We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price was totally affordable for this no-frills hotel...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Iowa City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Iowa City to your Saves list
Travelodge Iowa City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2216 North Dodge St, I-80,Exit 246, Iowa City, IA 52245-9593   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    52
    59
    79
    83
See reviews for
117
54
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Weary from our travels and lured in from a promise of the cheapest deal in town, the Travelodge seemed like the place to be. Little did we know we were about to embark on the experience of a lifetime. Now, this is no Bates Motel, but close. Check-in took quite a while, as the entire place was a ghost town. After 15 minutes had gone by with not a soul to show up and many missed calls at the front desk, we were afraid that perhaps there was a dead body in the back room. (That has to happen sometimes, right?) But alas, the front desk staff finally arrived after attending to very important business, her evening cig. The walls are thin, so the shrill screams are chilling in the middle of the night--as are the bed bugs. The feral children running around the common areas made for interesting people-watching during the breakfast hour. Oh, breakfast. What a feast. If you're Elwood Blues, that is. Hope you like plain white toast, as that was all that was available and a couple of bagels. We were happy to depart, once we patiently waited for 10 minutes for the front desk staff to finish her morning cigarette.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The room was very clean and spacious. It had a nice fresh smell, and I felt very safe and comfortable as a woman travelling solo. The staff were very pleasant. I wished Tony had had the evening off so I could take him to the comedy club with me to see Loni Love as he felt like an instant friend. Having grown up in the lodging industry, I know what to look for. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It's a budget hotel. It's not poor and it's not average. It was cheap and perfect for a football weekend. Cabs to downtown and back are around $10 and it's right by the highway to take the Hawkeye Express to the games. The hotel is next to a great restaurant as well. The room was outdated; however, my girlfriend and I both slept fine and check-in and check-out was very easy. As far as I am concerned, you cannot complain about a cheap, budget hotel unless it's overly dirty or has bed bugs, I didn't see either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

There are alot of things wrong with this hotel! It is sticky, icky and gross. What is right about the hotel, is that it is located on Dodge..easy to get to..for the game weekends! Also, the girls that work there are doing their best with what they have to work with. This hotel needs a complete overhaul!

Room Tip: book another hotel EARLY for the game weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Iowa City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Iowa City

Address: 2216 North Dodge St, I-80,Exit 246, Iowa City, IA 52245-9593
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Iowa City 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Iowa City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Iowa City Hotel Iowa City
Travel Lodge Iowa City
Iowa City Travelodge
Iowa City Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Iowa City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.