We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to study” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University of Iowa

University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Iowa City
Type: Educational Sites, Outdoors
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Big 10 school's 1,900 acres are centered in downtown Iowa City.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“lovely place to study”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Iowa City and its University must be the most delightful place to study. The Fall and Spring are memorable and the activities are many. Wish I was younger and I'd come here like a shot!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    12
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
marion
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Years of education”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Have spent many hours here and continue to enjoy Hancher music and dance events, football and basketball games and other special events. Hospital continues to grow as does the University. Still recovering from flood 4 years ago.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great univerisity life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Atmosphere is great with lots of opportunities for cultural and educational events and connections with the surrounding southeast Iowa community.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a beautiful little town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Nothing better than a top rated university in your backyard, unless it is beautifully developed & maintained college town to go with it. Great restaurants & people watching in the ped mall.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great setting for a University”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I went to the University of Iowa @ 1976-80 and got my Bachelor's degree. I go back several times a year and have seen the evolution of the campus. The Iowa river runs right thru the campus and the student union is located right next to the river.
They've updated the union and the business college thats state of the art. The football stadium was updated a few years ago with luxury boxes and brings new life to the classic Big Ten stadium.
The U of I has the Carver-Hawkeye arena where the basketball and wrestling teams compete. It opened when I was there and it won numerous awards for its design and minimal impact on the environment.
The Law, Dental, Pharmacy and Medical Schools are top notch!
Downtown Iowa City has plenty of food, entertainment and bars to pick from.
Iowa is rated a best buy for your education dollar. I got a great education and I'm sending my kids to Iowa this fall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Iowa also viewed

 

Been to University of Iowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University of Iowa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.