We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to have chosen this wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiani Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kiani Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kiani Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chania, Kalami, Kalyves Village | Crete, Kalami, Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy to have chosen this wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I did the right thing to choose Kiani Beach Resort for a 4 weeks getaway for my two kids and their grandmother. After several great summers in Turkey and Spain, their demands & expectations were pretty high. But their first phone call from Kiani on the arrival day was a big relief: "Everything is great! This place is a real gem!" Kiani team knows how to please their guests with impeccable service and true hospitality. Communication was instant and extremely friendly. Just tell them what you want and they'll spare no effort to keep you in caring hands. Even transfers from/to airport were a breeze. There are plenty of good choices on Crete but Kiani Beach Resort is truly special and the one you'll want to revisit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for all your positive comments regarding us a "gem" of a resort with "impeccable service"

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    161
    47
    21
    15
See reviews for
306
117
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porsgrunn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Kiani Beach Hotel was recommended to us by friends. They had been there twice before and praised the place, so our expectations were high. But the experience met the expectation. We were there for 11 days in June 2014.

If you love beautiful scenery, a quiet rhythm, good food, clean surroundings and a service-minded host the Kiani Beach is the place for you. At the pool water's edge it was tidy and safe play areas for all ages and a beach with lovely sand.

The evenings were the best. After sunset the hotel fell to serene rest. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere, where the only sound that broke the silence was the waves against the beach and cicadas in the rosetrees - the best place to be for those who want to escape nightclubs and disco all night.

I agree with those who mention that the kitchen could advantageously be bidding on more Greek food maybe as an addition and that the sofa beds was impossible for an adult body. The wireless network was slow, but worked.

Restaurant staff was efficient in their work and always charming. Likewise, reception staff. The staff at the beach bar worked hard to ensure that guests would thrive, but the youngest female waitress caused some irritation for bad manners by many from the time we arrived until we left. A trifle to reckon in the big picture.

The hotel had stylish architecture with a focus on high safety for children. Before any of the guests were awoken in the morning the common areas and swimming pools was cleaned daily.

Kiani Beach Hotel, dare I say has the world's nicest management that have the guests' needs as its top priority!

Family of five highly recommend the place!

Room Tip: Sea view if you like the morning sun, mountain view otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding the peacefulness of the resort when the sun goes down, the efficiency of our staff and management. We are glad to hear that you felt you received value for money services!

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests.We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at the hotel 8 nights in June. The Hotel was very nice and the rooms were clean. The staff were very friendly and it was lots of activities for kids and adults. The food was extremely boring. We had expected more greek and traditional food. We wondered everyday where the spices were. The wine was not good. The music in the restaurant was annoying and disturbing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort. We particularly thank-you for your kind words regarding our rooms We are sorry to hear you were not happy with our buffet selection. All produce used to create our dishes are locally farmed and fresh, delivered daily to our kitchen chefs. Our chefs take great care in the preparations of all meals to provide a varied diet.

We hope that on a future trip we will have the opportunity to meet all your expectations.

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The food was so bad we got sick from it. Absolutely not worth the money we spent. The location by the sea was ok but it was hard to appreciate when you were starving and sick due to the appalling all-inclusive food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We are very sorry to hear that you were ill on your recent vacation. If you were to highlight this to us at the reception desk, or if we were to know that your illness was caused out of any fault of our own through our buffet we would have taken action in order to assist you.

In the period of your stay, no instance's of illness were mentioned or recorded as a result of our buffet selection. All produce used to create all our dishes are locally farmed and fresh, delivered daily to our kitchen chefs. Our chefs take great care in the preparations of all meals, and more importantly in the hygiene of the kitchen area which is cleaned more than once a day.


Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for a week in June and had a great time. Perfect for relaxing and chilling by the pool. The food was delicious and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a couples only holiday this probably isn't the best hotel for you as it is a family hotel too.

Room Tip: definitely ask for a sea view room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding our buffet. We are glad to hear that you relaxed!

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests.We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed for 10 days in June with our 4 year old daughter. We had a mezzanine room which was clean and comfortable and had a great sea view. The food was lovely lots of salads, a good selection of hot and cold foods, plenty of choice, my daughter ate her own body weight of ice cream. The all inclusive drinks were not quite upto premium brands but were plentiful and they certainly dont scrimp on the measures. The play area was a huge success with my daughter who I barely saw the whole 10 days, she had a great time and the best thing about this resort is that you can see the whole outside area so I could sunbath and keep on eye on my daughter at the same time. The animation team were great with the kids, face painting etc, but they leave the adults alone if you dont want to zumba! Although this hotel is slightly isolated the bus stops at the end of the road to go to Chania which has great shops and a lovely harbour/resturants. This hotel is great value for money, it may not be 4/5 stars as in uk, but then your not paying uk 4/5 star prices Would definitely go back, thanks guys keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding our facilities, outdoor area and buffet.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests.We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had the most wonderful week. Great hotel size, beautiful location.
Especially thanks to Kim from the animation team for making it a holiday to remember for both kids and adults. He made every evening full of joy and laughter and this was surely the highlight of the day. Hope to come back again soon.

Room Tip: Ground floor allowed the kids to run straight to the playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding our location and size. Your kind words have been passed onto Kim.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services and amenities in order to provide the best quality holiday experience for all our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiani Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiani Beach Resort

Address: Chania, Kalami, Kalyves Village | Crete, Kalami, Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves > Kalami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kiani Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiani Beach Resort is a modern family resort situated directly on the award winning blue flag beach of Kiani Akti, just outside of Kalyves village in Chania.Bathe in the crystal clear waters of the Cretan sea, or relax by the large swimming pool, dotted with sun-beds and umbrellas where you can enjoy fresh beverages and snacks. With a chilled atmosphere and the sound of the sea waves in the background, surf on our free WiFi, or marvel at the idyllic scenery. The whole family is kept entertained at Kiani Beach Resort! Children can enjoy our animations programs and activities throughout the day, swim in the children’s pool or simply have fun in our games room and outdoor pirate’s ship! With their minds at ease parents can relax in the sun, or take part in numerous fitness and recreational activities such as volleyball, football, aqua gym, zumba, tennis, morning stretching sessions and our gym. Our location, paired with outstanding accommodation, facilities, daily programs, and Cretan cuisine at our “Symposium” buffet restaurant, make Kiani Beach Resort a class above the rest for an unforgettable fun filled summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kiani Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiani Beach Hotel Chania Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiani Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.