We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little stop, with great (but a little pricey) food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Inn

Save Saved
You added The Bell Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bell Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roger Penny Way, Brook, New Forest National Park SO43 7HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Brook
Ulsan, South Korea
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice little stop, with great (but a little pricey) food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed here just before Christmas to attend a nearby wedding. Overall, had a pretty good time. The Bell is a nice B&B, perfect for golfers, in a beautiful part of the world.

Rooms - clean and spacious, although the doors are a bit thin. Bathroom was spot on.
Food - Pricey but delicious food, oddly with additional options being served in the less sartorially fussy bar. Recommend the game pie.....
Bar - Only vaguely negative comment is the slightly souless feeling, however they work hard to make this a non issue with a modernish open fire, great service and very friendly staff.

Overall would recommend the Inn in the future and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    123
    40
    11
    8
See reviews for
41
182
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flintshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Well here goes, the good, the bad and the not so bad!
The good - Offered a choice of two rooms because the bath wasn't working in one. Original OK, second very good, room 34, the downside being it was underneath the golf club bar and a walk outside the hotel. No problem for us- it didn't rain and the bar closed early. Ate in the bar both nights of our stay. The food was well cooked and well presented , good choice of good quality wine. The staff were pleasant and efficient.

The Bad - On arrival around 1830, the receptionist was having a smoke somewhere and we had to hunt for someone to find her . She appeared after 4/5 minutes and never apologised! Breakfast was none existent the following morning unless you like cereal or prunes. The chef had gone awol! We weren't told until we asked for hot food and we couldn't wait for the replacement chef as we had an appointment to keep.
Breakfast the following morning was available but the food apart from the tomatoes, was greasy. If you asked for brown toast you could only have mixed Brown/white.

The not so bad - when I complained I was reimbursed the grand total of £18 (loss of two breakfast for me and my husband). The manager didn't know that the chef hadn't turned in! The menu in the evening was mostly fish and my husband would have liked to see steak on the menu both evenings.

At £110 per room (B&B), the hotel needs to up its game, especially if you don't play golf!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed in April to go cycling along the network of not too strenuous trails through the New Forest around Brockenhurst and Lyndhurst. The Bell Inn is a short drive up the road and much better value than the overpriced hotels nearby. Dinner was very nice and the breakfast selection was really great - from five types of muesli through to a frshly cooked full English with black pudding and the works. Some rooms in the hotel have been recently renovated - ask for one of these - ours (no 22) had luxurious velvet curtains with a large bathroom and flat screen TV. No complaints at all. They even have a secure lock up for bikes and golf clubs. Wild horses wander up and down the road outside. 5*

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Good small hotel. Very convenient for golfers as it is adjacent to a golf club with another 200m up the road.

Our room (no. 16) was very big. I think it was a twin or perhaps family room but they had pushed the beds together to make it a double! Would have been fine, but the duvet didn't quite reach the sides... However, it was clean and had a good size bathroom. As it is in the original part of building, the squeaky floorboards meant that we heard every footstep in the room above which wasn't great. We didn't hear any noise from the bar below though!

Breakfast was very good. Nice seletion of pastries and fruit. The Full English was very tasty! We didn't have dinner in the Briscoes restaurant (fine dining) but did eat twice in the bar. Food was very good and fairly priced.

  • Liked — Location (inside the New Forest) and food
  • Disliked — Squeaky Floorboards!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Address: Roger Penny Way, Brook, New Forest National Park SO43 7HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from 1782, The Bell Inn combines period features with contemporary style. We're located in the heart of the New Forest National Park in the tranquil hamlet of Bramshaw, yet we are only one minute from the M27! We specialise in looking after small numbers of guests, whether a golf group, a few friends on a short break, or for a business meeting. Our reputation for quality cuisine and wines is growing all the time. Our chef's are dedicated to using locally sourced food and follows the principle of sourcing a significant amount of our produce from within the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel New Forest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.