We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family holidays..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiani Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kiani Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kiani Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chania, Kalami, Kalyves Village | Crete, Kalami, Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalami
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice family holidays..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had our first ever "all-inclusive" family vacation this summer at Kiani Beach Resort.

We have two kids aged 7 and 3 and we looked for a place that would combine some kids entertainment, easy beach access and safety. Kiani offers all that and more. The location is very quiet and all you hear at night is the sounds of nature. A sea view room is highly recommended though the mountain views are actually not bad at all. The two swimming pools (swimming pool and a kiddy pool) were very clean and conveniently sized to be able to monitor the kids without being with them all the time. The grounds of the hotel are perfectly sized so that parents can pretty much keep an eye on their kids wherever they are. The animation team was very friendly and managed to get kids and adults involved. They do face paintings, tshirt paintings, games etc. Some advertised activities not part of the animation team (like the donkey ride) were not that exciting and should be organized/set up better. The lifeguard/donkey walker/security/water sports/sunbeds and umbrellas guy was very friendly but had way too many roles and it would have been much better to have him as a full time lifeguard on duty. The evening entertainment was average other than the fantastic bellydancers who are probably the best anyone will ever see. The magician was good also. The fakir/fire show was just awful and should absolutely be dropped. The two "dudes" who showed up looked totally disorganized (a bit stoned maybe) and seemed like they just decided that night to do a "fakir show". The show is unfit for kids and too lame for adults.
Our main complaint would be the complete shut down of the sea side bar every night at 11 pm with no other options available. The lobby/lounge bar was never operated and adults had no other entertainment options on site. The seaside kiosk was always understaffed and one had to always stand in long lines to get a drink. Drinking water coolers/fountains should be available around the pool area for people/kids to get water instead of standing in line even for water. Snacks and ice creams offered pretty much throughout the day are quite good keeping the kids happy.

Food was good and the selection was very good daily. I believe that Kiani should look into upgrading the dinner part a bit with better selection and making it more of an event. Having some variety on breakfast could also be a plus while one would expect a 5-star hotel to have at least better coffee and maybe a chef making omelettes!

Overall a good value for money and very good for relaxed family holidays. A bit far from Chania but close to Almyrida which is a nice location with nice restaurants and a nice beach good for the kids. It is helpful to rent a car but be aware that driving around Crete is tiring.

Kiani is a bit of a let down for a 5 star resort but it would be great as a 4 star! They should either up their services some or drop a star. Some water sports would also be a very good addition. We would probably go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.We particularly thank-you for your many positive comments regarding our buffet, location, services, entertainment, cleanliness and sea-view rooms. We are glad to hear that you relaxed and enjoyed so many aspects of our resort!

To address you your main complaint regarding the closing of our beach bar at 11pm. As a family orientated resort, our beach bar closes at that time each night in order to ensure that all guests are able to enjoy a quitter time of night as all sea facing rooms are in very close proximity to the bar.

We thank-you for the rest of your comments they have been taken into consideration.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    187
    57
    22
    18
See reviews for
354
150
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Me and my family visited your hotel between the 4:th and 11:th of july. If i start with the positive things:
The standard of the hotel is good. Your hotel is situated with a perfect location at the sea and beach. We really liked the service at the hotel and everyone makes the best to make the guests happy. The food was ok, in the beginning of our week we where a bit dissapointed because of the lack of meat- dishes.The familyroom is a bit small with very limited space to stove the bags, but it was ok.
Now the more negative things:
There is a lot of things to do to make this hotel a 4 or 5 star hotel. First of all: the Vip inclusive is very hard to understand. Why would you pay so much extras for nothing? The hamam is a steam sauna and nothing more. The free tenniscourt was really bad with broken rackets and balls that didnt bounce.
In the beach bar there was 2-3 persons working all the time, but unfortunately there was just 1 bartender serving with drinks most of the time. It should have been much bettet if you had self- service for all the customers who wanted sodas or beers. I cant understand wy we hade to stand in a que to have all inc water. It was Way over 30 degrees and a lot of kids that needed water or soft- drinks. Another thing when it comes to the Vip inclusive is the free 25 cl heineken beer. Wy wasnt there an alternative for the kids like a free can of ice Tea or Coke ? It's the same price for kids over 13 yrs, but not the same "benefits"? Or have i missed something?
We liked the breakfast and lunch but the dinner was a dissapointment. We think you have to make the dinner more special. With chefs cooking in the restaurant every night and not just on the greek night.
I have a lot more of tips how to make your hotel at least 4*+ so don't hesitate to contact me.
After all, we are satisfied with our visit at your hotel. There was a lot of activities for the children and it was clean and nice.
Best regards
Anders Wallin with family

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.
We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding our location, staff and service.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy our All-Inclusive program. All your comments have been taken into consideration, and all the amenities that our programs include are listed on our website. We are also sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy the evening meals at our buffet restaurant. Our chefs take great care and pride in preparing varied, fresh and wholesome meals throughout the day.

