We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Larchwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort
1415 Grand Falls Blvd., Larchwood, IA 51241   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Larchwood
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We wanted to go to this hotel/casino because there was an REO Speedwagon concert being held outside on their property. We took our camper but found out when we got there that all of the spots had been reserved. However, one of the security guys led us to a grassy area right next to the camper spaces and said we could park there for free since we had a generator and did not need electric. (ended up to our advantage---about 1/3 of the 'reserved spots' never were occupied the 2 days we were there)
It was a perfect spot. We literally just had to walk down a small hill to the concert and the hotel. We gambled in the casino after the concert and had great luck! The facility is beautiful and they are in the middle of constructing an 18 hole golf course. We ate at the cafe for dinner---good and inexpensive then ate at the buffet the next morning for breakfast. The nice thing about that is that you take your breakfast receipt to the Guest Services desk (where you can receive a players card) and show the receipt and they give you $5 slot play.
By the way, there are several entrances into the hotel without walking through the casino on the west and east sides of the building. We never used the front entrance.
We will definitely come back even though it is a 3 hour drive---it is well worth it. Customer service was wonderful and the facility has a very nice 'Vegas' feel to it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    7
    17
    6
See reviews for
11
28
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gretna, ne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family stayed here for a wedding reception. Room was very clean and modern....and expensive! We didnt use the casino or any of the restaurants. The wedding reception was very nice...food good...nice dance floor and layout. It would be nice if there was a separate entrance for just the hotel part. It felt strange to walk through the casino with 3 kids and luggage in tow. I thought for sure there would be a separate entance in the back for those of us not wanting to access the casino, but that was not the case. The pool is very nice. It was too cold to use the outside pool but it looked really nice. Indoor was also nice..again very modern and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, South Dakota
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Been there many times since there opening and never had a problem. Last morning I was told I was too f-d up to be on the gaming floor. I called some friends but at 6am they were all sleeping so I was told I can stay in a room for $300 or get a taxi to Sioux Falls for $45. Problem was I only had $25 left and I forgot about the 20 or 30 I left on the table. So I asked if I could sleep in my car to which Micheal Ludwigs replied no I would be arrested, asked if I could walk to Sioux Falls to which he replied no if I even left the casino I would be arrested... Hmmmm so I asked him what other options I had he said it sounds like your going to arrested. Took my chances and got arrested in the parking lot. Never knew people could be arrested for not having enough money on them. I will now by boycotting this casino and plan to set up protests so people know what to expect. Go to Flandreu casino good payouts, friendly staff, and you can drink your hearts desire. I'm also hoping to take the casino to small claims court for entrapment. I'm a law-abiding citizen turned bad by Grand Falls Casino Resort

Room Tip: Ya don't stay in Nazi Germany
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Larchwood hotels

Spirit Lake, Iowa
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Planned a trip to the casino /hotel with my wife. We enjoy gaming and planned to use the pool and catch some sun. The room was nice. Not sure I understand the clear glass between bathroom and main room but what ever. I guess that that's modern architecture to be able to see in/ out of the bathroom. Internet charge $10? Serious? Had a nice sandwich at the Big Drop cafe. Ate there cuz the evening buffet was $17 which we felt was too pricey. Enjoyed the gaming. Lost a little but that's why they call it gambling.... Spent a couple hours at the pool. Very nice and comfortable. Went to check out the next AM and was billed $140 for a room I was quoted $85 for over the phone. The checkout attendant told me that the $140 was the lowest Friday night rate. That sure could be true but I was quoted a friday rate of $85 and a saturday rate of $140. We actually were going to stay 2 nights but changed to 1 night when i got that quote. We would not have stayed had I known that we were being charged the $140. So I walked out of there feeling that I had been seriously misled by the gal that quoted me the lower price. Needless to say there's plenty of other places to gamble..

Room Tip: Be careful about over the phone room quotes. I was misled..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Wow oh wow, we stayed here to break up our drive on vacation, and boy was it a great idea. The rooms here were AMAZING-very clean and very modern. The shower in the bathroom was to die for, and they offered Aveda products in the rooms. The King Suite had its own balcony with a view of a waterfall and lake. The bed was wonderful to sleep in. The rooms are spacious, and have granite throughout. I felt like a princess there. The pools (both indoor and out) were beautiful, and the hot tub was actually good and hot. The outside pool area had cabanas and the inside pool area offered very comfy chairs as well. In addition, the indoor pool and hot tub both stayed open until midnight, which was nice for the teens we were traveling with. The cafe in the hotel offered reasonable food, even late at night, and it was very good. The casino was a lot of fun, and the staff here were all very nice. They are in the process of putting in a golf course, but I never once heard any noise from construction. This hotel has various shops and I wish I had had the opportunity to visit the spa, as it looked amazing.

Room Tip: We had a King Suite, and there is not one thing I could complain about with it. AMAZING!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFCR, Joel Twedt Front Office Manager at Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit wtih us! It is our goal to provide the type of guest service expectations that you experienced and we are happy to hear that we have exceeded your expectations. We designed our rooms with a modern feel in hopes that they would have that "WOW" factor when guests stay with us as well as our balcony rooms with the spectacular views overlooking the outdoor pool and waterfall area. I wish you would have had the time to enjoy The Spa at Grand Falls while you were here as it is an Aveda Concept Salon and Spa as well. If you do get a chance to come back this summer we are also offering poolside pedicures again this year and for the first time cabana massages. If you don't make it back this year be sure and visit us next summer as we hope to have our 18-hole Rees Jones designed golf course open late summer, early fall of 2014. Please feel free to contact me directly for any additional feedback and thank you again for taking the time to provide us with this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

20 miles from Sioux Falls SD. No shuttle from there, 42 dollar cab ride, poor customer service at rewards booth. No valet after midnight, and super tight slots. Nice buffet, half casino was smoking/ half non. Mixed all together.

Room Tip: tight slots, nice rooms, no shuttle ,no valet. poor service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We live 100 miles away and go to Grand Falls for an overnight get away. We like the rooms and pool and often find special pricing available. The Casino is a couple of years old now - about 40 % of the space is non-smoiking which is a wonderful break compared to other Iowa based casinos. The hotel is not laid out very convenient to the parking so it is a bit of a challenge to those who have difficulty in walking any distance. We did not notice it but friends who traveled with us complained a lot.

Room Tip: Ask for pool facing rooms for a better view and close to the elevator to shorten the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort

Address: 1415 Grand Falls Blvd., Larchwood, IA 51241
Location: United States > Iowa > Larchwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Larchwood
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will see for yourself when you visit Grand Falls Casino Resort that the wait has been well worth it. This resort is like no other in the area, offers peerless amenities. Ruthie’s Steakhouse and Seafood, Robert’s Buffet and The Big Drop Café round out our dining choices; offering a wide variety of atmosphere and option to serve every taste. Our hotel features gorgeous views and a variety of rooms and suites and balconies with breathtaking views of our outdoor pool and waterfall. The resort also features The Spa at Grand Falls a full service AVEDA concept salon and spa, Indoor and Outdoor pools, meeting rooms and fitness center. Our Cete Boutique and Grand Falls Gift Shop offer up a variety of ways to pamper our guest with clothing, purses, jewelry, and one of a kind gift items. Our entertainment both in our Show Lounge and on our Event Center stage will be some of the best the area has to offer. And of course, which no one will forget, non-stop gaming action with 900 slot machines and 23 table games including roulette and craps. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Falls Hotel Larchwood
Grand Falls Casino And Golf Resort Larchwood, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort to your Saves list