We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New to Town--Hope It is Here to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pasta Bella

Pasta Bella
1303 S Federal Ave, Mason City, IA 50401
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 76 Restaurants in Mason City
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Mason City, Iowa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“New to Town--Hope It is Here to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I recently had out of state friends come in for a quick overnight visit and since I had been wanting to visit Pasta Bella ever since it opened it seemed like the perfect opportunity to try it. We arrived around 5:30 on a Sunday evening to a filled parking lot but were able to be seated promptly. Our waitress was busy but another waitress took our drink orders quickly and we were well on our way to deciding our selections from the massive menu.
The bread was served piping hot with a lovely side of fragrant and flavorful dipping oil---the mix of garlic, herbs and parmesan was delightful and my friends could not stop talking about how good it was.
My entree was massive ---I selected the Pasta Combo with lasagna, manicotti, cannelloni, ziti and torellini baked with marinara sauce and covered in mozzarella. It was serving steaming hot and afforded me plenty of leftovers for the next day.
Service was good---the right mix of attentiveness but not overly so. Our food came out as soon as it was ready by a server other than our waitress which always makes me feel good because it means it does not sit around waiting for the waitress to be freed up to serve it.
By the time we left the place was still very busy but the wait staff seemed to be able to keep up with the pace.
The only suggestion is that the check out was a little backed up and slow and the location of the cashier stand is a little too close to the door to allow the flow of customers in and out----other than that the atmosphere was very gracious and polite and I will definitely be back. My guests loved it and were amazed at the portion sizes and the attention to each customer having a great experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Me and my husband went for dinner after seeing his sister. They have tons of choices and the food was delicious. The prices were in the middle but you get your money's worth!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Night out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

All the food is homemade and not out of a jar. The sausage was awesome and would for sure order again. Chicken Alfredo, yummy. Rolls on the table were delicious. Only disappointment was the tiny salad.
Anxious to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mills, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Pasta Bella was amazing, they have a huge menu consisting of pasta, chicken, steak, baked subs, seafood, and pizza. Their homemade bread with garlic oil dipping sauce was delicious. I ordered the carbonara, and my friend ordered the fettuccine. Two thumbs up for both dishes. The dinner salad is a little small and nothing special. The wait staff was attentive, sometimes I felt like they were rushing us to leave. They were very busy. The owner asked how everything was. I do think they need some decor updates. I will definitely be back soon. So many other things to try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best in town for Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Another restaurant in town has my pick for best pizza but for pasta dishes this place can't be beat. Many items on the menu and portions are large. Complimentary bread is amazing and I try not to eat too much of it or else I am so full I can't eat my entree. Service has been very good with waitresses helping each other if they are busy.

Seen the owner/manager(?) stopping by tables and asking how things were. I would give it an extra dot just because of this, makes a good impression.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta Bella also viewed

 

Been to Pasta Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasta Bella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.