that could use an upgrade. I just wish the people smiled more and knew what American style service is. The grounds are impeccable and have many animals roaming around. For Haiti, it was wonderful and a great place to relax for a couple days.

Room Tip: Beach Bungalows are small but close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Owner at Moulin Sur Mer, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
We're extremely happy that your stay was enjoyable to you and to your girl friend. We strive to make it better day by day and your comments are very important to us. We agree that getting a smile from most hotel personnel in Haiti is not the easiest task, but the fact of the matter is that they always hold their hearts to the tip of their hands, to make sure to always satisfy the clientele. They are kind and sensitive people who are eager to please and it is one of our upmost important objectives; to train them to always express with a smile, the goodness that they mean inside. Thank you and come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The AC was on high, and when they asked to lower it ( of course the remote control was not there), we had to wait 2days until someone comes and lowers it. Not enough for many of us. Mosquitoes are eveywhere,and there were insects in the room. The insect repellent spray was conditioned in the conference room with us because it was used minutes before we started.
The food at least was good, and the staff very polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Owner at Moulin Sur Mer, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thanks for visiting Moulin Sur Mer. We're sorry you had to experience this problem with our A/C units in the conference room. We can assure you that this issue has already been addressed and taken care of. We strive to make our client's stay, as memorable as possible, and hope that all our efforts will dissipate some of the minor issues which are sometimes difficult for us to control since the environment is one of the common problems that all of us hotel owners on La Cote des Arcadins are trying to get a hold of through private/public agreements and efforts. Your visit is important to us as it brings key revenues which help us address all of these issues and your constructive criticism is essential for us to refine our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

On August 8, 2013 I was able to experience my fairy tale wedding at Moulin Sur Mer. On a romantic island there called Zile Soley. My 300 plus guest and I dined on exquisitely prepared cuisine by their great and humble Chef Carnes Jean. The decor done by Dominique Blain and scenery provided an elegant and sophisticated ambience that captivated us all through the night. Some of my guest, my husband and I stayed at Moulin after the wedding, where the rooms were clean and the staff was professional and pleasant as well. Charles and Ariel Fombrun (owners) were delightful and made us feel right at home.
A wonderful location to have weddings!!
We enjoyed our time at Moulin Sur Mer and we are sure to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Owner at Moulin Sur Mer, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
WOW !!! Do we feel honored and uplifted by such a charming review. All the pleasure was ours to have hosted such a wonderful and warmth-filled wedding on our very special island, Zile Soley. All the best to you and your new family. We do hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moulin Sur Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Sur Mer

Address: Route Nationale No. 1 | Km 77, Côte des Arcadins, Montrouis, Montrouis, Haiti
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Haiti > Ouest Department > Montrouis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Montrouis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moulin Sur Mer 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A site of Paradise along the Côte des Arcadins, one hour's drive from Port-au-Prince's International airport.Moulin Sur Mer, an 18th century sugar cane plantation, magnificient and unique in its Colonial architecture, combines the charm of a picturesque past and the modern comfort of a beach resort of international standard with 68 rooms, where you can relax and enjoy a unique vacation in an atmosphere of peace and tranquility. We recently added Marina Blue, a dry dock boat and jetski facility with all kinds of amenities for nautical sport lovers. We also added Zile Soley, a private island connected to shore with a bridge from which can be used for sun bathing, private events such as weddings, parties, cocktails and dinners. You'll also enjoy from Zile Soley one of the most spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Moulin Sur Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Sur Mer Haiti

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin Sur Mer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.