We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iowa City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brown Street Inn
Save
You added Brown Street Inn to your Saves list
430 Brown Street, Iowa City, IA 52245   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Iowa City B&B and Inns
Gourock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice - Mark and Bob are very welcoming, and we felt completely at home. Comfortable surroundings and a delicious breakfast each morning with so many choices - fresh fruit, cereals, different types of home made bread, croissants, home made muffins, hard boiled eggs... Coffee, tea and cookies available at any time, with a microwave available on the landing outside our room, and a fridge inside the room - they really thought of everything to make the visitor welcome! Many thanks for an enjoyable stay - I highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
65
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

It's so good to be able to report only nice things about a place we visited on vacation.
We have stayed at the Brown St Inn, Iowa City, four or five times throughout the last few years and it has never disappointed us. It just gets better and better and, frankly, it is the only place we would consider staying at when visiting this city.

Mark and Bob are the two helpful Innkeepers in this graceful and beautifully furnished mansion which has lovely antiques and comfortable furniture

The breakfasts cater for even the most demanding of visitors eg my husband! We look forward to them overnight! The home baking done by Mark is utterly delicious.

Every possible comfort is provided and we love the location of the Inn which allows us to wallk everywhere we need to go. We'll be back there at the first opportunity.

roro24

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite at the top of the house which has a little kitchenette and extra space for ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Brown Street Inn and Mark was so kind and welcoming. The room was very comfortable and cozy and the remainder of the home was lovely also. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a wonderful experience. Dan and Linda F

Room Tip: The top floor suite was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place is within easy walking distance of downtown and the University. The place is very pleasant without a lot of the clutter that many B&Bs have. It is extremely well run by Mark, who is very pleasant and accomodating. It was the only place where I got a proper pot of tea!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed for three nights at the Brown Street Inn and I was very pleased with the warm welcoming, the wonderful breakfast every morning and the great support of the inn keeper Mark for my first days in Iowa City.

The rooms (I was in the Yellow room the first night and in the White room for the last two ones) are very nice and cosy, with free wifi, AC, bathroom, refrigerator and TV. The breakfast is different every morning and it is both healthy and very delicious.

I am an exchange student form Frankfurt and I had a problem with the different plug-in for the electronic devices in the US. Mark was very nice to tell where I can buy an adapter for my PC and cell phone. He was also very kind to explain how to get to the main buildings of the University, where I can go shopping, and plenty of other vital information. We had conversations on very different topics and it was always fun to have a chat with him. Mark was very caring and interested in my impressions from the countries I have been to.

I had a wonderful experience at the Brown Street Inn and I recommend it enthusiastically.

Violeta S.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our first visit to Iowa City (and Iowa, for that matter). Spent a weekend the first week of August. Three people: two adults, one teen. It was our first B&B experience with a teen and it was very positive! Room was beautiful, and more importantly, very comfortable. Spacious with hard wood floors. Bathroom nice and roomy, too. Closet had a little fridge, which was a nice touch. There is also a TV, which is a deal breaker with my family. Had cable/HBO. Wireless internet access....easy to log right in. Window air conditioner (so hot this summer!) Would have opened windows, had weather been cooler. In hallway, there's access to cold water, as well as cups and glasses. Even a microwave and tea, should you so desire. The main part of the house is simply gorgeous. So nicely decorated. We enjoyed hot breakfast (available weekends) and friendly conversation. Speaking of friendly, innkeepers are both friendly and professional. Made us feel so welcome. Mark gave us maps and directions to places we would like to see in Iowa City. Maybe our son will go to U of I so we can go back soon!

Room Tip: The Red Room had a foldout chair-bed for our teen son.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

I spent last weekend at this wonderful B&B. It was a beautifully decorated and wonderfully maintained 100-year-old house in a quiet neighborhood. The attention to the guest's comfort and convenience is remarkable. The breakfasts are excellent with hot meals on weekends that are wonderful. I have stayed in B&Bs all over the US and Europe. I have never found a better value. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brown Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Street Inn

Address: 430 Brown Street, Iowa City, IA 52245
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 1913 Gambrel Cottage style mansion is on a quiet street in the Brown Street Historical District. Contemporary but yet timelessly elegant appointments can be found throughout the Inn. We are walking distance to downtown Iowa City, and the University of Iowa Campus. Where hospitatality means coming home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brown Street Inn Iowa City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.