We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Gem On the Plains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Park Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Historic Park Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Park Inn Hotel
15 West State St, Mason City, IA 50401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
St. Louis MO
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Quirky Gem On the Plains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was with a group of Frank Lloyd Wright enthusiasts who took a bus trip through Iowa recently. We spent two nights at the Historic Park Inn, in Mason City. Words of advise if you have any interest in architecture: don't miss this gem! This hotel was lovingly restored at a cost of $20 million and it can not be missed. Great rooms, excellent restaurant and if you're interested, great docents to take you through the property. Although located in rural Iowa, you can also visit the Stockmann house nearby and other fine architectural properties in the area. Although a bit pricey, the Park Inn can not and should not be missed by any architecture enthusiast. The staff is knowledgeable and the amenties are top notch.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the town square/park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
136
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at this historic inn and very much enjoyed it. Definitely a different feeling from standard chain. Small and friendly. If you're ever in Mason City I would highly recommend it. Nice bar and cozy restaurant. Had a Saturday music fest next door.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The other reviews pretty much say it all, this hotel is a an excellent overall experience. I have traveled all over the world, staying in 4 and 5 star hotels and this one ranks at or near the top of my list. The check in experience, concierge services, room, and amenities are all world class. Add in the historic appeal of the building and you have a one of a kind experience. Rates are very reasonable. There are also several restaurants and bars close by, however, I would not recommend the restaurant in the hotel. I will definitely stay here again if I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a 2 night stay at this magnificent hotel. Our room was perfect and the service was top notch. We were thrilled throughout our stay and we were contacted while on our drive back home (Chicago) that we had left our Ipad behind. They not only kept it for safe keeping but mailed it out immediatly!!! We were so grateful for their honesty and true dedication to their guests!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is amazing!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were on an 8 day vacation traveling around to Frank Lloyd Wright properties and began with 2 nights at this lovely and lovingly restored inn. The restoration was done in a historic style while adding modern function and conveniences and we really appreciated that decision. We stayed in an expanded king which was very, very nice, though we would have preferred a room with 2 beds and the hotel does not have much to offer in that regard. Be sure to take the tour of the hotel as that greatly added to our enjoyment of the stay. The included continental breakfast was good and served in a wonderful area of the hotel. Both the hotel restaurant and the downstairs bar are excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Mason City, like many Midwest towns struggles to become a destination, especially with Clear Lake so near. The Historic Park Inn gives Mason City relevancy and a reason to come to Mason City. I attended a meeting there last week. As the only remaining hotel designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, the hotel is a jewel and worth staying for an event. The staff is incredibly friendly and willing to help. I would encourage the banquet department to continue building on presentation but the food itself was excellent. The hotel is filled with history and truly offers Mason City something to be proud of!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmesville, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stopped here on way back from Badlands / Blackhills trip , This is a Beautifully restored Icon of a Hotel , Frontdesk staff was great , very enthusiastic about Hotel , room was small but very comfortable ,very clean , great bed & nice bath , was there on Monday so restaurant was closed but good food within short walk.

Room Tip: I dont' think there is a bad room in the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Park Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Park Inn Hotel

Address: 15 West State St, Mason City, IA 50401
Location: United States > Iowa > Mason City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Park Inn Hotel, together with City National Bank, of Mason City Iowa were designed by American architect Frank Lloyd Wright as a dual purpose building and completed in 1910. The design greatly influenced architecture in Europe and is as striking today as it ever was. The Park Inn Hotel is the last Wright designed hotel in the world, and has undergone a nearly 20 million renovation; the restoration of the distinctive brick and terra-cotta façade as well as art glass windows has restored the Prairie School building to a functional hotel. The interior, while renovated into a contemporary hotel, has public areas and guest rooms restored as closely to Wright's design as possible. Art glass and much else designed by Wright remains. Public area furnishings are period-style and include reproduction Robie House Lights, reproductions of the Mercury statues Richard Bock and Wright designed for the bank, and reproductions of the barrel chairs Wright designed for the bank directors' room. We invite you to come and stay with us in the center of the many area attractions Mason City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Historic Park Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Park Hotel Mason City
Historic Park Inn Hotel Mason City, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Park Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.