We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like Reno only better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Larchwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort
Save Saved
You added Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort to your Saves list
1415 Grand Falls Blvd., Larchwood, IA 51241   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Larchwood
Roseburg, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“like Reno only better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I actually prefer this place to Vegas or Reno because it feels safer and it is a lot cleaner. The rooms are clean, quiet, comfortable, and well appointed. The meals were good at the buffet. We didn't try the steakhouse this time but we will next time. Shopping in the boutique was fun because they had great clothes and candles for a great price. The lady in the boutique was really nice. Everyone on this property had a smile and was helpful, and that is the best part of any resort.

Room Tip: The Grandview rooms have a balcony for those who smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    7
    17
    7
See reviews for
11
28
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was our second visit to Grand Falls. We stayed about 3 months ago. We actually got a great deal on the room rates, otherwise they generally pretty high priced. The room was nice and clean and we had a great visit to the Spa. The food was again, very good. We have not tried the steak house yet, but have heard good things about the food. The only negative thing we encountered was at the Cafe with a young gal working behind the counter who maybe should find a new line of work.

The machines were cranked tight- but paid out enough to keep us playing. Once the property gets finished and more entertainment gets booked this really will be a great place to visit.

It appears most of the negative comments are coming from Sioux Falls residents. I'm not sure about those complaints. The food has been great, the rooms and spa have been great. Like we have stated before, it is worth the extra money to go somewhere that is not located on a reservation and the money goes back into the State. Grand Falls is safe, clean and close to Sioux Falls.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tafton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My wife and I started with the excellent taste experience at Robert's Buffet which rivaled the cuisine of more expensive buffets and exceeded the buffets of Las Vegas. There were non smoking areas in the casino which enhanced our gaming endeavors. We now plan to visit this resort often, if only to sample their excellent food.

Room Tip: Didn't stay at a room as the Casino is within driving distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

whow with all the hype and now open for 9mo. i thought i would go and check this out ! when i got their i thought i would go to the center bar and get a drink ok i ordered a crown water $5.50 the problem was its all water and ice with a dash of crown you see the computer mixes it so you dont get any extra ! that was my first turnoff!!! it was wed. night the big surf&turf buff. for $16.95 i thought i would try it. went to the saled bar sparce to say the least wanted some peel and eat shrimp they only had a couple left in the tray i asked if they would bring more out they said they were out !!! this is at 5:00pm only open for one hour and just a few people their eating. ok their out of shrimp ill go try the crab legs their were only a few in the steamer so i took a couple of legs yuck !!! all water and mush !!! i though i just got a bad batch so i went back up to get some more there were 3 people infront of me waiting for fresh legs when they brought them out their was only a half of tray full they were gone in seconds so i didnt get any!!! i asked the lady if they were bringing more out she said in about 5min. as we only have one cooker !!! ok ill try the steak then while im waiting im telling you one thing i dont no what this meat is but it cant be beef!!! it was like shoe leather and full of grissel with a very strange taste. no good dont eat it unless you want to get sick !!! went back up to get some crablegs again only o few left in the steamer i took a couple and again all soft & water way over cooked the water just ran out of them !!! and i dont no what kind of butter this was but its more like crisco with a little butter added very gross!!! i dont no who is running this place but they must have worked at mcdonalds at one time as they have no clue how to run this place! my advice to anyone that wants good food dont come here and wast your time & $$$$$$$$$$$$$$......

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Larchwood hotels

Jackson, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here the night before Thanksgiving and were surprised by the very small crowd. Our friends were able to get us a room for a very cheap price and that is the only way we would have ever stayed with weekend prices over $200 per room. Very nice rooms, very modern, but since we were there to play, I would rather spend money in the casino than for a room that we spend very little time in. Lots of rules about drinking, kind of intiminating. We stayed for the Thanksgiving buffett which was wonderful. Even with VERY long lines, they kept things moving and organized. They were very friendly everywhere in the casino, but it is not a casino that we had much play back at nor did we see people with big amounts. We will only visit on very limited bases in the future if at all and it is only about 1 hour away. I guess it is a class above style-wise than the other area casino hotels, but at a price to keep us away. Too tight on the slots too, but maybe that will change with time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

