We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay in Iowa city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center to your Saves list
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Linn Street, Iowa City, IA 52240   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay in Iowa city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Was at hotelVetro with family for business. Located in downtown. Modern rooms. Friendly and accommodating staff. Parking is free but should be attached. The bread garden market is within the complex and you can get what you need from there. Coffee, fridge, microwave, everything is in the room. Shuttle service. Late check out on request.
Will recommend to everybody !!!

Room Tip: Alot of windows ..so room with a view is one with little privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, General Manager at hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
hotelVetro does offer such a special touch of class to your overnight experience! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and other amenities of Plaza Towers as well! You are welcome to our home anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    43
    13
    20
    4
See reviews for
27
38
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I travel to Iowa every few months for work and I always try to make sure to overnight in Iowa City simply so I can stay at the Vetro. It's entirely not what you expect in Iowa (or the Midwest) in all the right ways: super modern (yet functional) appliances, design, furniture, bathrooms (which are glorious), floors. A very sexy property, even if it's just for a short stay.

One comment: they're a little light on toiletries, which can otherwise be a highlight at similar boutique hotels.

Stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, General Manager at hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Glad you enjoyed our very sexy property! Look forward to meeting you personally next time you travel in from Chicago! Thanks for the review and for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

While making the drive to St. Louis we spent the night in Iowa City at the HotelVetro. We arrived at 12:50am and were greeted by Pat, a helpful and super sweet employee. The hotel is located in the perfect place for you to walk and explore everything downtown. Polished concreted floors, huge wardrobes for you to hang your clothes, convection microwaves, apartment size fridge, and mondern but cozy bathrooms. The large oval tub is a perfect way to relax after business. We were on the fith floor, the floor below us has large walkout patios with privacy walls. I love this hotel and would most def. stay there again. You felt like you were staying in a loft style apartment, more like a home than a hotel. Also the security was great and a little more than I expected for Iowa City but being a college town it's a great way to keep the trouble out. Super friendly, super quiet, Super comfy hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location! Walking distance to everything downtown Iowa City has to offer: great restaurants, boutiques, salons, etc. Very neat area. Food at Share was absolutely wonderful-some of the best that I've had anywhere with tons of vegetarian choices! Very eco-friendly and the rooms are very spacious and accommodating with full kitchen, over-sized tub, and large living area. I had a suite with a very large balcony/terrace which was very nice. I would stay at this hotel every time without a second thought.

Room Tip: I would book a suite with a balcony. The rooms are spacious, well-appointed, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, General Manager at hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful stay! We are proud of our hotel and glad we made a difference for you!

Share Wine Lounge offers such a unique small plate dining experience. We change our menu often so please join us when you return to the Iowa City area!

Happy Holidays!

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My parents and I truly enjoyed our three-night stay at hotelVetro. It is perfectly situated in downtown Iowa City, within walking distance of the university and other downtown attractions. There is an upscale supermarket in the same complex, and parking is available at a reduced rate ($11/day, unlimited in/out with hotel validation of the parking ticket each time) at the city parking structure at the corner.

The hotel lobby is bright and airy, with a piano and two macs for guests to use. The staff were all very friendly. The room was very spacious and decorated in a very modern, minimalist style. Think concrete floors, and a frosted glass sliding door to the bathroom. There is plenty of storage in the two large wardrobes. The beds and linens were extremely comfortable. However, although stylish, I am not sure everything is designed with function in mind. For example, there is only one hook for hanging up towels in the bathroom of a room with two beds (which doesn’t seem to advance the ecologically forward vision of the hotel) and the large flat sink can splash. The kitchen area was useful; be sure to ask for a kitchen kit if you plan to do more than make coffee.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, but should mention a couple of things. The lobby restaurant, Formosa, can get loud with guests spilling into the lobby on a weekend night. No noise travels up to the rooms, and we felt quite safe with the keycard-operated elevators. As part of their green initiative, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to forgo housekeeping each day (except for the day of departure) in exchange for a $5 gift card to Share, the wine nearby bar/bistro nearby that can provide room service, or $5 off the bill. However, if you opt for this option, be sure that housekeeping leaves a voucher under the door. Upon check-out we were asked for them, but we didn’t know that was the system. We thought housekeeping takes note of the card you leave on the door and records which rooms were cleaned or not. The receptionist wasn’t sure how to fix this on the spot, but offered to send me an adjusted receipt by email. I received a blank email the next day, and upon following up I was just sent another copy of the same receipt. I decided to drop the issue because the real point was to reduce resource use.

