We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a night way with hay~hay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center to your Saves list
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Linn Street, Iowa City, IA 52240   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Villa Park, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a night way with hay~hay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

went to visit my daughter in iowa city. since she is currently living with four other females i thought it best to look into a room. hotel vetro was a good choice. rooms are clean and there is a kitchen area which made it nice so we did not have to eat out all the time. beds are super comfy as well. the only thing that i found rather scary ( being the klutz i am ) is the sliding door going into the bathroom from the bedroom/lounging area. slid much to fast and i caught my fingers plenty. (like i mentioned i am a klutz so am sure others my not encounter the same issue). good dt location, grocery store attached and lots of local eateries. make sure you go to 126 for lunch or dinner if you have the opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    43
    13
    20
    4
See reviews for
27
38
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is such a wonderful hotel in the heart of downtown Iowa City. You will have to pay a little more for it but it will be worth it. My rooms each time had a fridge (not just a mini fridge a real one), a dishwasher and a microwave. The rooms were clean, bright, and very spacious! I loved the bathrooms! I will admit as it is currently one of the tallest buildings in the area, you will be looking down on a lot of roofs. Best of all, they do allow pets!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was in room 1613. Great bed, living area, kitchen and restroom. My biggest complaint is the stains on the chaise lounge chair in the living room and the hair left in the shower.

The attendant upon check in was quite nice and efficient. Check out was quick and easy as well. I would stay here again; stains and hair just need to be addressed as that is what kept this review from being a 5.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Well first off they messed up our reservation on one of the busiest weekends in Iowa city. We were suppose to be there for a business trip so we weren't sure whether it was the person who booked us or the hotel at first but in the end it was the hotels fault. The front desk person was very nice about it and helped us find another place to stay for our first night there as our room was reserved for the following two nights. When we did go back the next day and we were some what unimpressed. The views are of the city or other buildings. The rooms are VERY noisy, the air conditioners are obnoxiously loud and you can hear people talking out on the street. If your use to amenities from a hotel you will be surprised no real amenities here. Also the room cards were terrible we both had to keep going back to the front desk to re swipe the card so it would let us into our room. They tried to say it was because we were putting it near cell phones or magnets but even after putting it just in my pocket it still didn't work After all this they get an average rating because the bed was super comfortable, the bathroom was wonderful and the staff were very nice. If we were to stay in Iowa City again we would stay some where else.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Sadly, this is one of Iowa City's best hotels. Even so, it fails on many points, from the lousy views from most rooms, to the lack of real room service dining, to a staff that seems primarily comprised of interns or recent college grads with little/no experience in the hospitality industry. Noisy location, noisy residents, and very noisy air conditioning top off the large list of complaints.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Right in the heart of downtown Iowa City, you can beat the location (expecially during Jazz Festival Weekend). The hotel, and especially the rooms, is very modern. No carpeting is used, just area rugs over polished concrete. The bed was comfortable, the furnishings modern-looking but comfortable and the shower was very good. Our room was quite a bit pricier than we usually pay for a weekend and, to our surprise, they tack on an $11/day parking fee. At these prices, you'd think they would include parking!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

So, for being in the middle of downtown Iowa City, this property offered a quiet and comfortable stay. Despite the overall "minimalist & modern verging on industrial" feel of this hotel, it's pleasant. I certainly wouldn't call a polished concrete floor cozy. That's what you'll find throughout the entire hotel. The room was of decent size with the bathroom consuming nearly 40% of the floor space. A complaint is that the TV is directly parallel to the bed, so you'd need to lay on your side to watch. No, it's not on the wall at the end of the bed. We rarely watch TV so this was no bother. As to the bed, bathroom, water pressure, amenities, and comforts, we were satisfied. The coffee machine was there stocked with name brand coffee. In all the staff were VERY friendly. We stopped at the bar off the lounge on a saturday night prior to heading out to dance and found the crew attractive (shallow I know) and very attentive. We had several glasses of wine and found pricing appropriate. Stay here. It's a treat for Iowa City! Oh, there is a massive parking garage next to the property that charges only .75 an hour..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center

Address: 201 South Linn Street, Iowa City, IA 52240
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, sophistication, and metropolitan flair-experience it all at downtown Iowa City's newest hotel and conference center, located just a block away from the University of Iowa. Listed by Budget Travel Magazine as one of the Top 100 Best Values in the World, hotelVetro is the ultimate in upscale lodging. Boasting modern architectural design, deluxe guest rooms, contemporary kitchens, and the sophisticated yet environmentally conscious amenities, hotelVetro is ideal for short or long-term stays. HotelVetro is a premiere Iowa City conference center, with over 15,000 square feet of versatile banquet space and meeting rooms. Featuring a stunning 4,800 square foot open-air Roof Garden, which offers a magnificent view of the Iowa City Cultural District, hotelVetro provides an unforgettable backdrop for business and social events. HotelVetro offers a complimentary shuttle within a 3 mile radius based on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelvetro: Studio Suites And Convention Center
Hotelvetro: Studio Suites & Convention Center Hotel Iowa City
Hotelvetro Studio Hotel
HotelVetro: Studio Suites & Convention Center Iowa City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.