We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, reasonable rates, great hotel layout, but had a mildew smell in bathroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great service, reasonable rates, great hotel layout, but had a mildew smell in bathroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel layout is awesome! It would be great for a wedding party. The pool and jaccuzi were inviting and the poolside bar had a great dinner menu. The rooms were large and very reasonably priced. Although the room was clean the bathroom had a distinct mildew smell. They need to launder their shower curtains more frequently. The complimentary breakfast was good, a little something for everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Parth. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    26
    18
    8
See reviews for
29
20
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Free hot breakfast at a full service property? Great. Entire property was spotless. The staff were all incredibly helpful, knowledgable and friendly. Elevator would have been nice, but I needed the exercise. 5 stars!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments. We really appreciate that you took the time to give us your feedback.

It gives all of us encouragement when we read reviews like yours. From all the staff at the Clarion Highlander Hotel, we thank you for staying with us during your visit to Iowa City.

Best regards,

Parth. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay at the Clarion Highlander in Iowa City Iowa. All of the hotel staff is well trained, outgoing, friendly and helpful. It was a delight to eat and relax in their restaurant/lounge. Good food and conversations with other guests and staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay,

We take pride in the friendliness and ability of our staff. They work hard to make sure that our guests have an excellent stay.

We all appreciate your review of the Clarion Highlander Hotel. Thank you,

Parth D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis,MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We left! The place is awful! No elevator, we didn't need one. Got to our room, smelled like chlorine. The "fireplace" was an electric log with five red lights that "glowed". Also, sagging bed and filthy carpet! Next, no phone in the room to complain. Front desk staff didn't seem surprised we were leaving, and not even apologetic!. Probably happens all the time. We wouldn't go back if they paid for our room, dinner..... Should have listened to the one honest Trip Advisor who warned us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hello Sir,

I am sorry to hear your impression of our Hotel. Missing amenities, and a poor presentation of the room does not meet our standards nor your expectations.

It seems that the room was not ready to be checked in, which is a failure on our part. we should have liked to have offered you another room in this scenario. This is not a common occurrence for our Hotel as we do hold high standards of room cleanliness and guest service. I apologize about your experience at the Clarion Highlander hotel.

please contact me at pdholakia@globalvisionhotels.com if you would like to discuss further.

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights because I was in town for a short business trip. Unfortunately I found this hotel to be very dated and not quite squeaky clean. The staff was pleasant however.

The room was very dated, think 1980s (i.e., dark wood paneling, mustard/maroon colors for drapes/carpet, glass/gold lamps). Now a dated room is not the end of the world, however, the room had a lot of small gross/ick factors to it. Hair stuck to the walls in the bathroom, hair tangled in the fuzzy/way to old velour sheets, dusty, dirt in the hallways, tub matt to cover the dirty tub floor, and MANY stains on the bedspread.

There were also some confusing things about my stay. In my hallway there were 3(!) mini-fridges just hanging out randomly outside rooms, not plugged in or anything, just sitting in the hall. Also, when I got into my room I found that three of the lamps and the phone were unplugged along with the end tables being pushed far away from the wall and bed. Lastly, the toiletries (i.e., shampoo, lotion, soap) were not replaced the second day of my stay.

My room also opened up to the indoor pool area. What this meant was that my room smelled like a pool and chlorine and that I could hear children screaming and playing until late into the evening.

The breakfast area left some things to be desired. Pre-cooked egg disks, sausage, and the like made for an edible breakfast. However, I noticed the same dried milk on the table I sat at both mornings.

Overall I was quite disappointed and would recommend that you stay someone newer, cleaner, and nicer. This place needs a face-lift and a serious deep cleaning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindy H, Sales Coordinator at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Clarion Highlander Hotel, we appreciate your business. We are constantly making efforts to maintain cleanliness of our hotel. In the coming year, we plan to upgrade our rooms. Please get in contact with us, the next time you are in the area. It will be a pleasure to take care of your accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROLLA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We just had a one night stay over holiday with family. But a very clean and nice hotel. It was quiet. Beds were comfy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Clean breakfast area and large room to eat. Reasonably priced. A little hard to find as not a clear sign where to turn right off Dodge Street, especially at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindy H, Sales Coordinator at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay! We enjoy hosting family events and hope that you and your family will stay with us again. Also, thank you for letting us know about the difficulties you had finding our hotel. We are always looking for ways to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was fine, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Price was reasonable, and the kids really liked the pool. It was fine for a one night stop over. The weather was really bad so having a restaurant on site made it nice not having to go out in the bad weather again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindy H, Sales Coordinator at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. One of advantages we have is the pool area because it's large enough for family and friends to gather while the childern swim. We hope you stay with us again when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2525 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 80, the Clarion Hotel® Highlander Conference Center hotel is less than four miles from the University of Iowa. Local points of interest like the Carver-Hawkeye Arena multipurpose venue, the North Dodge Athletic Club and Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark are all just minutes away from this Iowa City, IA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Highlander Hotel Iowa City
Quality Inn Iowa City
Iowa City Quality Inn
Clarion Highlander Hotel And Conference Center Iowa City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.