We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Pleasant stay in corn country"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Humboldt Super 8 Motel

Humboldt Super 8 Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Humboldt Super 8 Motel to your Saves list
Humboldt Super 8 Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1520 10th Ave. North, Junction of Hwy. 3 & 169, Humboldt, IA 50548   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Humboldt
Seward, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Pleasant stay in corn country"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have come to view Super 8 Motels as a mixed bag. The Humboldt Super 8 is at the top of the list in this category. The large corner room was comfortable. The staff was friendly, bed adequate, and breakfast just fine. My major concern was plugins for the electronics. Two lamps had non-functioning plugins and one wall outlet had issues. The smoking room (all the other rooms were booked), was somewhat of a challenge for a non-smoker, but a cheap bottle of fabreze from a local dollar store kept the odor tolerable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    20
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
7
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Very new, very clean. Top of the line for a Super 8.

Staff was friendly and helpful,, typical Iowa hospitality. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spirit lake
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Great people great clean rooms. You would not be disapointed. My only concern is one of the nights me and friend stayed the front desk girl in the morning seemed very distracted and her uniform did not liik appropiate, she had a spagetti strap shirt on, didn't seem like something a super 8 employee should be wearing. The hotel staff was very helpful and polite though. Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights for business. The breakfast was the best I have seen at a Super 8. The staff were very helpful. They provided me with an extra sheet when asked and even offered to make us coffee when we were playing games in the breakfast room in the evening. the room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely staff here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Great location for a car trip through central Iowa. Room was clean and staff was very friendly. AARP discount made rate very reasonable. Continental breakfast included; also coffee in room. Room also had a microwave and small refrigerator. It had more than I hoped for in a small town. If I go back through there I will stay at the same place again (only motel in town; choice is another nearby town). Humboldt had 4 restaurants that I would have readily patronized in addition to other restaurant choices that might have been okay (in addition to some typical fast food places). Downtown was cute. People were polite and friendly.

Room Tip: Room with queen bed had a planning desk and a recliner which was great for reading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Great Staff, clean rooms, great hositality.
Very friendly town and community.

Room Tip: Large Rooms - very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-South
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

I was nervous when I booked this hotel because I usually stay in pricier places but I shouldn't have worried. Very clean room and good customer service. The breakfast was very basic but OK for us. It was also quiet but I think I had asked to stay on the non-highway side.
I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Humboldt Super 8 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humboldt Super 8 Motel

Address: 1520 10th Ave. North, Junction of Hwy. 3 & 169, Humboldt, IA 50548
Location: United States > Iowa > Humboldt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Humboldt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Humboldt Super 8 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Humboldt Super 8 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humboldt Super 8 Hotel Humboldt
Super 8 Humboldt
Super Eight Humboldt
Humboldt Super Eight
Humboldt Super 8 Motel Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humboldt Super 8 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.