We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8800 Northpark Dr., Johnston, IA 20131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Iowa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nice place - friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had a group of five so chose this hotel. Our room had two separate bedrooms plus a fold out couch. At check in, the front desk person was very friendly / professional. The rooms are not huge but are very efficiently organized, clean, and comfortable. Our room was quiet and the beds very comfortable. The shower and toilet are in a separate room from the sink, making it more efficient to get ready in the morning. The free breakfast is very basic but sufficient. There are numerous restaurant choices nearby, including a Starbucks. As far as location, it is right on I-35, about 10 minutes north of Jordan Creek mall. The price was reasonable. I would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, no problem with any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
15
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OPKS
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

First off, this is not a 5-star hotel, but for what it is - a basic services place to stay while in the area for other reasons, this place can't be beat. When we arrived I saw a Volleyball team awaiting check in. We were delayed by the volume of check-ins, but the desk guy immediately directed us to a place to sit and provided an estimate on when we could check in. He beat his estimate, came to get us. Bad situation avoided by handling it like a professional. Then I feared noise from the team, he told me we were on the same floor but he could change it. The coach assured me she 'would have them running the parking lot' if they were up past 10:30PM. I owe her an apology, we never heard a thing despite staying in the original room. Says something about the team and the hotel. Breakfast is minimal - and exactly as advertised. Plenty of everything though, even though we followed the team the next morning. My wife had satyed here last month and experienced the same good customer service. This place knows what it is and delivers.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side away from the interstate, not sure how the noise would be on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We returned here because of previous visits and the value for the room size, however the sprinklers go off at 6:15 am and hit the bedroom windows about every 20 seconds, making sleep impossible. Cannot believe we would be the first to notice or complain about this. So avoid first floor if possible. Breakfast are quite limited compared to other hotels of this size. Kitchenettes are nice, dinnerware a plus and full sized fridge is a bonus. TVs in every room, but bathroom quite small.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I travel a lot for work and am shocked at how nice this marriott townsuites was!! Full kitchen, huge closets, lots of work area space, comfy beds, at least a 42" tv, large bathroom and very clean! A+++

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as an alternate to the Embassey Suites in Des Moines. This was a much different experience....it was surprisingly very good. The rooms have a kitchenette in them that was great....since we travel with a toddler we always need to have a refrigerator in our room. It was great to have the stove and microwave to make a meal on the fly as well.

The most OUTSTANDING thing.....these are some real HONEST folks. I left in a rush and forgot a number of my things in the drawer of the dresser. Yes, diamond earrings and a Rolex watch that has a lot of sentimental meaning to me. I thought when I left the hotel that I would never see any of these items again!

When I called the front desk was great! They fedex-ed my belongings to me free of charge and actually wrote me a note thanking me for my stay! My boyfriend thought everything was gone and I should call the insurance company immediately...(he's a police officer and said even good people much of the time wouldn't return that or report something like that to lost and found).

Thank you Towne Suites!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The front desk clerk was very accommodating when we checked in, giving us an isolated room since we were travelling with an infant. The room was very nice and clean with a small kitchenette area and a few cooking utensils. It was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This TownPlace Suites was not quite up to snuff compared to the other TownPlace Suites where I've stayed in the last couple of years.

The staff was friendly and helpful as always - no problem there. However, the room wasn't as clean or well kept as they usually are. Some of the dishes appeared to be wiped off rather than washed, the refrigerator door didn't close properly (which could have cost us quite a bit in spoiled groceries had we not noticed), the HVAC was very loud, etc. Not bad but compared to the high standards most TownPlace Suites have it was a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms that face away from I-80 are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale

Address: 8800 Northpark Dr., Johnston, IA 20131
Location: United States > Iowa > Johnston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott is an extended-stay hotel where you can balance work and life as you like, with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you require. Relax and feel at home with a fully equipped kitchen including full size refrigerator, microwave, cooktop, dishwasher and full complement of cookware, dishes and flatware; large work space, and complimentary wired and wireless high-speed internet access. Complimentary Continental Breakfast Daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townplace Suites Urbandale Hotel Johnston
Towneplace Suites Johnston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.