At first glance, this is, in fact, a very impressive property. One thing we noticed right away pulling into the massive, but empty, parking lot was "where are all the people?" We stayed here two nights and were blown away by the rooms. For $99 we upgraded to a Grandview Suite and it definitely was worth the extra $20 up-charge. However, we had a balcony suite and were unable to leave our door open at all as music was blaring from the poolside (even though it was the first week of November and the pool was drained) and nobody was out there. After listening to the music for 13 hours, we called down to the front desk to request they turn down the music, which they did. This was 10:45 PM on a Tuesday. Why would you have music blaring outside in November? So, the beauty of a balcony was completed wasted as we couldn't enjoy sitting outside. The bar was ridiculously expensive but the bartender was very personable. We both got sick at the same time from the lunch buffet, which was mediocre.

The plus side was it's a beautiful facility with lots of staff and management on-site. Very helpful and courteous. The problem with having such a large casino in the middle of a cornfield in the furthest corner of Iowa is lack of people and it was apparent to us that the only way to fund this was by having the slots tuned as tight as state law allows. We gambled heavily over a three day period on all types of machines and never pulled a ticket larger than $100 off one machine. We managed to lose $1,000 before cutting our losses and hanging it up.

Bottom line is, if you're looking for a nice place to stay, sans gambling, then this is the place to go. If you like to gamble - STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife & I stayed at the hotel on 10/29 for a little get away. Rooms are very nice & modern, with a comfortable bed, nice walk-in shower, and ipod dock. Small indoor pool, but nice big indoor/outdoor hot tub. The casino is also nice, with lots of slots & tables. It was busy when we were there, but had no problem getting on a table. Service was just ok. Hotel staff was nice, but not overly. Most of the casino dealers & waitresses were nice. I ran across a couple bad apples, but you're going to have that anywhere. Casino bartenders were slow, and they don't put much of a priority on you getting a drink. Drinks are also very weak. The biggest gripe I have, and have heard others say, is that you can't carry 2 drinks in the Casino. Seems petty, but it is pretty stupid that I can't go get myself & my wife a drink while we are at the tables. Waitresses were a little busy, so it took them a while to come by. We ate at both Ruthie's Steakhouse, and the Big Drop Cafe. Ruthie's was excellent, but pricey. To us, it was worth the money. The Big Drop Cafe was another story. $9 for a turkey sandwich, that I could have made better at home for $.50. Overall assessment: Very nice, but also Very expensive. They don't seem to have a conscious on price gouging. Rooms, drinks, and food are all way overpriced, but as long as people keep going, that won't change.

Room Tip: Grand View rooms on the south side of the building have a nice view of the pool area, and future gol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort

Address: 1415 Grand Falls Blvd., Larchwood, IA 51241
Location: United States > Iowa > Larchwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Larchwood
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will see for yourself when you visit Grand Falls Casino Resort that the wait has been well worth it. This resort is like no other in the area, offers peerless amenities. Ruthie’s Steakhouse and Seafood, Robert’s Buffet and The Big Drop Café round out our dining choices; offering a wide variety of atmosphere and option to serve every taste. Our hotel features gorgeous views and a variety of rooms and suites and balconies with breathtaking views of our outdoor pool and waterfall. The resort also features The Spa at Grand Falls a full service AVEDA concept salon and spa, Indoor and Outdoor pools, meeting rooms and fitness center. Our Cete Boutique and Grand Falls Gift Shop offer up a variety of ways to pamper our guest with clothing, purses, jewelry, and one of a kind gift items. Our entertainment both in our Show Lounge and on our Event Center stage will be some of the best the area has to offer. And of course, which no one will forget, non-stop gaming action with 900 slot machines and 23 table games including roulette and craps. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Falls Hotel Larchwood
Grand Falls Casino And Golf Resort Larchwood, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.