We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charles H. MacNider Art Museum

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Charles H. MacNider Art Museum
303 2nd St. SE, Mason City, IA 50401
(641) 421-3666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 attractions in Mason City
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Mount Vernon, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Wonderful & FREE museum. It was fun to see the puppets from the Sounds of Music. My husband enjoyed the blue foam tinker toys.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I live in NYC and even this museum impressed me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was born in Mason City but moved away as a child and now live in NYC where I am exposed to art and culture galore. I recently visited my birthplace and was completely shocked at what a gem this museum is. For those of you not expecting much art in a place like Mason City, you will be very pleasantly surprised. There is a surprising diversity of works here, and even the building is fascinating, set in idealic grounds with nearby parks and a river. Well worth a visit!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great for the whole family. Can feel the creative vibes just walking by. My favorite part was the dress-up clothes for the children to dress up like the people in the paintings. My daughter also the loved the hand puppets, while I enjoyed the photography.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eclectic Collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A nice museum for a city this size. It's free to stroll through the galleries. There is a beautiful gallery on the back side that looks into the green space along the creek. It was a good stop for a cool summer afteroon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, IA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“More than the puppets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We went to the MacNider Museum to see the Sound of Music puppets, but we were pleasantly surprised to find so much more to enjoy! Lots of great art from different periods and in different media, especially considering the small size. Of course, the Bil Baird puppets are an amazing walk down memory lane. Don't miss this gem!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles H. MacNider Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Charles H. MacNider Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles H. MacNider Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Charles H. MacNider Art Museum to your Saves list