We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as we'd hoped” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sneaky Pete's Cowboy Steaks Inc

Sneaky Pete's Cowboy Steaks Inc
207 Cody Rd, Le Claire, IA 52753
(563) 289-4277
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 17 Restaurants in Le Claire
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Goshen, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not as good as we'd hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We ate here on a Sunday evening and were just not very impressed. My wife ordered the quarter pound buffalo burger and the server asked how she wanted that cooked and was told medium rare. It turned out to be a burger about as big as a McDonalds burger on a HUGE bun. And it was far from medium rare.

I ordered the chopped sirloin steak cooked medium and it was tender and cooked correctly, but was just a hunk of dry meat on the plate. Some grilled onions or a bit of juice over the top of it would have made it much more appealing. I also ordered onion rings that were dark brown and obviously over-cooked.

We had cheese curds for an appetizer and they were good. The salad bar that came with my meal was also good and I especially liked the cole slaw.

We won't go back. The Blue Iguana is right next door and we'll go there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    30
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheboygan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I wish I tried another place to eat.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Waitress didn't know what was going on. Nice but wasn't really in the present moment. Pulled Pork looked like a tuna patty and bbq seemed like baby rays on the side. Salad bar was good. My sons grilled cheese would have been delicious WITHOUT the cheese.View was awesome! Especially when trains came by. Shouldve tried the Blue Iguana. I hate writting bad reviews but it was pretty disappointing.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Grass, Iowa
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Decent food that won't bust your budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Informal, rustic decor... the dining room eves are decorated with the bottom halves of "ties" that the staff "clipped" from anyone who has the audacity to enter the establishment wearing neckware. Menu is on the back of whiskey bottles. Nothing fancy served here... good steaks, but no french fries (the beans are excellent). Great place to stop for drinks and food with a gang of buddies. Roaring fireplace in the bar provides winter "ambiance".

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Limited Menu Old Tavern Restaurant Inconsistent Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is an old place that probably has not changed in twenty years. Steaks can be very good or very bad. Chops are better quality. Salad bar very small and limited selection. They did get a deep fryer so the menu will be changing soon. Burgers and sandwiches are average to good which are served on fresh rolls. Waitstaff is friendly but not organized. Takeout orders have not been correct and this complaint has been echoed but numerous people I work with. Dining room has nice views but is not comfortable to sit in because of picnic tables. Bathrooms? Hold it until you get home or back to hotel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not a Must”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Steak was tough. We were told it was outstanding, but it was far from that.Salad bar was limp. Service was good, very polite and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sneaky Pete's Cowboy Steaks Inc also viewed

 

Been to Sneaky Pete's Cowboy Steaks Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sneaky Pete's Cowboy Steaks Inc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.