We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Mason City

Days Inn Mason City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Mason City to your Saves list
Days Inn Mason City
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2301 4th Street SW, Mason City, IA 50401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Skip it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

My sister and I met here for a weekend get-away as it is half way for both of us from where we live. We had stayed here before when our Mom was in the hospital in town and found it quite adequate and clean. What a difference a year can make.
The room wasn't terrible but not squeaky clean. There was no regular coffee for the coffee pot and stale coffee still in the pot. The toilet would run for 10 to 15 seconds every so often, which would have been annoying if we hadn't had ear plugs.
The halls are not very well lit at all, almost dingy.
What clinched it for us was that we couldn't get the wireless to work after 45 min. of trying. We used the computer in the lobby but they have annoying parental restrictions requiring a password for sites that shouldn't be restricted. Also, the staff used the lobby and breakfast area for their living room, ate pizza and talked very loudly in another language. It was very unprofessional and annoying. Certainly not what you would expect to see when you come in to the lobby. Glad we had a 2nd floor room.
The breakfast was minimal and there seemed to be no one checking on things to replenish. Ended up with a bowl of cereal and some OJ.
There was rarely anyone actually at the front desk whenever we went by or called.
It just could have been so much better for $68. We will stay elsewhere next trip.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    28
    20
    8
See reviews for
23
13
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mason City, IA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

The other reviews are very accurate of my experience, too, however I would like to add that this Days Inn is very pet friendly. I have stayed there several times with my dog- she is a breed that has been discriminated against due to poor owner behavior- and we were welcomed by both staff and other guests.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Just returned from Mason City the room was ok for the price paid $39 but would not pay anymore, cleanliness of the room was fine but the front desk was a shambles as the managment team do not seem to communicate that well with their staff.On arrival we found the receptionist lounging around and was not that welcoming....................
The breakfest selection was very poor and very seldom replemished, would only stay here again if stranded.
The managment team reaaly need to wake up and smell the Coffee !!!!!!.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

I have stayed at this property only once, but for a 7 day stay when my truck broke down and I got stranded in Go' Ole' Mason City. I tried to get a room at the Super 8, however they were full. This Day's Inn is OK. It was not as clean as some others I have stayed at in the past. Very quiet though, breakfast was adquate. Free WiFi which worked excellantly was a big plus for the price. They also had a computer avilable in the lobby. The night staff was very VERY nice, the day staff I could hardly understand when they spoke. No amentites, but good for the price. Rooms are very tiny, good for one person. Safe location as well.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMaha, NE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

I used the Entertainment book to make this reservation on my drive home - small hotel with no frills - front desk lady was polite and courteous -

No pool - no business center - had to get instructions to reset the TV to get all of the channels, but then it worked - okay room - king bed and recliner chair - small bathroom, but okay - surprisingly nice fluffy towels - good price at $52.00

Breakfast was basic, but neat and stocked which is more than I can say for some higher priced hotels I have stayed in recently -

free newspaper in the morning too was a nice surprise - this hotel is in the downtown area of Mason City, and somewhat quiet except for some of the drivers in the next door fast food restaurant -

I would stay here again, if I just needed to sleep

  • Liked — easy to find
  • Disliked — computer not working in business center
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a room in the front of the hotel, not facing the back and restaurant area
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Mason City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Mason City

Address: 2301 4th Street SW, Mason City, IA 50401
Location: United States > Iowa > Mason City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Mason City 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Mason City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mason City Days Inn
Days Inn Mason City Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Mason City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.