We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New but.........” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Sturgis Corner Dr, Iowa City, IA 52240   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book in Advance and Save
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New but.........”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I came to town for a 3 day business trip and decided to try the new hotel. Well that's what I get for not sticking with what I knew was a good place to stay. I will never make that mistake again. The hotel is new but in a sketchy part of town, across from pawn shop and liquor store, breakfast was fine, typical Hampton breakfast. Good luck getting out of the parking lot in the morning, I was nearly late for my appointment as you can really only go south out of the lot and that was even a challenge. Furnishings were new, but lacking cleanliness, Internet was very good- I wish all hotels had this Internet speed.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. We have worked very hard in our housekeeping department and have been consistantly ranked in the top 15% of all Hampton Inn's for guest room cleanliness, including receiving an outstanding on our most recent inspection.
I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.

Regards,
Ginger S
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    47
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
66
18
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We chose the Hampton Inn University for its location. There are few hotels on this side of the university area. Being located off Highway 6 and Benton, it is an easy drive to the main attractions in Iowa City. This is a brand new Hampton Inn. The rooms are comfortable, the décor fresh and bright. From the front desk to the cleaning staff, people are helpful and friendly. We enjoyed not only the free breakfast, but the breakfast on the go. We loved the fast , high-speed and FREE internet, mini fridge and microwave.
I have stayed at many Hampton Inns and found this fitness center to have a bit more equipment: enough weights, treadmills and ellipticals to avoid that stare-down from a morning athlete wanting their turn. We loved the pool and hot tub, too. There is a Village Inn and McDonald’s a few steps from the hotel. There are plenty of places to eat within driving distance. Forgot that important item for your presentation? Staples is next door. So glad to have this hotel in this area of Iowa City.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great Hilton addition in the Iowa City area. I was very happy with the rooms. The new decor is bright and fresh. Breakfast is standard Hampton Inn fare... nothing extraordinary, but hot coffee and yogurts, etc. Staff was very nice and accommodating. There is plenty of parking near entrance which I always appreciate. I will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

New hotel, so everything is in excellent shape.
22 HD channels, including HBO and Big 10.
Temperature controls work well, as does shower.
Fast wired internet. Rooms in other hotels often have slow internet.
Room includes refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and paper cups. (Why mention paper cups? How do you think other hotels clean the mugs and glasses? The honest answer is not very well. You don't see them taking glasses and mugs out of rooms to go to a dishwasher for example.)
Rooms larger than average, including bathroom where the toilet is 5 feet from the door (often 3 feet in many similiarly priced hotels).
Pleasant staff, new amenities, ample free parking. High marks to this hotel from this Hilton Diamond member. I will be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Because it had been open for less than a month, the amentities, furniture, carpet, etc were all brand new, which made for a very fresh and comfortable stay. The rooms were large, beds comfortable, and service great. Flat screens, coffee maker in all the rooms. Baths well appointed. Small fitness center and of course, morning breakfast area with more tv's. The surreal nautical-themed carpet in the halls were a bit of sensory-overload, but still the colors were lively and inviting.

Would stay here again - conveniently located and well priced while visiting University or to simply stay the night in transit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area

Address: 4 Sturgis Corner Dr, Iowa City, IA 52240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.