We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kiani beach resort is a beautiful Place with outstanding location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiani Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kiani Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kiani Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chania, Kalami, Kalyves Village | Crete, Kalami, Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Kiani beach resort is a beautiful Place with outstanding location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I love Kiani beach resort... Here are a few reasons, wonderful receptionists and beautiful location, brilliant buffet and last but not least a very warm welcome to this super hotel!

And the games room!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    167
    48
    21
    16
See reviews for
313
129
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Everything at the hotel was amazing, friendly staff, lovely people, lovely selection of food on the buffet, lots of various activities to do, never got bored! Lovely weather all round and just a fantastic place to stay with your family or friends or even by yourself!
Prish B

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a delightful stay at Kiani beach resort...we were made to feel extremely welcome by all thè lovely staff (managers included!)
The location was perfect as we got the best of both pool swimming as well as the warm Med sea.....it would be great if there was a beach BBQ maybe twice a week to be able to enjoy the proximity to the beach even more!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and 10 year old twins just returned home after spending 18 days in Crete. Our whole hotel stay was spent at the Kiani Beach Resort. The resort, in my opinion, is ideally located in the Chania region. It's location gives you the opportunity to venture out in many directions and visit many of the beautiful beaches and areas of Crete. Chania and Rethymnon cities are only 20 to 30 minute car drives away. Both are beautiful cities with great restaurants and shoping.The beach at the hotel is not representative of the many beautiful beaches on Crete. Beaches such as Marathi Beach, Elafonisi,and Stavros (to name a few) are a reasonable drive and well worth the time to get there. The hotel is also a reasonable drive to the towns and beaches on the south coast such as the Sfakia region which meant a beautiful but winding drive through the mountains to reach our destination. Once there you were able to camp out in the caves surrounding the beach and take dives off the clifts into the crystal clear waters. The only drawback to this beach was that it is very rocky and you need beach shoes .
The hotel staff was excellent and always ready to please. I agree with some of the other reviews that the food was a little repetitive but that is to be expected with such a long stay. My response to those reviews is that these people need to venture out and really experience the great Greek foods that were out there.My son has celiac disease and I have to say that the staff was ready and eager to help with his dietary restrictions. The front desk was always avaliable to answer our questions and help direct us on our many excursions.The maid staff was always accomodating and the bar and restaurant staff always cheerful and friendly. As for the kids staff(my kids did not participate beacuse they felt they were too old to be in the kids camp) my observation was that they were really good and friendly and had many activities for the children.
In such a good resort it is easy to fall into the trap of becoming so comfortable that you never leave the resort (which I observed with many of the guests). My only recommendation to future guests is that they make sure to venture out and experience Crete and not get caught up in this trap.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front desk level are in my opinion the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echenevex, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

we were 4 people , 2 adults and 2 kids 4 and 5 years) and we spent 10 days in all-inclusive at the Kiani Beach Hotel (mid August).

Overall, I was very happy by this hotel. The food is good and they try to vary the food every day for about 300 people. It is amazing to see that every day food was good and fresh with hot temperature mediocre. Every day you had at least a Greek food speciality. Morevover I apreciate a lot that peole in the restaurant in the area of the food place they always try to maintain it clean. So much appreciated this detail. Of course if you stay 10 days you have to accept that there were will be some repition. But having read some review I disagree with people critisise the "repetitive food". It really amazing good food ( fish, meal, salad etc) here and I am travelling a lot (> 50 travels / year) in 5 stars hotel through the world. The only improvement for the food would be the dessert offer. The breakfast is very good.

The 2 kids were happy with the animation Kiani organizes disco sessions for kids ( except Wednesday day off for the animation). As they are many people from Germany, Poland and Russia the music was in German but because it is vacation it is no a problem and open the mind of your kids. The pool bar is well located and will all inclusive you receive all soft drink and alcohol. There is the possibilty to also buy some specific drinks for the people who want to by a coca can. The pool bar closes at 11 pm.
There are 2 pools. One large for adult and one for kids ( max 20 cm) .The beach is just located to the garden area ( 75 m) and is 80% sandy and 20% some little stones.. It doesn't look anything like the photo on the website There's no service at the pool or at the beach. You need to go to the bar and stay in line. If you're in all inclusive you can only eat certain food at certain times in the morning and afternoon( swandwiches, small pizzzas, ice cream, cake..)
You're a 30-minute car ride from Chania and a five-to-ten-minute ride from Kalives. If you wish fulll sandy beac go to Kalives , 20 minutes along the beach)

The owner of the hotel is managing very well his hotel. He is present every day. Smooth and managing very effectively his staff.

You have also the opportunity to plan some visits and excursion to visit Creta. Very affordable and nice travel agency

So in conclusion , very nice hotel,, very nice view room, good fresh food.good services very good staff

Last comment to make your travel easy try to flight from Chania(30 minutes) better than Iraklion(90 minutes)

For family vacation with small kids I would recommed this hotel. My overall rate would be17/20

Room Tip: ask for a room at level 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Reviewing the Kiani Beach resort should be an easy process as on paper this place should tick all the boxes for a great family holiday. It promises all Inclusive 5 star accommodation with great reviews on trip adviser. But please read within the lines of these reviews as the Kiani disappoints in a number of areas.

