We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the savings” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Marion/Cedar Rapids

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Marion/Cedar Rapids to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Marion/Cedar Rapids
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Dyer Ave, Marion, IA 52302   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marion
Fulton, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not worth the savings”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I would have to agree with most of the other reviews. The room was dirty including the bedspread stained, gross bathroom, and the smell was very musty. The front desk was not accomodating, either. Daylight could not come soon enough so we could be on our way. We would not have stayed at this hotel if it would not have been booked by the association we were working for prior to our arrival.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionMicrotel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Marion/Cedar Rapids, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
We take every guests complaint into careful consideration. It is our job to ensure every guests stay is as pleasant as possible. We are currently renovating and we have some renovated rooms open. As for the guests who would like to save money, we are offering the rooms that have not been renovated at a discounted rate. We go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a positive experience and one technique we use: offering guests the option of an older room to save money, if one is still available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    40
    42
    28
    18
See reviews for
73
28
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WIsconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

I think you will find that "dirty" is a theme running through these reviews and this one is no different. The entire hotel was filthy from the elevator to the stairways and the rooms. The walls are cracking and there a big holes in the outside wall. I brought a package of Clorox wipes with just to do door knobs and stuff, but I ended up re cleaning the whole room. We stayed there because of proximity to our daughter's house and didn't have to spend much time there. Otherwise we would have walked out disgusted. The night clerk was a dude with a baseball cap on hiding in the back room. The "breakfast" was all pre-packaged, high sugar crap.No trays. No covers for the coffee cups. No fresh fruit. No fresh anything. If you need to stay near Marion, IA, try the Quality Inn on the north side of of Cedar Rapids, or the Best Western Longbranch. These are not top of the line either, but so much better than this Microtel. Wyndham should be ashamed of itself for holding on to this property.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

I concur with the above 2 reviews about laundry room, thin walls, dirty walls, etc. My experiences also. Also:

The security latch on door was broken. The vent in the bathroom was very dirty. There was dirt in all corners. The air conditioner vent was filthy - think of the germs it was blowing out. Although a smoke-free room, cigarette smoke was in the room and definitely in the hallway of the smoke-free rooms. The walls looked like liquids had been repeatedly thrown on it. Most pillows did not have pillow protector and were dirty and stained. The old polyester bedspread felt sticky; I removed it too see a STAINED bare box spring mattress. The walls were paper thin and I had to report the cursing, yelling, screaming, and wall bounding from the next room to the front desk - which did seem to help the problem - Thank you. You get what you pay for. Call me when those nice beds with nice linens on them come in that you advertised on your website. Microtel is simplistic, no frills, I expected that. I won't complain about that. It is the lack of cleanliness!! I did not have housekeeping come in...I did not trust anyone who would work there. I couldn't even bare to look at the breakfast area, let alone eat there.

  • Liked — close to WalMart, restaurants
  • Disliked — dirt, filth, trucks parked in driveway could barely get through,
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We just returned from the microtel in Marion. We were shocked by the "quality" of service. First of all, our door was broken, so the staff had to come "jimmy" the door to get it open when we wanted to get in. Then the housekeeper was so rude and she kept trying to get out of cleaning our room! She was so rude that she made us feel like we were an imposition! Every time we walked down the hall, the housekeeping door was open and you could see cases and cases of beer. Some empty and some full. Is that why she didn't want to clean our room? She wanted to get back to her partying?? And the best part was that there was actually a tip envelop in the room for the housekeeper!! Ha!Ha!We left without commenting because we didn't want to make a scene. A few minutes down the road, my husband and I discovered that his wallet was missing. He had left it on the dresser and thought I had picked it up. Nope, I hadn't. We called the hotel and, of course, "it's not there" I wonder if that's how our housekeeper and her fellow staff members pay for all that beer?

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionMicrotel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Marion/Cedar Rapids, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
We here at Microtel apologize for any inconvenience you may have had while staying with us. As for the cases of beer, We are a hotel. We have many guests who may choose to leave behind cans. What you saw was cases full of empty cans that will be recycled. If the staff had to "jimmy" your door, we apologize. What happens is when the doors slam shut, sometimes the security latch will flip over and lock. We have a special tool to fix this common problem within any hotel. If any of the other accusations are true, I encourage you to contact me with your complaints. We strive to keep each and every guest happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

It's a Microtel! If you've stayed at one before, you know what that means: basic, small room, cheap rates, free breakfast / internet / long distance calls, etc.

The downside of Microtels is that they don't carefully screen their franchisees for customer service. Fortunately, this one has desk clerks who are friendly and helpful.

The hotel was spotless, and the location is easily accessible to everything, though it is in the middle of nowhere.

Given that there's little else to do, the local cable system is really impressive. I didn't know there was a Corn News Network. (OK, there's no corn news, but you get an insane number of channels.)

Book online or get the corporate rate to save a chunk of money...

  • Liked — Staff, low rates, clean rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing nearby
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

This hotel was absolutely terrible! There was food on the carpet, which was covered with ants. The bedspread and chair were stained. The walls were paper thin, and we could hear the people next to us at night and in the morning very clearly. The walls were also dirty with fingerprints and grime. The hotel does not provide shampoo. The hotel does provide a mediocre breakfast, but does not provide enought seating to enjoy it. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dundee, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

Absolutely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Avoid it at all costs. The first room had cigarette burn holes in the blankets, which the front desk responded with "Well, Miss, some of our guests DO smoke." There was a huge stain on the bedspread and coffee or cola splash/ stains on the walls. They do not provide shampoo in the room, but the front desk "has a bottle behind the counter if we need it. Just stop by and get it." When we changed rooms, they wouldn't bring the luggage cart up to help with the bags, but "we could come get it ourselves." The second day of our stay, we returned from a long, hot, hard day to find room was not completely cleaned! As if the maid began the room, got called away and forgot to finish it. The person at the front desk said, they "would let housekeeping know" and gave me a garbage bag for the trash! Also, when you walk in, they leave the laundry room/housekeeping door open ALL THE TIME so you get to see sacks of dirty laundry, clean laundry on a big table waiting to be folded and the washers and dryers going. They NEVER close the door. No one there takes pride in the place and has no desire to be pleasant; very unhelpful, very low end, just terrible.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — The "we don't care about your concerns or comfort" attitude.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Marion/Cedar Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Marion/Cedar Rapids

Address: 5500 Dyer Ave, Marion, IA 52302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Marion/Cedar Rapids 1.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at Microtel Inn & Suites in Marion. We offer accommodations and ratings for weddings and groups! Long term rates available weekly, monthly guests! We have standard and premium rooms available. We know you'll enjoy the warm and welcoming staff at Microtel in Marion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Marion/Cedar Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Marion Hotel Marion
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Marion/Cedar Rapids Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Marion/Cedar Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.