We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 West Iowa Avenue, Marshalltown, IA 50158   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Marshalltown
Chicago, United States
1 review
“Weekend Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice but nothing out of the ordinary. It is modern and kept extremely clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to complete a review regarding your stay with us. Providing you with a clean and hospitable environment is our main priority and goal. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    32
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
10
5
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

First time staying at Hampton. Surprised by the cleanliness and quality of the furnishings. Wife and two kids stayed one night in a room with two queens for 8 year old's baseball tournament. Pool l deck was large with plenty of tables and chairs for adults to sit around and watch the kids. Pool and fitness center was clean. Spacious bathroom. Decent shower head. Break was your typical free breakfast. They had bacon and you could make your own waffles. Check in was less than a minute. The kids had a great time. I hope other Hamptons are as good as this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for completing a review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you and your family had a great experience while you were here. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and we appreciate all the comments you made about the ammenities that we offer to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was there on a business trip in Marshalltown and enjoyed the stay. All the staff was welcoming and friendly. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The fitness center offerred several cardiovascular machines and some free weights. The free breakfast had plenty of options to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay with us. I appreciate the kind words. It is our goal to have every guest leave feeling the way you did. We look forward to your next visit wtih us here in Marshalltown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was necessary for us to be in the area overnight. We were happy to learn of a newly built Hampton Inn in Marshalltown, because we knew that it would be very clean, well built, well managed, comfortable, and provide the extras that even more expensive hotels omit. At just over one hundred dollars it stretched our budget, but we were glad we stayed there. Road access and signage are yet to be completed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I really appreciate it. We have a lot of pride in our beautiful hotel and I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My family & I stayed here for the YMCA State Swimming Championships. The hotel appeared to be a choice for swimmers and their families, so the place was PACKED.

The room was perfect - big soft beds, large shower with good water pressure, decent size TV with plenty of cable choices, free WiFi. Everyone slept well and the room was large enough to feel we were not right on top of each other - though we were obviously close to each other.

Breakfast in the morning was continental, including makes-your-own waffles, a variety of breads (English muffins, bagels, toast, muffins), fruit and cereal, and your normal juice variety. The breakfast eating area is large, but with the hotel full, the breakfast area was pretty tight as well.

A pool, hot tub and workout room also are available to provide some stress relief. With a hotel full of swimmers, the pool was a hot commodity but they seemed to handle the load well, rotating towels and cleaning garbage quickly.

Only two criticisms: the entrance road was not easy to find and kind of dark on entrance (addressed in an earlier response) and there was a lot of hallway noise. That is to be expected with a hundred kids under the age of 12 running the halls, full of energy. In a normal weekend it probably would not have been noticable, but you'll wake up when there's seven pre-teen boys playing tag outside your door.

All in all we were very happy with our stay and plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Ask for the backside of the hotel. We faced the parking lot, and the light was very bright all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to complete the review. We value your comments and use them to improve our service to you. I am currently working with the city of Marshalltown to improve the quality of entrance to our property. I hope in the near future to have a permanent sign that will be more visible to our guests. We look forward to your visit next year during the State Swimming Championships.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

broken furniture, missing DirecTV channels (and all were snowy/noisy/bad picture), poor heating, dirty pool and pool area, nasty and cheap breakfast food, and staff that would rather buy you off with an excuse and a gift card than fix the problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor, a clean room, on the backside of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologize for the experiences that you have listed. Our goal is always give you a safe and clean experience when you visit our property. We recently upgrade our Direct TV line up and added more HD channels for our guests enjoyment. I have forwarded your comments regarding the TV and the heating unit to our maintenance department so they can investigate the issues that you have mentioned. I appreciate you bringing them to our attention. I do hope you will allow us another oppotrutnity on your next visit to Marshalltown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and well stocked. Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool was a decent size and heated (very important in iowa in january). The fitness room was exceptional for a hotel...free weight dumbells, kettle bells, plus the usual tread mills and ellipticals. Equipment was newer and clean. Room door was a little noisy to shut, and the business center printer was on the fritz, but I have no complaints. The desk clerk let me print out my documents on his terminal. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay with us. All feedback is valued and used to give our guests the best possible experience while they are with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown

Address: 20 West Iowa Avenue, Marshalltown, IA 50158
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Marshalltown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Marshalltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Marshalltown
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.