To start on a positive, for Greece the accommodation was good. Trying to get accommodation of a reasonable standard for a family of five can be difficult at times. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment with three children (Aged 15,12 & 7) who need lots of space and although the rooms aren't massive we managed. The room had only one wardrobe and so most of our cloths were scattered around the place. Not really 5star rating but you're in Greece remember;-)

The all inclusive element was OK of sorts, the drinks list was limited and served in small glasses. The food got very repetitive after a few days, and it felt like it was put together with a tight budget, 3 star at best. The times for the restaurant were also strange as it closed at 9 o'clock, so no late dining. In fact the whole place was run by small time slots for food and drink, as kids ice creams were only available for a few hours during the day.

There was only one shift of staff all day which obviously results in them eager to close up and go home with the pool bar closing at 11 o'clock. After the entertainment finished at 10 o'clock the place was basically dead. There is a lovely bar at the end of the reception which was never used and when we did try and take some drinks up there, the lights were switched off on us to encourage us to move.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and I mean nowhere, no bars, restaurants or shops closeby. The nearest signs of live being at least in a good 40 minutes walk. And even then the closest village isn't worth a visit as everything is dead. So if your the type of person who gets stir-crazy not moving then your going to pull your hair out here. Taxes to the two local villages were expensive and car hire wasn't cheap either.

There is a lot of different nationalities here who tend to keep themselves to themselves with very few English. Although this did force us to talk to a few foreign families which turned out to be very interesting. The live guard was a gem and very friendly .The entrainment staff did try hard to entertain but the quality was just not there. Condoms and belly dancers aren't our idea of family entrainment.

The advertised wireless broadband facility was also useless, with an slow intermittent connection that only partially worked near the pool bar. There are two pool tables both without a complete set of balls and both missing the white balls. Bar football had only one ball, so made for a quick game for 50cents

If you just want to sit there all day in the sun and go to bed early then the Kiani Beach is for you. But if like us you have a demanding family who need constantly entertaining and you like to have a bit of atmosphere in the evenings then this place will disappoint.

Having said all these things, we met some great people and the kids made lots of new foreign friends and after a week we were sad to leave.

I've given this place three stars, one for the sun, sand and blue sky. One for the hotel and staff and a final star or the families who we were fortunate to meet. The poor location, quite evenings and low quality of food really let this place down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I spent one week in all-inclusive at the Kiani Beach Hotel (supposedly in La Canee) with my husband and two kids in August.
Overall, I was disappointed by this hotel. The food was mediocre and very repetitive and it was a pain to eat at the same canteen every single day. I wished there was another restaurant in the hotel. The breakfast was so bad we just skipped it and ate somewhere else.
The kids were happy with the animation but I thought it was lame compared with other similar family hotels. Kiani organizes disco sessions for kids but all the animators play is German music -- and not the best of German music. Nearly nothing was organized for the parents, apart from a bingo game on one night. The pool bar, which is the hotel's only bar closes at 11 p.m., after which there's nothing to do but go to sleep.
The hotel pool is way too small to accommodate all the guests and it gets crowded very fast; while the beach is extremely narrow and is not sandy. It doesn't look anything like the photo on the website
There's no service at the pool or at the beach. You need to go to the bar and stay in line. If you're in all inclusive you can only eat certain things at certain times for free (every morning it was the same: watermelon, tiny ham and cheese sandwiches and a sort of lemon cake). The sodas, orange juice and liquor served in all inclusive were so disgusting (bad quality, industrial) that I had to order regular drinks which I actually paid for.
Also, the hotel is not at all located in Chania (as promoted) but near Kalives. You're a 30-minute car ride from Chania and a five-to-ten-minute ride from Kalives. You absolutely need a car if you want to visit nice sandy beaches (in Kalives for instance) and eat good food. But when you pay an all-inclusive week in a 5 star hotel it's a shame to have to spend extra money on restaurants and a car rental.
The only positive things were the nice room with the sea view, and the staff which was for the most part lovely. But it's not enough to make the Kiani Beach a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiani Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiani Beach Resort

Address: Chania, Kalami, Kalyves Village | Crete, Kalami, Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves > Kalami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kiani Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiani Beach Resort is a modern family resort situated directly on the award winning blue flag beach of Kiani Akti, just outside of Kalyves village in Chania.Bathe in the crystal clear waters of the Cretan sea, or relax by the large swimming pool, dotted with sun-beds and umbrellas where you can enjoy fresh beverages and snacks. With a chilled atmosphere and the sound of the sea waves in the background, surf on our free WiFi, or marvel at the idyllic scenery. The whole family is kept entertained at Kiani Beach Resort! Children can enjoy our animations programs and activities throughout the day, swim in the children’s pool or simply have fun in our games room and outdoor pirate’s ship! With their minds at ease parents can relax in the sun, or take part in numerous fitness and recreational activities such as volleyball, football, aqua gym, zumba, tennis, morning stretching sessions and our gym. Our location, paired with outstanding accommodation, facilities, daily programs, and Cretan cuisine at our “Symposium” buffet restaurant, make Kiani Beach Resort a class above the rest for an unforgettable fun filled summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Kiani Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiani Beach Hotel Chania Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiani Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.