We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative Burgers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shorts Burger & Shine

Shorts Burger & Shine
18 S Clinton St, Iowa City, IA 52240
319-337-4678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 206 restaurants in Iowa City
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Innovative Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

They have a wide range of burger types to choose. So far I have tried their "Tingly" and "Jamaica" - truly outstanding. I have been in both the locations (Downtown IC and East Side IC). They treat their customers really well. I highly recommend this place, whether you are with friends or family (with kids too).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    34
    17
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Best Restaurant in Iowa City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The environment is casual but the food is top-notch. If you want a burger or chicken sandwich in Iowa City, this is by far the best place to go. It is one of the top college bars in the country and the perfect place to go to watch a sporting event or experience Iowa City culture. The people are always fun, the food is excellent and unique, and the location is prime.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Burgers in Town, Hands Down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have eaten at many restaurants in iowa city and I'm highly allergic to poultry so i eat a lot of beef. I think the selection at Shorts is awesome and have always been very pleased with my burger choices. The meat has always been cooked just right and the service has always been very friendly. And to top it off they have an awesome selection of Iowa craft beer on tap!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DDD Watch Ou!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hole in the wall has probably the best burgers in the nation. The endless combinations are actually capable of being paired with their well stocked selection of local beers.

I always ordered the bacon cheese burger with fried egg. Despite the crowds, the yolk is never over done and adds to the dripping loveliness. The fries are also awesome and ordering their cheese fries may put you into a coma.

Terrific bargain prices on Mondays. Great find...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good burgers and micro brews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Went after an Iowa football game so it was pretty busy.....but the service was good, burgers were unique and very good and they have a good selection of local micro brews. Overall a very good option if you are downtown Iowa City and looking for something other than the usual chain food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shorts Burger & Shine also viewed

 

Been to Shorts Burger & Shine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shorts Burger & Shine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.