We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mt. Pleasant Must!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Mexico

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Little Mexico
107 S Jefferson St, Mount Pleasant, IA 52641
319 385-8424
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Mt. Pleasant Must!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This little place is a must stop for anyone visiting Mt. Pleasant. Great authentic Mexican in the middle of Iowa.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Little Mexico always has good food and good service. The staff is always friendly.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Little Mexico was a delightful surprise. The room is attractively decorated. The service and food were excellent. The menu provides choices beyond the usual Mexican fare. I look forward to a return visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good food and great deal on Margaritas !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Need to go back, all I can remember was the drinks were a good deal.... which may be why thats all I can remember!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELD
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“"Little Mexico" is a class act!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Although we have four Mexican restaurants plus a Taco John's in our town, we often drive 21 miles to Mount Pleasant for the extra treat of eating at Little Mexico. The food is excellent and the menu has many tasty surprises. The staff are extremely warm and helpful, and the decor is a delight. Chips are always served with salsa PLUS a delicious queso dip. One very refined touch is that the silverware is always wrapped in a nice big white cloth napkin (and the tables have cloth tablecloths, not paper placemats!). The cloth napkins somehow really add class to the dining experience, but the food also speaks for itself. I particularly enjoy the tequila chicken and the chicken flautas, and my vegetarian spouse has many favorites. You should always take the time to walk around and read the specials cleverly written (and decorated) on mirrored signs -- even if you don't order them, it gives you an idea of the restaurant's creativity. The prices are very reasonable, and it really is a fine dining experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Mexico also viewed

Mount Pleasant, IA
Mount Pleasant, IA
 

Been to Little Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.