We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic food, inappropriately trained staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Steventon's

Steventon's
1399 Eagle Ridge Rd, Le Claire, IA 52753-9573
563-289-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Le Claire
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pathetic food, inappropriately trained staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

First time visit after being told this was a great restaurant. Nice enough waitress, but pushy and tells you this is how we it when you ask for modification. For example, didn't want the spinach salad flambéd at table side. Told they couldn't prepare in the kitchen and proceeded to add two huge scoops of sugar to the dressing when asked to stop at one-- "this is how we do it"!!!!

Crab cake appetizer barely cooked and tasteless. Lobster bisque tasted like bland gravy with a few pieces of unidentifiable pink meat. Rack of lamb suspect and over cooked. The "demi glaze" tasted like sugary gape jelly.

Wine came at end of meal instead of as the main dish was delivered.

This is an over priced mediocre restaurant whose only redeeming element is a nice view, except the window by our window was fogged up.

Don't waste your money.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    4
    2
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still The Best Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Fire pit out on the patio added to the great view on a snowy winter's day. Service was excellent as usual. Although not guaranteed they accomodated our request for a window table by concerting a large table to a table for two. We have a handful of decent restaurants in the area but Steventon's is still the best spot incorporating the area's best asset, the Missisippi river view.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have eaten here several times over the years and have always had great food and great service. The view of the Mississippi River is very nice from here as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maquoketa, Iowa
1 review
“Worst meal and service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This restaurant used to be one of my favorites Fantastic view of the River. Bar service was fine, but selection was lacking. Ordered a red Zen. Waiter brought out a bottle of white zen already opened. Was rather igdignant when I told him it was not what I ordered. Ordered the Lamb Chops with cherry glaze. Salad was mediocre. Not sure what type of lamb chops I got. They were a gray color with no tenderloin portion. Instead of a cherry glaze, it had a cherry gravy. Only had one bite. Our waiter disapeared. Was 15 minutes untill he checked back. There was no offer to comp the meal. Instead was offered a after dinner drink. We had eaten outside on the patio. Noticed from inside at the bar, that our table outside had not been cleared 20 minutes later. It's realy sad, the is a beautiful restaurant

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here a couple times. Always great food. Is an option to be seated outside - in back with a view of the river or out front - or indoors. We have done both & service is good either way. Ordered a half plate of nachos which is clearly enough for 2-3 people. Quite yummy!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steventon's also viewed

 

Been to Steventon's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steventon's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.