We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get away with Style!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Decker Hotel 1875

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maquoketa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Decker Hotel 1875
Save
You added Decker Hotel 1875 to your Saves list
128 North Main Street, Maquoketa, IA 52060 (Formerly Decker House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maquoketa
Des Moines Iowa
1 review
“Great Get away with Style!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

The Decker house has a charm all in itself I enjoyed talking to the owners and even met one of their children. The hospitality is warm and friendly. I ate in the resturaunt and had a few drinks down in the pub.
I would stay in the comfortable, cozy rooms again. There clean and quiet.
If your looking for something unique and different and not to far to dine, rest, and have a few drinks, along with relaxation,and shops near bye you should stay here!
The food is excellent, with very good waitstaff and cooks!!
Thanks for the Great weeknd!

  • Liked — People and friendly attmosphere, you feel as if you belong
  • Disliked — Could not stay longer than I had time too
  • Tips/Secrets — Relax enjoy the small town theme and the wonderful people
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carol Stream
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

It is a one of a kind experience!!!! I actually loved it !!!! it is antique and old!!!! But after the remodelling it looks new!!! But I have this thought in my head that this property might be haunted!!! It looks old and haunted!!!! I was actually scared to stay there at first but then I loved it!!!!

  • Liked — creepiness and antiques
  • Disliked — it was perfect
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2006

My wife and I love to get to small getaways about once a quarter. We heard from some friends that a nice weekend was spent at the Decker Hotel. This weekend was one of a kind. The atmosphere is wonderful. I saw pictures that the owners had before they fixed the place up. They did a wonderful job and very classy. My meal was excellent. Food and second-to-none service. We went downstairs to a bar for a night cap and my wife and I had a wonderful night together. Kudos to the Decker.

Travlers from Wisconsin

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pekin IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2005

My wife and I, along with another couple, stayed at the Decker House Hotel the weekend of October 15-16. As it was the 2nd stay for all four of us, we knew what to expect:great service, fun bar, beautiful rooms, all at reasonable prices. The hotel was full, so we had to get the smaller rooms, which were fine. The only drawback was a tiny shower. Other than that minor problem, the stay was great. The place was busy, so we didn't eat there, had dinner in town at The Loft, which is to be avoided at all costs. We wish we had waited to eat in the Decker restaurant like we had on the previous trip. We love this hotel, with the beautiful renovations, and the warmth the staff shows the patrons. We'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

good place to spend halloween. I was visiting a friend and I think my room was haunted. I got an eerie feeling and then later that night my electricity went out and I had to switch rooms. It was quite riviting, but I felt very welcome by the people there...that were alive.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2005

We were excited to eat at Decker House Hotel Restaurant after hearing great things but so truly disappointed! The hostess was clueless as to where to seat us. The waitress "disappeared" for a long, long time and we wondered if she would ever come back to even take our orders. The menu selection was very limited. The food was over cooked and cold - the vegetables looked like left-overs warmed up from four days ago! Yuck! To top it off, we woke up at 3am with horrible stomach cramps. Will never, ever eat there again!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeq1948, Owner at Decker Hotel 1875, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear traveler, I apologize for your last visit to the Decker. My brother and I bought the Hotel in February of 2013. We invite you to come back and experience our quality food, accommodations and friendly and professional staff. We are now approaching our first year and have acquired quite a few great reviews. Come back and give us a try. Look me up or mention this response to my staff and I will give you a nights stay in one of our beautiful rooms. I will also discount your meal just to show you that you are important to us. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you for your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2005

My wife and I spent a weekend there in feb. of 2004 to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary. We felt that the care that the staff gives is more like coming home than being away. We already have a room reserved for this feb. 2005 to celebrate year 3.

Thanks Decker House

Lingle Family Clinton Iowa

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Decker Hotel 1875? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decker Hotel 1875

Address: 128 North Main Street, Maquoketa, IA 52060 (Formerly Decker House Hotel)
Location: United States > Iowa > Maquoketa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maquoketa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Italianate structure built in 1875 by James Decker. Beautiful woodwork from the era with full service restaurant, lounge located on site. Beautifully decorated rooms filled with antiques, modern bathrooms and individually controlled heating and cooling. Attractions nearby are the Maquoketa Caves national park, art museum, nature center and beautiful unique shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Decker Hotel Maquoketa
Decker Hotel 1875 Maquoketa, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Decker Hotel 1875, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.