We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Pueblo Colorado
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Not bad but not the top of the line either. Everything was clean and the bed comfortable but the furniture was scared and looked old. The drapes have seen their day and could be replaced. The room was large. Toilet handle is in an awkward place. To flush you have to lower the back of the seat. Bath room counter top is small. Water is hot instead of warm This property is older and beginning to show it but it isn’t bad. It was clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not excellent. We work hard to give our guests a clean, comfortable experience when guests visit our hotel.

We will be using your feedback to make sure that we make improvements continuously to our property, and ensure that all guests have an enjoyable stay during their trip to Iowa City.

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    26
    18
    8
See reviews for
34
20
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very convenient location from I-80. It's an older 2-story property but updated. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. We were disappointed we could not use the restaurant(something to do with the kitchen) so we had to go into the very small bar area and order bar food...it was nothing to write home about, just so-so. For breakfast we were able to use the restaurant for a hot meal...typical food for hotel chain, but fresh and tasty(even better than the bar food!). Staff was pleasant and accommodating, with check-in/-out quick and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your compliments about the comfort of your room and the quality of our complimentary breakfast.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal in our Poolside Pub, McGurk's pub. I am excited to inform you that this year we are renovating our restaurant area and re branding it "Against the Grain" this will provide our guest with comfortable spacious seating area and a exciting new menu.

Please get in contact with me the next time you are in the Iowa City area. I will personally ensure you have an enjoyable experience in all aspects of your stay.

Sincerely,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
319-354-2000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

First room bed unmade and towels on bed second room below smoking floor so smells like smoke even though it is a non smoking room third room air doesn't work we ended up taking the second room we tried but seriously the star rating on thus is way off not impressed

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologize for the service you experienced during your stay at our hotel. You should have never been checked into a room which was not ready.

I will be using your feedback to correct the mistakes so we make sure that guest experience a pleasant stay.

Please feel free to contact me during you next Iowa City stay, I will personally ensure you have a enjoyable stay.

Regards,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, Iowa
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were in Iowa City for the Book Festival and stayed one night. The room was clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Our only complaint was that the juice was room temperature, which isn't very appetizing. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel doesn't have an elevator, so if you have mobility issues, request a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. All of the Clarion Highlander Staff are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back again soon.

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our third stay. Convenient but off busy streets and in office park area that provided safe, quiet walking with our dog. Clean and comfortable. Easy drive to downtown amd close to Hickory Hill park. Trash can at back door was not emptied in 3 days we stayed but that was only complaint. Staff quickly moved in a micro and fridge when we asked for that at check in. Cudos to Jeffrey at front desk. He was always friendly, welcoming, helpful and had a great sense of humor!! Recommend to those seeking quiet option with good staff and safe walking.

Room Tip: Windows do not open. Rooms in back have nice view of Iowa countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you choose the Clarion Highlander Hotel when you stay in Iowa City. Jeffery and all of the other Clarion Highlander staff feel happy that they were able to play a part in making sure you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to having you back again soon.

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Quite an amazing hotel, Friendly service at the front desk Rooms were really well done, the pool is the best part its very large and goes down to 8 1/2 feet deep, really nice, second the jacuzzi in this place is absolutely incredible, breakfast was really delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your compliments. We appreciate that you took the time aside to write a review of our Hotel. All the staff at the Clarion Highlander are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Parth Dholakia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel layout is awesome! It would be great for a wedding party. The pool and jaccuzi were inviting and the poolside bar had a great dinner menu. The rooms were large and very reasonably priced. Although the room was clean the bathroom had a distinct mildew smell. They need to launder their shower curtains more frequently. The complimentary breakfast was good, a little something for everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Parth. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2525 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 80, the Clarion Hotel® Highlander Conference Center hotel is less than four miles from the University of Iowa. Local points of interest like the Carver-Hawkeye Arena multipurpose venue, the North Dodge Athletic Club and Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark are all just minutes away from this Iowa City, IA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Highlander Hotel Iowa City
Quality Inn Iowa City
Iowa City Quality Inn
Clarion Highlander Hotel And Conference Center Iowa City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.