We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Sincere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kalona Historical Village

Kalona Historical Village
Kalona, IA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Kalona
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The local community developed this site to shield the working farms and community from tourists.
Alpha Ohio
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Small but Sincere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

These folks mean well and this smallish park has some redeeming qualities. It is interesting to learn of the more than 450 utopian societies/churches that populated 17-18 century America

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Trip Back In Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Options for visiting were given as we arrived & we chose to have a guide take us through the village. What a great collection of old Kalona history! The buildings are well taken care of & the grounds are very neat. Two collections of quilts are on display. We spent nearly 2 hours in the village as well as the museum. Everyone was very friendly and the visit was well worth our time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fasinating Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Took a trip to this awesome small town and visited this musuem. So much geat information on the hisotry of the Amish as well as the dutch who settled in this part of the U.S. Don't miss it if you are in this area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Senior Bus Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My senior group spent a lovely day in Kalona on April 25, 2013. It is a very quaint town in the heart of Amish and Mennonite country. We had a wonderful set-on-guide (Dan) for the entire day. We visited the Historical Village which the group throughly enjoyed. It is a wonderful representation of this area's history. We also made several stops for demonstrations by the local businesses - noodle making, chocolate making, cheese and woodworking. The meals were a catered lunch at the Historical Village and dinner at a Mennonite home. Both meals wet delicious.
The dinner was memorable. Kalona is known as the Quilt Capital of Iowa. The downtown streets
have quilt blocks on each street corner. A wonderful experience for city dwellers to see a unique part of our country. Nancy Roth at the Village will make all the group arrangements.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

They have taken the old buildings (mostly farm) and placed them in one area. Iowa is a farming state and if you are interested in farming history... this is a must see.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalona Historical Village also viewed

 

Been to Kalona Historical Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalona Historical Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.