We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DUMP!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Muscatine

Clarion Hotel Muscatine
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Muscatine to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Muscatine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2915 N Hwy 61, Muscatine, IA 52761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Muscatine
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“DUMP!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

dont even think about it!!! Everything about this hotel was nasty especially there so called dirty disgusting bar/resturant! IOnly decent thing i can say about this hotel is the beds are comfortable, but not a good enough reason to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Muscatine, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you thought our beds were comfortable. Please accept my apology on the cleanliness of our bar, our staff tries to make sure everything is clean for all of our guest daily but on occasion we do miss things. Again, thank you for your comments as we use them to better our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    7
    5
    10
See reviews for
15
3
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

It appears this hotel was recently redecorated. We stayed there for one night and we were very happy with everything. The room was clean and service was great. We had a large group with us and thought it would be nice to sit around the very nice indoor pool and watch the kids swim. When we asked if it was possible to get a table and approx 12 chairs, they didn't hesitate. They had us set up in no time! There is also a very nice lounge with a pool tabel and dart board which was nice for the adults. The free continental breakfast is served in a very comfortable setting with windows looking over the grassy area and pond. Besides the normal "continental" breakfast items, they also had scrambled eggs and sausage. Very friendly and accomodating staff and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Muscatine, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay at the Clarion Hotel Muscatine. We hope that you return and enjoy it again. Thank you for the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Great people good facilities great location .......,......,, We will stay there again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nsorgen, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Muscatine, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

So pleased to find accomodations in Muscatine, Iowa with a full service restaurant and bar! While an older property, I found this hotel to have new carpeting and fixtures. Hotel rooms were pleasant and the staff excellent! Loved having the ability to visit with my guests poolside, and appreciated in-room coffee as well as complimentary cups in the lobby. We attended a wedding reception on location and the food was excellent! Great value in a great town!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nsorgen, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Muscatine, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The staff is warm, friendly and helpful, but this hotel, build around an indoor swimming pool and other water features, has rooms with no windows, except those looking down on the pool. . As a result the whole place smells musty and smoky, despite the fact it's a non-smoking hotel. Odors apparently have no where to go, so they cling. The vending machines don't work, and the night I was there, a wedding reception had speakers the size of a 7-11. They shook the whole building and went on and on into the night.. I'd recommend travelers stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nsorgen, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Muscatine, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not enjoyable. We are upgrading the hotel and we hope you will try us again. Thank you-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

What a dump ! I checked in and there was no a/c and lobby was very hot and stunk like dirty laundry.The room was dirty and a/c was not working and stunk badly and very outdated. I noticed several repairs going on as I went to my room which made the place look unorganized and dirty.The front door had a sign that stated "Door is broken, please use other door" at the main entry, after that sign everything got worse ! I called the front desk and asked when the a/c would be fixed. They did not have an answer for me so I checked out .
GOD BLESS THIS MESS,
JN
SAN ANTONIO TEXAS AUGUST 2011

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nsorgen, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Muscatine, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not enjoyable. We are upgrading the hotel and HAVC we hope you will try us again. Thank you-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We came here after 2 days in the Fairfield Inn. We stayed at the FFI because it had better reviews than this hotel, but I much preferred this hotel to the FFI. This hotel had a beautiful indoor pool (spa was very old, too hot), and unlike the Fairfield Inn, this place had an on-site fitness centre! We only stayed here one night, so it wasn't enough to completely explore this hotel, but overall, I liked it better than the Fairfield.

As my title states, this hotel is outdated. The spa was very old, the tv was an old tv, and in general it was an old hotel, but it caused me no problem whatsoever.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nsorgen, Manager at Clarion Hotel Muscatine, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Thank you for the responds. We are working on the out dated issue and hope to improve byt he end of 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Muscatine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Muscatine

Address: 2915 N Hwy 61, Muscatine, IA 52761
Location: United States > Iowa > Muscatine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Muscatine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Muscatine 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers on the north side of Muscatine, IA just three miles from the Mississippi riverfront. The Iowa hotel also is a short drive to Bridgestone Bandag, AllSteel, HNI and the Muscatine Soccer Complex. Other attractions in the Muscatine area include Wild Cat Den State Park, Muscatine Art Center (includes Musser Mansion and the Stanley Gallery), Weed Mansion, and Alexander G. Clark House. Two historic districts listed on the National Register of Historic Places (Downtown and West Hill). Guests of this Muscatine hotel can enjoy the free continental breakfast, indoor heated pool and whirlpool along with the 24-hour fitness center. All rooms feature coffee makers, microwave, refrigerator, irons and ironing boards, well lit desk areas and premium TV channels. Business travelers will welcome additional conveniences featuring the 24-hour business center with fax and copy service. The next time your travels bring you to Muscatine, IA, the Clarion Hotel would be delighted to accommodate your lodging needs. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel Muscatine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muscatine
Muscatine Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Muscatine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.