We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masala

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Masala
Iowa City, IA
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 207 Restaurants in Iowa City
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Takeout, Buffet
Williamsburg, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Such amazing food! Lots of options! The restaurant is small and it's hard to find a parking spot near the restaurant - but if you're even in downtown I.C. and want some good Indian food, this is your place!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Day light robbery”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This stupid restaurant had a stall at the arts festival, for $7 they gave like a spoon of curry with one piece of chicken and some stale rice...
worst place ever!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Some of the best Indian food in the nation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I used to go to the University of Iowa and we went to Masala a LOT. I pretty much order the same thing every time I go: Malai Kofta, rose lassi, and samosas. The malai kofta is pretty much untouchable (the closest in comparable quality of taste I had was at a little restaurant in Pittsburgh called Taj Mahal) We visited Iowa last summer after I hadn't been there in 5 years, and Masala was still rockin'. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone in Iowa City for whatever reason takes you there.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Indian in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Love the nan. Love the mango drink. Love the buffet. Best indian in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011 via mobile

Get the batura and mailai kofka, that combo is to die for!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala also viewed

 

Been to Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.