We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Okoboji Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Okoboji Grill
1425 W 19th St S, Newton, IA 50208-6003
641-792-1023
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 44 Restaurants in Newton
Restaurant details
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had a fairly large group and were seated quickly. Breaded pork tenderloin sandwich, shrimp basket and cajun pasta were all very good. We enjoyed our meal in the air conditioned dining room but then moved outside to the patio for drinks and more visiting. Service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Muscatine, Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good, cheap for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stopped here along the way to Des Moines to eat. They had a great $6.50 lunch menu, with very adequate portions. It was great food, for 3 of us (2 adults, 1 kid) the total bill was $19.xx. I would highly recommend for lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Good food, service, variety, parking is great, hours are good. A great choice.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Burlington, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The food was great. We had a larger group come in and our waitress was very good. She was quick and efficient!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grinnell, Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Average place to eat.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

It set up as a nice some what fancy place to eat, but the food is good, and the service is good but the prices are too pricey for what you get. Went there once won't go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okoboji Grill also viewed

 

Been to Okoboji Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okoboji Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.