We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice place!-with a few minor exceptions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1285 Sleepy Eye Drive, Le Mars, IA 51031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Le Mars
Sioux City, IA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice place!-with a few minor exceptions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Courteous, friendly staff was definitely tops! Rooms were contemporary and clean. Common areas well-appointed. Pool/hot tub area clean and contemporary. A couple of things I noticed that were minor but worth noting: I had to wipe out the inside of the fridge (each room conveniently has its own fridge) before we could use it. A portion of the trim in the bathroom was missing. Wouldn't they replace that before selling that particular room? Also, as noted by a previous reviewer, the price was a bit steep: 99/night-115/night depending on the day of the week- but they are willing to work with you. This is definitely your best option BY FAR in LeMars, Iowa!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
6
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed here while attending a music festival in Le Mars the week before Labor Day. It is the largest hotel in town and appears to be the newest as well (less than 3 years old). Our nonsmoking king room was clean and comfortable with everything in good working order. The bathroom was exceptionally large, and the good shower pressure and stable temperature were appreciated.

This hotel is located on the extreme south edge of Le Mars. It is quite a ways from downtown, but much closer to Wal-Mart, a grocery store and numerous restaurants. The only eating option within walking distance was an Applebees-type bar and grill, which we did not try. Although the hotel is located on a 4-lane highway, it is set well back from the road, and traffic noise was never noticed.

The standard brand amenities are all there, including a free, full breakfast bar with good food and a great variety of hot and cold options. There is also a business center and a good-sized pool and hot tub. The staff were all efficient and friendly and cheerfully accommodated our early check-in and late check-out requests.

The hotel does not have a shuttle service, which to me is a significant lack considering its distance from the city's businesses and attractions. If you find yourself without a car, a taxi is your only other option. Also, the $95 a night +tax that we paid feels a bit steep for a small market, but I can understand paying a premium considering we were there on Labor Day weekend with a major event in town.

One other thing to note is that Le Mars is only 25 miles from Sioux City... so this hotel may be worth a look if Sioux City hotels are booked or their rates are too high.

Bottom line, a nice hotel and a decent value. Solve the transportation problem and they have the best place in town.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

New hotel that I would highly recommend if staying in the Le Mars area. Clean, modern rooms, with great breakfast area in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

What a gracious hotel! Staff at the desk and the dining room were so professional. Extremely clean...loved the easy internet access! A local caterer furnished a celebration meal...also lovely.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars

Address: 1285 Sleepy Eye Drive, Le Mars, IA 51031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Le Mars
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Le Mars
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Comfortably at our New Hotel in Le Mars, IA Enjoy a comfortable stay at our 100% non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Le Mars, Iowa, proudly located in 'The Ice Cream Capital of the World.' Your family will enjoy lodging at our newly built hotel in Le Mars, Iowa, as it provides access to several of Le Mars' best attractions, including the Blue Bunny Ice Cream Capital of the World Visitor Center and the Argosy Riverboat Casino. Sioux City, Iowa is just 30 minutes from our hotel, as well. With a vibrant night life and Iowa attractions, you are sure to find plenty to do in Le Mars. Along with being in close proximity to many Iowa attractions, our choice Le Mars hotel's location is situated near local businesses such as Wells Dairy Corporate, the Le Mars Convention Center, the Le Mars Family YMCA and the Floyd Valley Hospital. In addition to its central location, our Le Mars lodging offers a meeting room and business services featuring free high-speed, wireless Internet access. Unlike the disappointment business travelers may find at other Le Mars, IA, hotels, you will be impressed with the accommodations our Le Mars hotel provides, such as complimentary hot breakfast bar and Simply Smart bedding and bath collections. Come relax in our heated indoor pool or enjoy a book in our Great Room with a warm fireplace. Book your reservations today and enjoy our great Le Mars hotel's deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Le Mars
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars Hotel Le Mars
Holiday Inn Le Mars
Le Mars Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.