We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay at the Clarion Highlander in Iowa City Iowa. All of the hotel staff is well trained, outgoing, friendly and helpful. It was a delight to eat and relax in their restaurant/lounge. Good food and conversations with other guests and staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay,

We take pride in the friendliness and ability of our staff. They work hard to make sure that our guests have an excellent stay.

We all appreciate your review of the Clarion Highlander Hotel. Thank you,

Parth D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    26
    18
    8
See reviews for
34
20
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis,MN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We left! The place is awful! No elevator, we didn't need one. Got to our room, smelled like chlorine. The "fireplace" was an electric log with five red lights that "glowed". Also, sagging bed and filthy carpet! Next, no phone in the room to complain. Front desk staff didn't seem surprised we were leaving, and not even apologetic!. Probably happens all the time. We wouldn't go back if they paid for our room, dinner..... Should have listened to the one honest Trip Advisor who warned us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hello Sir,

I am sorry to hear your impression of our Hotel. Missing amenities, and a poor presentation of the room does not meet our standards nor your expectations.

It seems that the room was not ready to be checked in, which is a failure on our part. we should have liked to have offered you another room in this scenario. This is not a common occurrence for our Hotel as we do hold high standards of room cleanliness and guest service. I apologize about your experience at the Clarion Highlander hotel.

please contact me at pdholakia@globalvisionhotels.com if you would like to discuss further.

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights because I was in town for a short business trip. Unfortunately I found this hotel to be very dated and not quite squeaky clean. The staff was pleasant however.

The room was very dated, think 1980s (i.e., dark wood paneling, mustard/maroon colors for drapes/carpet, glass/gold lamps). Now a dated room is not the end of the world, however, the room had a lot of small gross/ick factors to it. Hair stuck to the walls in the bathroom, hair tangled in the fuzzy/way to old velour sheets, dusty, dirt in the hallways, tub matt to cover the dirty tub floor, and MANY stains on the bedspread.

There were also some confusing things about my stay. In my hallway there were 3(!) mini-fridges just hanging out randomly outside rooms, not plugged in or anything, just sitting in the hall. Also, when I got into my room I found that three of the lamps and the phone were unplugged along with the end tables being pushed far away from the wall and bed. Lastly, the toiletries (i.e., shampoo, lotion, soap) were not replaced the second day of my stay.

My room also opened up to the indoor pool area. What this meant was that my room smelled like a pool and chlorine and that I could hear children screaming and playing until late into the evening.

The breakfast area left some things to be desired. Pre-cooked egg disks, sausage, and the like made for an edible breakfast. However, I noticed the same dried milk on the table I sat at both mornings.

Overall I was quite disappointed and would recommend that you stay someone newer, cleaner, and nicer. This place needs a face-lift and a serious deep cleaning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindy H, Sales Coordinator at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Clarion Highlander Hotel, we appreciate your business. We are constantly making efforts to maintain cleanliness of our hotel. In the coming year, we plan to upgrade our rooms. Please get in contact with us, the next time you are in the area. It will be a pleasure to take care of your accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROLLA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We just had a one night stay over holiday with family. But a very clean and nice hotel. It was quiet. Beds were comfy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Clean breakfast area and large room to eat. Reasonably priced. A little hard to find as not a clear sign where to turn right off Dodge Street, especially at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindy H, Sales Coordinator at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay! We enjoy hosting family events and hope that you and your family will stay with us again. Also, thank you for letting us know about the difficulties you had finding our hotel. We are always looking for ways to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was fine, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Price was reasonable, and the kids really liked the pool. It was fine for a one night stop over. The weather was really bad so having a restaurant on site made it nice not having to go out in the bad weather again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindy H, Sales Coordinator at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. One of advantages we have is the pool area because it's large enough for family and friends to gather while the childern swim. We hope you stay with us again when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a Wednesday night after attending a Hawkeye Basketball game. The reason for the stay was because of inclement weather and my son was having some surgery at the Ambulatory Clinic down the road at 5:30 am on the Thursday morning. We received a discount because of him being a patient there. We were very satisfied with this hotel. The staff was exceptional, the lobby was beautiful, the rooms were spacious, the pool are was large and the hotel was convenient! The room had a large restroom, flatscreen t.v., large desk, queen beds, safe, fridge, microwave and closet. Also free cookies! We didn't use the pool, hot tub, or breakfast. We would recommend this hotel if your looking for a hotel to stay at while at a Hawkeye game, visiting Iowa City (or Coralville) or having a procedure at the clinic or hospital!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindy H, Sales Coordinator at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay! We hope to see you next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Night time front desk guy was friendly and accommodating, and gave information about where to find things on the property.

My room was average size, average lighting in the room, good lighting in the bath. Old style scrapey sliding glass doors leading to a grass courtyard, good heavy blackout curtains. Carpet was not spiffy clean, barely ok (wish I'd brought slippers). Nice sized desk, available wall-plugs by the bed for charging electronics - bring an extension cord if you want to place your electronics on a night stand b/c the plug is about 8 feet away.

I used the ironing board for a luggage table because there's little room for placing suitcases. The room has a mini coffee pot and the usual acidic bad coffee and powdered cream/sugar. They're a little stingy on towels; if two people each take a morning and evening shower you might as well ask right up front for extra towels.

The fitted sheet on the bed just would not stay on the mattress b/c the sheet pocket was too short to go all the way under the corners of the mattress - annoying as can be! The bathroom counter is very small, beware ladies if you like room for cosmetics. The industrial type toilet had a gas station rest room style split seat and handle on a pipe behind the seat for flushing; and requires a closed toilet seat top in order to reach the flush handle. Certainly not like home!

Breakfast waffles are malt-style and really yummy! Also serving eggs, sausage, biscuits, muffins, toast, cereal, the usual. A service person was on duty and was helpful. A separate coffee station is located at the entrance door to the breakfast room, and this helps cut down on congestion during peak breakfast times.

This place is very low cost, so it makes up for the lack of comfort-- the room is not actually bad, it just wasn't a lovely experience. Cost was just $80.00 per night.

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms have been refurbished - I didn't and should have. Rooms with a door to the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindy H, Sales Coordinator at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you next time you are in the Iowa City area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2525 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 80, the Clarion Hotel® Highlander Conference Center hotel is less than four miles from the University of Iowa. Local points of interest like the Carver-Hawkeye Arena multipurpose venue, the North Dodge Athletic Club and Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark are all just minutes away from this Iowa City, IA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Highlander Hotel Iowa City
Quality Inn Iowa City
Iowa City Quality Inn
Clarion Highlander Hotel And Conference Center Iowa City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.