We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Mason City

Save Saved
You added Clarion Mason City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Mason City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 4th St SW, Hwy 122, Mason City, IA 50401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Mason City
davenport
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at the clarion hotel for business in October.The front staff person dont know what she was doing.I think she was new to the job.Check me in ,didnt give me the room number , She was too busy entertaining her guest.The room was clean and comfortable.The security door was broken,didnt feel Safe at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSBranstad, General Manager at Clarion Mason City, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Denise G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Clarion Inn Mason City. It is our mission to offer World Class Hospitality and not only meet but exceed our guest’s expectations; in this case it is evident we fell short of that goal. I would like to apologize for the problems you experienced at check-in and with the security door. I take ownership of these problems and will engage with our staff to ensure concerns of this nature do not occur in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback and my sincerest apologies for your inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Brandy Smith Branstad, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
19
9
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I participated in a wellness fair at the Clarion in October on Saturday and Sunday. Behind my table I had two styrofoam containers with snack foods in them, that were missing on Sunday. Nothing else was disturbed. The Clarion agreed that it was their employees who threw my containers away, but then refused to replace the contents. Our group will be holding another event next year, but I sincerely hope it is not at the Clarion. The Clarion also would not allow us to put up a sign in the lobby so people could find us in the conference room! And the front desk staff didn't know we were even there until I told them! The place looks nice, but the lack of professionalism and the poor response to a complaint make them at the bottom of my list. For the record, I did not stay at the hotel, but at a nearby hotel due to costs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSBranstad, General Manager at Clarion Mason City, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Catfoy,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent experience at the Clarion Inn Mason City. It is our mission to offer World Class Hospitality and not only meet but exceed our guest’s expectations; in this case it is evident we fell short of that goal. I apologize for the issues you experienced while attending the wellness fair. Overnight cleaning staff are directed to clear away leftover catered box lunch boxes to keep guests safe from food borne illness (cold cuts from sandwich must be discarded after 4 hours outside the refrigerator). We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and will strive to earn a spot at the top of your list next time. Again, thank you for your feedback and my sincerest apologies for your inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Brandy Smith Branstad, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our room was clean and comfortable. Two girls at check in were friendly, I think one of them was training... they went out of their way to find us a room on the first floor since there is no elevator - thank you! Free breakfast was terrific!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSBranstad, General Manager at Clarion Mason City, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Diane,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Clarion Inn Mason City and for taking a moment to share your feedback.

It is our mission to offer World Class Hospitality and not only meet but exceed our guest’s expectations. It is gratifying to hear comments which indicate our efforts have been realized. You took the time to make us aware of your satisfaction so we will take the time to share your feedback with the employees of the Clarion Inn. After all, they also enjoy hearing from a satisfied customer!

Again, thank you for choosing the Clarion Inn Mason City - we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to our area!

Brandy Smith Branstad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed last night..the toilet ran all night and the fire alarm went off at 1:38a! We asked the staff to send someone to look at the toilet..no one ever came. At 1:38a we were all awoken to a screeching fire alarm & asked to celar the bldg. Evidently, it was so humid (& it was very uncomfortable when you entered the motel) that. It tripped the fire alarm. What? Hmmm..all sounded fishy to me. It was a dingy motel with some seedy characters meandering around the parking lot too. Called for the manager this morning who never answered my call.

DO NOT STAY THERE!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSBranstad, General Manager at Clarion Mason City, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Kathleen C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Clarion Inn Mason City. I apologize for the issues you experienced during your recent stay, as we want all of our guests to have a comfortable and relaxing visit. The fire alarm did go off and we are required to evacuate the building for everyone’s safety. I will speak to my staff regarding the running toilet. Again, thank you for your feedback and my sincerest apologies for your inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Brandy Smith Branstad, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We received a great rate at the Clarion Inn and overall were very happy with our stay. We were in the Mason City/Clear Lake area to visit family and knew we wouldn't be in our room much. The layout of the hotel is interesting with an indoor pool in the center of the main building. Also, it has the feel of an unenclosed hotel that has had a huge shell put over it. From what I could tell, none of the windows in the main building actually go outside. If you have a room around the courtyard, your windows face the pool. We had a room on an outside hallway...our windows faced the hallway that had floor to ceiling windows. It worked, it was just different from anything I had seen. There is also another building but we did not go in that area. Our room was very quiet, but the rooms around the pool area could be very noisy since that seems to be where everyone congregates.