Thanks you for your feedback. With your feedback we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I did the right thing to choose Kiani Beach Resort for a 4 weeks getaway for my two kids and their grandmother. After several great summers in Turkey and Spain, their demands & expectations were pretty high. But their first phone call from Kiani on the arrival day was a big relief: "Everything is great! This place is a real gem!" Kiani team knows how to please their guests with impeccable service and true hospitality. Communication was instant and extremely friendly. Just tell them what you want and they'll spare no effort to keep you in caring hands. Even transfers from/to airport were a breeze. There are plenty of good choices on Crete but Kiani Beach Resort is truly special and the one you'll want to revisit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for all your positive comments regarding us a "gem" of a resort with "impeccable service"

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Kiani Beach Hotel was recommended to us by friends. They had been there twice before and praised the place, so our expectations were high. But the experience met the expectation. We were there for 11 days in June 2014.

If you love beautiful scenery, a quiet rhythm, good food, clean surroundings and a service-minded host the Kiani Beach is the place for you. At the pool water's edge it was tidy and safe play areas for all ages and a beach with lovely sand.

The evenings were the best. After sunset the hotel fell to serene rest. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere, where the only sound that broke the silence was the waves against the beach and cicadas in the rosetrees - the best place to be for those who want to escape nightclubs and disco all night.

I agree with those who mention that the kitchen could advantageously be bidding on more Greek food maybe as an addition and that the sofa beds was impossible for an adult body. The wireless network was slow, but worked.

Restaurant staff was efficient in their work and always charming. Likewise, reception staff. The staff at the beach bar worked hard to ensure that guests would thrive, but the youngest female waitress caused some irritation for bad manners by many from the time we arrived until we left. A trifle to reckon in the big picture.

The hotel had stylish architecture with a focus on high safety for children. Before any of the guests were awoken in the morning the common areas and swimming pools was cleaned daily.

Kiani Beach Hotel, dare I say has the world's nicest management that have the guests' needs as its top priority!

Family of five highly recommend the place!

Room Tip: Sea view if you like the morning sun, mountain view otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding the peacefulness of the resort when the sun goes down, the efficiency of our staff and management. We are glad to hear that you felt you received value for money services!

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests.We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at the hotel 8 nights in June. The Hotel was very nice and the rooms were clean. The staff were very friendly and it was lots of activities for kids and adults. The food was extremely boring. We had expected more greek and traditional food. We wondered everyday where the spices were. The wine was not good. The music in the restaurant was annoying and disturbing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort. We particularly thank-you for your kind words regarding our rooms We are sorry to hear you were not happy with our buffet selection. All produce used to create our dishes are locally farmed and fresh, delivered daily to our kitchen chefs. Our chefs take great care in the preparations of all meals to provide a varied diet.

We hope that on a future trip we will have the opportunity to meet all your expectations.

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The food was so bad we got sick from it. Absolutely not worth the money we spent. The location by the sea was ok but it was hard to appreciate when you were starving and sick due to the appalling all-inclusive food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We are very sorry to hear that you were ill on your recent vacation. If you were to highlight this to us at the reception desk, or if we were to know that your illness was caused out of any fault of our own through our buffet we would have taken action in order to assist you.

In the period of your stay, no instance's of illness were mentioned or recorded as a result of our buffet selection. All produce used to create all our dishes are locally farmed and fresh, delivered daily to our kitchen chefs. Our chefs take great care in the preparations of all meals, and more importantly in the hygiene of the kitchen area which is cleaned more than once a day.


Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for a week in June and had a great time. Perfect for relaxing and chilling by the pool. The food was delicious and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a couples only holiday this probably isn't the best hotel for you as it is a family hotel too.

Room Tip: definitely ask for a sea view room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding our buffet. We are glad to hear that you relaxed!

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests.We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kiani Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiani Beach Resort

Address: Chania, Kalami, Kalyves Village | Crete, Kalami, Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves > Kalami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kiani Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiani Beach Resort is a modern family resort situated directly on the award winning blue flag beach of Kiani Akti, just outside of Kalyves village in Chania.Bathe in the crystal clear waters of the Cretan sea, or relax by the large swimming pool, dotted with sun-beds and umbrellas where you can enjoy fresh beverages and snacks. With a chilled atmosphere and the sound of the sea waves in the background, surf on our free WiFi, or marvel at the idyllic scenery. The whole family is kept entertained at Kiani Beach Resort! Children can enjoy our animations programs and activities throughout the day, swim in the children’s pool or simply have fun in our games room and outdoor pirate’s ship! With their minds at ease parents can relax in the sun, or take part in numerous fitness and recreational activities such as volleyball, football, aqua gym, zumba, tennis, morning stretching sessions and our gym. Our location, paired with outstanding accommodation, facilities, daily programs, and Cretan cuisine at our “Symposium” buffet restaurant, make Kiani Beach Resort a class above the rest for an unforgettable fun filled summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Kiani Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiani Beach Hotel Chania Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiani Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.