We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bedding, good breakfast, chilly pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Muscatine

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Muscatine to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Muscatine
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Muscatine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2915 N Hwy 61, Muscatine, IA 52761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Muscatine
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful bedding, good breakfast, chilly pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Clarion in Muscatine and found the staff to be pleasant and the rooms clean. The pillows and comforter were absolutely WONDERFUL and the entire family commented on them.

The continental breakfast was nice and we enjoyed the selection!

The only negative was that the indoor pool was quite chilly and the kids were disappointed that we had to say "no" to swimming. We didn't get to check out the hot tub because of our kids, but we did hear people using that.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichole S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Muscatine, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed our bedding and free breakfast. We are working with our pool expert and he is adjusting the heat on the pool. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    5
    5
    10
See reviews for
13
3
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muscatine, Iowa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This past weekend we had my daughters 7th birthday party at the hotel. The staff was very accommodating to our needs. We did have enough table and chairs set up and within 5 min they were getting extra ones set up for us. They came down to the party area several times to make sure everything was running smoothly and that we didn’t need anything else. We had 40 plus people there and three of the other families are thinking about having their daughter’s parities there as well. They were very friendly and made sure we felt right at home. We had six girls stay the night at the hotel with us. They opened the pool early so the girls could swim before we went home. The continental breakfast was one of the best ones we have had at a hotel. Along with the cereal, muffins, fresh fruit they also had waffles, sausage, eggs and yogurt. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine1, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Muscatine, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great birthday for your daughter. Please have your family members contact our Sales Department for dates that are available for their birthday parties as well. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights for a family gathering. This is an old hotel in need of some TLC. The shower head in my room was rusted and the water first came out yellow. The sink drain was also rusted. The wallpaper is peeling. The sheets were clean and I think for the most part the housekeeping staff does what they can; however they did not clean the bathroom floors during our entire stay. The price is cheap but you get what you pay for. If I were you, I would look into the newer hotels nearby. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichole S, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Muscatine, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for staying with Clarion Hotel Muscatine. We are working on property updates all the time. We hope you would try us again in the future once we have more updates done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Muscatine hotels

Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed on 8-8-12. It was a nice price for a good size king room. I judge a hotel by the quality of its bed linens and this place did well on that count. Nice sheets and duvet, lots of pillows. It was clean but a little old and outdated. The staff was nice. The swimming pool isn't big enough to be useful for anything other than little kids splashing each other. The bar was ok for a quick drink and the waitress was nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichole S, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Muscatine, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for staying with Clarion Hotel Muscatine. We are glad you enjoyed the bed and bedding. We are working on updating our property all time. We really work hard to keep the property clean and on staff well trained and friendly. Hope you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here during the wedding weekend of a member of our family. We had about 25 family members stay. Many of us had poolside rooms. We were able to sit around tables and visit all day long. The staff were so helpful. Everything we asked for they set up for us. The AC was fixed. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The TVs in our rooms were new. The Internet was free and fast. I will definitely gather here again when we want to bring our family together to relax and get away for a reasonable price. The continental breakfast was ok, but we would have liked a full breakfast meal option as well. It would have been nice to have the restaurant open for lunch and dinner, but we just ran out and got our food somewhere else. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine1, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Muscatine, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Our restaurant is closed for lunch and dinner but we have a full catering menu that you and your family could enjoy, just contact our Sales Department. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Hills, Missouri
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for CSK soccer and the AC was not working! It had not been working for several days and they did not warn incoming visitors of the problem so they could make alternate plans. When asked why they didn't they said they did, but I asked several other college coaches who were staying there and none had been forewarned. When asking at front desk about heat they said we could go to Walmart and buy a fan for our room. They said a part was on order but they didn't have it yet. In day of overnight air shipping not sure why the part was not in? No offer was made for a reduced rate for visitor inconvenience. Hotel would have been 3-stars with AC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine1, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Muscatine, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
I would like to apogize to you for the air not working during your stay. We had some severe issues with the HVAC unit and it broke down during the hottest part of the summer. I do know that the front desk staff had tried to contact several guest to let them know ahead of time, but unfortunately not all guest were able to be contacted. Again I'm sorry for the Inconvenience, we are in the process of installing a new unit so I hope you will try us again during your next visit to Muscatine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

dont even think about it!!! Everything about this hotel was nasty especially there so called dirty disgusting bar/resturant! IOnly decent thing i can say about this hotel is the beds are comfortable, but not a good enough reason to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Muscatine, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you thought our beds were comfortable. Please accept my apology on the cleanliness of our bar, our staff tries to make sure everything is clean for all of our guest daily but on occasion we do miss things. Again, thank you for your comments as we use them to better our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel Muscatine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Muscatine

Address: 2915 N Hwy 61, Muscatine, IA 52761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Muscatine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Muscatine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Muscatine 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers on the north side of Muscatine, IA just three miles from the Mississippi riverfront. The Iowa hotel also is a short drive to Bridgestone Bandag, AllSteel, HNI and the Muscatine Soccer Complex. Other attractions in the Muscatine area include Wild Cat Den State Park, Muscatine Art Center (includes Musser Mansion and the Stanley Gallery), Weed Mansion, and Alexander G. Clark House. Two historic districts listed on the National Register of Historic Places (Downtown and West Hill). Guests of this Muscatine hotel can enjoy the free continental breakfast, indoor heated pool and whirlpool along with the 24-hour fitness center. All rooms feature coffee makers, microwave, refrigerator, irons and ironing boards, well lit desk areas and premium TV channels. Business travelers will welcome additional conveniences featuring the 24-hour business center with fax and copy service. The next time your travels bring you to Muscatine, IA, the Clarion Hotel would be delighted to accommodate your lodging needs. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel Muscatine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muscatine
Muscatine Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Muscatine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.