We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - forget about the sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Canal Shore Drive SW, Le Claire, IA 52753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Le Claire
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great location - forget about the sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It started out innocent enough. I asked if there were any rooms on the river side. The male clerk said, "Oh Gee, I just gave out the last upgrade a few minutes ago. Maybe if you were here five minutes sooner, I could have helped you...." Not useful information. Room was clean, towels were fresh, and the breakfast was OK. What killed me was the NOISE. First it was the paper thin walls and ceiling. I could hear the person above me pacing the floor - posssibly with a horse. Then there were the trains, freight trains, long ones. Then the doors slamming in the hallway. Constantly. Very noticeable. Lastly I had to witness two maids carrying on an animated conversation outside my room. Just useless dribble - when they could have done it inside of some vacant room. I don't need to know someone's business at 9:00 am.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get a room on the top floor, towards the river. That may take away some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear John,
I was so sorry to hear about all of the noise that disturbed you during your stay and for the flippant attitude of our front desk associate.The feedback we receive from our guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas as well train and encourage our staff. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will choose to give the Holiday Inn Express LeClaire another chance to show you that guest satisfaction is our number one priority. Sincerely, Barbara Epton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    48
    13
    8
    1
See reviews for
40
44
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel which faces a beautiful Mississippi river. My room did not have a river view, but perhaps 'cos it was a very cheap company negotiated rate. No complaints there. And, since the is at the end of a quiet road, one can always walk out to the river bank easily. Check-in and check-out was quick and efficient. Free wifi. Room was comfortable and nice. The A/C using was a bit loud and kept kicking in and out frequently, but, not a huge deal and perhaps, I could have adjusted the settings better. Only one electrical plug point near the bed for charging phones; I guess, better than none. Free breakfast was OK - not great but not bad either. Would have been nice to have those fresh waffle makers. Overall, decent hotel with the location being a major plus point.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi there RaviMN,

Thanks so much for leaving us this kind review. We're glad you found our location to your liking -- we certainly think it's unique in comparison to other hotels.

We hope we'll see you again soon, RaviMN.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

On a cross country drive with our two dogs, my partner and I stayed here for one night and we were very pleased. Our room was comfortable and had a lovely river view. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. The breakfast buffet was typical motel fare, nothing special. This was a modest but good motel and perfectly fine for our needs and an overnight on the Mississippi.

Room Tip: River view rooms have small balconies. Great way to have breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi there Ken,

Thanks so much for staying with us and leaving this review. We were happy to accommodate you, your partner and your dogs, and we're glad we did so to your liking.

We hope the rest of your trip went well and that we'll see you again some day!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel and river view room was gorgeous. The girl at the front desk should be given the Customer Service/Tour Guide of the year award. Her dinner and shopping suggestions were perfect and the local shops spoke just as highly of her. It was perfect for us to get away without kids but next time we are bringing them. What a great little treasure!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Wow Chloe, thanks so much for the kind words! We'll be sure to pass on your compliments to our front desk staff. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope we'll see you (and your little ones) again soon!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here one night during a road trip. Four adults and a one year old, the room was super clean, the breakfast was great and the location is peaceful and beautiful. Front desk was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello DNAnelli,

Thanks for leaving us this kind review - we truly appreciate your business and time. We hope your road trip was a success and that stay safe on your return trip to Colorado!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, but it was so nice we wished it could have been more! Clean, very comfortable beds, no stuffy motel feeling, and a great breakfast! Nice balcony with a river view. Good places to go for walks. Close by bar and restaurant. We will be back!!!!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a river view on the second or third floor. Its worth it!!!! The balcony is GREAT!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi there scampingduo,

Wow, thank you so much for this wonderful review! We hope you DO visit us again - we're looking forward to it!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel - and this whole little town - is a delightful serendipitous find! We had a beautiful two room suite with whirlpool tub on the third floor, riverside, with a balcony overlooking the Mississippi River. A marvelous German restaurant was just a few hundred yards from the front door of the hotel, and just over a mile from the hotel is the home office of "American Archaeology", AKA the site where they film "American Pickers" for the History Channel! A quarter mile further into the town, and you find the Buffalo Bill Museum, which houses not only a collection related to his entepreneurship, but also collections of local inventors, including the engineer who invented the proverbial "Black Box" for airplanes, and the seat belt! The museum also houses the "Lone Star" Riverboat which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and which is totally open to public view and walk-through. Utterly delightful Americana. For folks who get there in time, or have more time than we did, you can book a one or two day cruise on the Mississippi River in a working riverboat.

The hotel had a marvelous pool that actually WAS heated (bliss!) and I had the joy of swimming by myself - not often found in a hotel setting. Breakfast came with the hotel fee. Internet was free, and there were sufficient electrical outlets to charge laptops and cameras all at once.

Room Tip: Get the hotel staff to show you how to get the shower mechanism to work - only quirk I found.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi there Trish,

Wow, thanks so much for your kind review - we're flattered!

I'm a bit biased but I like to think Le Claire has everything one could ever want in a midwest vacation spot, and I think you did a great job of illustrating that with your review. Thanks again!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport

Address: 1201 Canal Shore Drive SW, Le Claire, IA 52753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Le Claire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Le Claire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Riverfront LeClaire, is located just off I-80, on the banks of the Majestic Mississippi River. The hotel is conveniently located just minutes from downtown Davenport and Moline. LeClaire is home to Twilight Riverboat Cruises and the hotel is within minutes of boarding. We are also less than 15 miles from the Isle of Capri and Rythym City Casinos. The Holiday Inn Express Riverfront is a preferred lodging accomodation for Tyson Foods and Olympic Steel. Other nearby businesses that stay with us are John Deere, Exelon and Alcoa. So, whether it's business or pleasure that brings you to our area, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, LeClaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport Hotel Le Claire
Holiday Inn Le Claire
Le Claire Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.