However, I would definitely recommend hotelVetro to others and stay there again should I have occasion to visit Iowa City.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, General Manager at hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for providing so much detail regarding your stay at hotelVetro. We are so pleased with the hotel and it's unique identity in Iowa City. Our overnight accomodations do provide many options and we will definately look into your suggestions for continued ways to improve our sustainability efforts.

Our doors provide a special sweep at the bottom to assist with noise from the hallways which make putting the credit under your door difficult. We are reviewing training options with the team and are looking into a better way to ensure those whom assist us are properly and promptly rewarded!

Wishing you and your family a very Happy Holiday Season -

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DES MOINES, IA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

In town for a doctor appointment and tried this hotel instead of the Sheraton and very pleased. Very modern decor with spacious room. Definitely would stay here again. Pay parking at a discount next door.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the room our unique guestrooms have to offer! We look forward to seeing you when your travel returns to Iowa City.

Melanie Baker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I love the Hotel Vetro's cool modern vibe. If you like concrete, glass, and blonde wood - you'll like this. Concrete floors throughout (lobby, rooms, hallways). A bit noisy in the halls but great if you are like me and doubt the cleanliness of regular hotel carpeting. There are some rugs in the rooms so you aren't walking on hard concrete all the time. My room had a small kitchen with table and 2 bar stools, couch, coffee table, lounge chair, desk, tv, king bed, whirlpool bath and glass enclosed shower. Wall-to-wall windows with roller shades when privacy is desired. My only complaint was that the room was 74 degrees in December and I could not cool it despite lowering the thermostat. I opened the 2 panes of glass that could be opened to let in some fresh air. The ventilation system is quite loud - a white noise, blowing sound, like a big fan. It is loud but at least constant - not turning on and off all night like many hotels. It does block any hallway noise and I slept very soundly in the comfortable bed with no noise issues. However, if a loud blowing noise might bother you, beware. The noise came from a large ventilation shaft along the wall and could not be turned off. The location is nice right on the pedestrian mall near many bars and restaurants and close to the old capitol and that area of campus. Walking distance to lots of things. Parking is expensive in downtown and not included - there is a public parking ramp next door though, and they will valet park your car for $5 above the regular parking fee. Beware that it may take awhile for the valet to get your car - they told me 10 minutes, but it was more like 20. Just be sure to call ahead so your car is ready if you need to be somewhere on time. The staff were nice and overall I really like this place. It's a great departure from the ordinary ho-hum hotel room with a great young, modern vibe. I will stay here next time I'm in Iowa City. Oh, yeah - I forgot that the shower was lukewarm, I couldn't get it hot. Not a big deal though.

Room Tip: One side faces the pedestrian mall and old Capitol area - this would be preferable to the view I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We look forward to being your host during your next visit! hotelVetro strives to provide a special experience different from a branded hotel. We just completed checking each HVAC unit in each guestroom and will continue to make improvements in the noise during the usage of each individual unit.

We will continue to improve our staff service to ensure more timely delivery of your vehicle and ensure we provide proper amenities and services. Thank you for letting us know so we can continue to make improvements that matter to our guests!

Melanie Baker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center

Address: 201 South Linn Street, Iowa City, IA 52240
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, sophistication, and metropolitan flair-experience it all at downtown Iowa City's newest hotel and conference center, located just a block away from the University of Iowa. Listed by Budget Travel Magazine as one of the Top 100 Best Values in the World, hotelVetro is the ultimate in upscale lodging. Boasting modern architectural design, deluxe guest rooms, contemporary kitchens, and the sophisticated yet environmentally conscious amenities, hotelVetro is ideal for short or long-term stays. HotelVetro is a premiere Iowa City conference center, with over 15,000 square feet of versatile banquet space and meeting rooms. Featuring a stunning 4,800 square foot open-air Roof Garden, which offers a magnificent view of the Iowa City Cultural District, hotelVetro provides an unforgettable backdrop for business and social events. HotelVetro offers a complimentary shuttle within a 3 mile radius based on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelvetro: Studio Suites And Convention Center
Hotelvetro: Studio Suites & Convention Center Hotel Iowa City
Hotelvetro Studio Hotel
HotelVetro: Studio Suites & Convention Center Iowa City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.