We had a room with one King Bed. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and a decent size. I did not notice any peeling wallpaper or anything along those lines. The counter and sink area looked new and was very nice. The air conditioner was difficult to control and loud. It would get really cold and we would turn it off, then we would have to turn it back on. The thermostat was really old and it is possible we just didn't know how to use it correctly.

As I said, the pool is indoors and is in the middle of the main hotel. However, you can pretty much smell the pool in the entire building. We went swimming one morning and while the pool is heated, it was still cold. The hot tub was working and was very nice. There are pool towels in the area, which was nice.

Every staff member we came in contact with was very friendly. We requested extra towels and had them within ten minutes. Excellent service.

There is an onsite restaurant that serves dinner, but we did not eat there. There is also a hot breakfast in the morning, but we did not have that either. There is a charge for the breakfast, but it was reasonable.

Overall, we were happy with our stay and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSBranstad, General Manager at Clarion Mason City, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Travling4fun;

Thank you for choosing the Clarion Inn Mason City, and for taking a moment to share your experience. We continually work to improve our hotel (currently testing a new system that will allow better control over heat/air conditioning by individual guests - watch for this on your next stay)! We appreciate your kudos about the staff and will post your comments for them to see! We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Inn on your next stay in our area.

Thank you,
Brandy Smith Branstad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtland, KS
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The pool was quite adequate to play in with our two-year old, even though if you have a room along the exterior of the hotel, the walk back from the pool will be quite cold! I received a free drink coupon upon arrival for having a Choice priviledges card, so that was nice. Room was clean, not fancy, typical double bed and ordinary looking. Nice 38" flatscreen TV and mirror/sink outside of shower is nice for ladies getting ready while others shower. Paid $71.20 on a Thursday night with a discount card through Farm Bureau Insurance - yeah! They had two ping pong tables, an area for kids to play video games, bigger pool and a hot tub - no kiddie pool (not that the claimed to have one).

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one not along the exterior of the hotel if you intend to use the pool and walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Perhaps the best feature of the Clarion Inn is it's breakfast which featured several hot items and a wide selection of choices. The staff was also very friendly, but the room was small. I would also advise visitors to ask for a room on the outside, as the hotel has a large indoor area that often has functions going on during the weekendss and could be noisy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Mason City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Mason City

Address: 2101 4th St SW, Hwy 122, Mason City, IA 50401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Mason City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Mason City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Mason City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mason City, IA hotel - Clarion Inn hotel. New in 2012 37" FLATSCREEN TELEVISIONS in ALL GUEST ROOMS! Conveniently located between Minneapolis and Des Moines, and minutes from downtown Mason City, the Clarion Inn® hotel is less than seven miles from Mason City Municipal Airport and offers free airport transportation for its guests. Local points of interest include North Iowa Events Center (formerly NI Fairgrounds), MacNider Art Museum and Lime Creek Nature Center. Mason City is well-known for its musical heritage and was the childhood home of Meredith Wilson, "The Music Man" creator. A number of unique landmarks and cultural attractions like Music Man Square and Frank Lloyd Wright's historic Stockman House can be found in the surrounding area. River City Bar and Grill is located on the premises. Complimentary Continental Breakfast included in most rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Mason City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Mason City Hotel Mason City
Holiday Inn Mason City
Mason City Holiday Inn
Clarion Mason City Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Mason City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.