We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bella Vista is my Iowa City home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iowa City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2 Bella Vista Place, Iowa City, IA 52245   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Iowa City B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Bella Vista is my Iowa City home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Every summer I return to the University of Iowa and environs from Chicago to tour on my motorcycle. In planning my annual trips, I first check availability at the Bella Vista B&B and second, I check the weather. The Bella Vista's proprietor, Daissy Owen, is friendly and accommodating. My trips home to my alma mater are made complete with grand hospitality at the Bella Vista.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
37
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed at A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast twice and both times was wonderful. Daissy is a great "hostess" and very interesting to visit with. Her photographs that are on display around the house and the items she has brought from her trips are fascinating. The breakfasts were very good and served in a comfortable and delightful manner. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I had never stayed at a B & B so I really had no idea what to expect or what I would find. What I found was less than satisfactory. I stayed in a very tiny room with two twin beds which had a shared bath. Since there was no one else at the B & B I thought the shared bath would be just fine. This would have been the case except it was very obvious it had not been cleaned after her previous guest left the day before. I very seldom eat breakfast so opted for only coffee. I think perhaps the coffee had been left on the burner a bit too long. No doubt that both the price paid and my expectations where a bit too high.
Daissy is a lovely lady and I thank her for opening her home to me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have stayed at this lovely B and B a couple of times and have enjoyed both of our stays quite a bit. It is in a convenient location on a quite cul du sac with a quaint neighborhood feeling. The owner, Daissy, is very interesting and conversational. When we were there this past May the weather was wonderful. My husband and I sat on the front porch with her talking about everything from recipes to Facebook's impending IPO. Will definitely stay with her as long as our daughter is a student at Iowa. And hopefully beyond.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talkeetna, Alaska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A Bella Vista B&B is in a great location, nice neighborhood, in cul-de-sac. Comfortable main floor room with two beds, big roomy bathroom, lots of travel photos taken by gracious hostess Daissy. Would definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys staying at a B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I stopped in Iowa City to visit friends after a Labor Day visit with our daughter in Denver. We were pretty tired and it was hot! A Bella Vista was the perfect antidote for worn out travelers.....comfortable and Daissy was wonderfully welcoming. Daissy, who is from Colombia, has travelled the world. The artifacts from her travels (the bed in the first floor room is amazing!) are displayed throughout the house with style and wit along with books and mementos. It could have been overwhelming and overly full of 'chatchkas', but it wasn't. Daissy was also helpful about where to eat dinner and made reservations for us. Since we were meeting friends in Swisher, Iowa, for breakfast, we missed Daissy's breakfast, but I expect it was wonderful.

Room Tip: We had trouble with stairs so were able to have a room on the first floor...pricier than others, I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband, 15 year old daughter, and I had the good fortune to spend the night and experience the graciously hospitality of the owner, Daissy. She is a beautiful adventursome lady who has mastered the art of providing a bed and breakfast that makes one feel right at home. The home sets on a quiet wooded cul de sac overlooking the river and boasts a lovely front porch and deck in the back of the home. Hummingbirds were buzzing about and many birds were singing their songs. The interior is gorgeous with character and displays personal photos that Daissy has collected from around the globe. Breakfast was delicious and coffee was plentiful! It certainly was a welcomed treat after moving our older daughter into college. We plan to stay again in November when we attend the University of Iowa vs. Purdue football game. Thank you Daissy for your kindness and open heart!

Room Tip: The back room we stayed in had direct access to the deck in the back overlooking the river. Parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2 Bella Vista Place, Iowa City, IA 52245
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Iowa City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nineteen-twenties air-conditioned home, tastefully decorated with antiques and international artifacts. A Bella Vista provides three large comfortable suites with private baths and two rooms with shared baths. Guests can enjoy coffee on the back deck or front porch facing the garden and the quiet, private Bella Vista street. Conveniently located in the historical Northside. Within walking distance to the U of Iowa and downtown. Nice view of the Iowa River and Hancher Auditorium. This B&B was included in Rachel Ray's magazine in an article about Iowa City. Cable TV and free wireless access available. Breakfast with international flavor provided by well-traveled hostess, who in addition to English is fluent in Spanish and speaks some French. Her photographs of the Antarctica are the ones most appreciated by her guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Bella Vista Bed And Breakfast Iowa City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.