We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice decor, lovely experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tantra Thai Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tantra Thai Bistro
101 W Mississipi Dr, Muscatine, IA 52761
+1 563-263-2345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 61 Restaurants in Muscatine
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Check yelp or google them
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nice decor, lovely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

we had the chicken lettuce wraps, which were very good, pad thai w veggies and tofu and chicken red curry. the chicken red curry was top notch, the best part of the meal. the pad thai was good, i got it with tofu and veggies, there could have been a few more of each veggie. the presentation was lovely, however, and our server was comfortably fluent in english, and polite. the price points were okay. the space has very large windows and some nice art. the only thing i would change is add alot of large lush green plants, and maybe a fountain-y water feature of sorts.we will go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly excellent Thai food in the deep Midwest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

In my opinion this is one of Muscatine's best restaurants, if not the best, set in the old part of town down by the river. The decor is nice, roomy and upscale, well decorated but not gaudily Thai, with a view out across the street, though not to Old Man River. The menu is wide-ranging and excellent, with all the usual Thai suspects including many vegetarian and possibly vegan options. Wines are at least available, not in significant variety, yet reasonably priced.

Service was adequate, except for mis-hearing and providing a chicken rather than tofu green curry (accepted because why bother). The flavoring was entirely competent. Lovers of Thai food, even discerning ones, will not be disappointed. They would do well to add a brown rice option, though. A brown and wild rice medley option would have won them five stars, hands down.

Altogether, an unexpectedly good ethnic food experience in the deep Midwest.

We made the mistake of driving to another town to a supposedly fancier and significantly pricier place for a graduation dinner. A waste of time (see my review if you're interested). We'd have done far better to stay here.

Govern yourselves accordingly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Grouper is excellent. Two other favorites are Thai Chili Cashew and Prik King. Nice atmosphere. Great for family or date night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great birthday at Tantra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My family helped me celebrate my birthday at Tantra friday. From appetizers to main dishes-everything was delicious. We had grouper, shrimp, salmon and chow mein. All were prepared well and we had great service. The price was very reasonable also. a very enjoyable
evening. We certainly will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Consistently good food in a lovely setting. Love the crispy green beans, lettuce wraps. Can get similar flavors in noodles, rice or stir-fry.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantra Thai Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Tantra Thai Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantra Thai Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.