We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Decker House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Decker House to your Saves list
The Decker House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   119 Second Street SE, Mason City, IA 50401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Mason City B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The Decker House is wonderful. The co-owners are a mother/daughter duo who made our stay feel like staying with an old friend. We were greeted upon our arrival with a warm welcome and a warm plate of cookies. We payed for a single room but when we arrived, had the choice to upgrade to a slightly larger room and bed with no additional charge. In the morning, there was a fresh pot of dark coffee and a lavish home-made breakfast. It's a few miles off of the 1-90 but well worth the extra 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maxwell, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our family arrived from different locations for an extended family reunion in Mason City. We rented the entire B&B to accommodate outs, our children and their families who includensix kids ranging fom one to fifteen years old. Sally and Sophie we're relaxed and flexible with our large group needs. The B&B is big, the rooms are very nice, and we really benefitted from a large common area to gather when we were there. And the large porch was a great place to relax. The location is very nice and within a block of the McNeider Museum, library, foot bridge and mall. Breakfast was delicious. Thanks to both Sally and Sophie!

Room Tip: Don't choose the Magnolia Room if you can't handle stairs. It is an extra level of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stopped in Mason City overnight and stayed at the Decker House. It's a nice place and we discovered after we arrived that we were in the same room that Hillary and Bill Clinton had four years ago when she was running for president. That was a neat bonus. The Decker House is near many of the sites of Mason City including Music Man Square and a lovely art museum as well as many prairie style homes. We received a great recommendation for dinner as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

A crucial component of any B&B is the owner - Sally was wonderfully welcoming (considering we were last minute guests). The Decker House is very clean and well appointed. Location is excellent as you are close to the most notable attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My sister and I flew in to Mason City to attend family festivities. Not wanting us to be underfoot, my brother "put us up" at The Decker House. What a great idea. Service with a smile, worked around our schedule and we simply made ourselves at home. It happened to be Band Festival that same weekend. They reserved seating for everyone along the parade route, walked them down and even supplied umbrellas in case of rain! We were going to Church Sunday when breakfast was to be served. They waited and served the two of us and a guest when we arrived back later that morning! We made ourselves at home by having an ongoing card game at the dining room table the whole week-end. Serve yourself a beer and just leave a note....I love the honor system...We were in Iowa! The place was very clean, plenty of towels and any amenities we needed were provided. I loved that it is a family run business. Sally, Sophie and Tom were so sweet! We really did feel at home. Someone asked the price of the room. We answered, according to my brother and us, "Priceless!"

Room Tip: We loved the Rose Room with the separate vanity area and private bath as there were two ladies getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I had to fly back to the Mason City area on the spur of the moment for a funeral. It was a very sad occasion, and from start to finish Sally and Sophie were understanding, flexible, and wonderfully accommodating. At first it was just me at the inn, then a friend from high school joined me, and then her mother joined us after coming for breakfast. We couldn't have asked for a more peaceful and comfortable retreat during a difficult time. The inn itself is spotless and decorated with fantastic period antiques--not your typical hodge-podge of banged up yard sale pieces from various eras, by a long shot. I stayed in the Rose Room and appreciated being able to open onto an adjoining deck, as I'm a fresh air freak. The beds in all three rooms were very comfortable. Sophie and Sally managed to make us feel totally welcome while letting us have space to grieve and laugh. A heartfelt thank you to them for giving us a haven and rolling with all of our changes--we will definitely be spreading the word about this fantastic inn.

Room Tip: Choose the Rose Room for a private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deephaven
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Decker House in Mason City Iowa provides a great B&B experience conviently located near downtown Mason City. Walking distance to good food, shops, and historic attractions was expecially nice. The hosts of Sally and Sophie provide a warm, inviting, experience; everything you would expect from a B&B. The historic home is very comfortable with many rooms to choose from. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mason City.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the unique back stairs entry to the 3rd floor suite is uniquely different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Decker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Decker House

Address: 119 Second Street SE, Mason City, IA 50401
Location: United States > Iowa > Mason City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mason City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Decker House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the grand elegance of The Decker House, a beautiful 1890's home restored to its original splendor. The Decker House is located in the heart of the historic district in downtown Mason City. There are five bedrooms with private baths, including an accessible room on the main floor and a private suite with a Jacuzzi bath on the third. Rates, between $89 and $175 a night, include a never ending cookie jar and delicious, homemade breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Decker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Decker House Mason City, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Decker House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.